2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+16-93,+17-114,+18-128,+20-134+21-170

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68

Just saw your latest post. Let's put a couple drops of karo on a bit of gravy. I want him flying to the moon.

Good to know Scooters instincts are right and he eats when he goes low. :-D Thanks on the subject line.

You are doing great Linda! :YMHUG: It's always scary the first couple of times. As long as you are monitoring and have karo and HC, you can stay on top of his numbers. I am glad he is eating. We have had people whose cats decided they don't want to eat when they are low. Then it's time for syringing and it's easier if you don't have to go there. And keeping track of amounts of food and carbs fed will give you data to know what to do next time.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+4-41

I just noticed the %carbs - great detail to have. Do you have anything with carb% above 15% like the fancy feast gravy ones? We normally consider 9% to be a higher LC.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+4-41

Okay I just told him to eat the gravy with the Karo because "'YOU HAVE TO GO TO THE MOON SCOOTER" :lol:

Thanks for the kind words Wendy but without you guys I would be guessing I think. It is amazing to me how much I can't think in this situation.

He has never eaten this much. He is a little guy but like you said his body knows he needs it.

I will test again in 15 minutes.

Linda
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+4-41

I don't have a FF HC one and the store near us doesn't carry FF. Any 9 lives or Friskies you would recommend?
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+4-41

According to the food chart any of the Friskies Meaty Bits (beef in gravy, chicken dinner in gravy, gourmet grill) are good. Or any of the Gravy Sensations line or Prime Fillets (except Turkey Dinner in Gravy which is a bit lower). In the mean time adding a couple drops karo to his food can be substituted. Just shop for the gravy ones on your next shopping trip.

ETA: the food list above also shows some 9 lives options above 14%.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+4-41

Oh gosh I did a typo at the am info of 9 % and copied it later again. The food is chicken gravy and on Dr. Lisa's chart it is 19 % carb not 9. Sorry. :YMSIGH:

Okay he is up to 60 with the karo and gravy food. I just ordered some more gravy food so it should be here shortly if I need it.

He is sleeping now because of his full belly I am sure. :lol:

I will test in 1/2 hour.

Thank you Wendy. I am humbled by your kindness.

Linda
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+4-41

OK - I'll check in again in half an hour. BTW - we are all paying it forward, someone did the same for all of us at one point.

I saw your correction on the HC. Thanks.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+5-100

So who ever thought that I would be relieved to see 100.

I guess keep testing on the 1/2 hour?

+5-100

Linda
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+4-41

Over 80 you can go to once an hour, but the karo will wear off so you do need to keep testing until it's obvious if a bounce is happening.

And yippee on that 100. :-D
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

wow, what a day, linda! great job handling it all - and yay for Wendy on all the help! looks like getting rid of the kibble has made a real difference!
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

Scooter's been keeping Linda busy for sure today. Who would've thought that removing the kibble entirely would make him drop so quickly, and keep dropping. Interesting kitty, to say the least! :lol: Nice work, Linda!!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

Oh the joy of a rescued pure bred kitty! :lol:

I still think he is going to go down after karo wears off.

Could the kibble really have caused all this? It seems really drastic.

To Angela and Wendy I wish there was way other than words to thank you. I promise one day I will pass your kindness on. :-D

Linda
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

Linda and Scooter said:
Could the kibble really have caused all this? It seems really drastic.

There have been many kitties that arrive at FDMB with an FD dx and upon changing to the proper diet of wet LC quickly return to normal BGs :cool:
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

somewhere i saw someone document that 3 pieces of crunchies added something like 150 pts to their cat's blood sugar. i can't provide that documentation, but that's what i recall.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

Oh wow! 3 kibbles 150.

+5:30 - 67

Well down we go again. I feel like he should stop insulin or something. ugh!
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

Guess this is what kibble withdrawl looks like. Going cold turkey always causes some kind of reaction. :shock:

Scooter has really had you on a ride today, Linda, but you've done a fabulous job! Hang on! It'll settle down eventually. I'm so glad Cinco didn't do this to me! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

Looks like you got 1.5 hours out of the karo before it wore off. Time for a little more HC and/or karo if he'll take it.

A few folks are looking at what you should do tonight and what his dose should be going forward. Definitely lower, you've had to work too hard today to keep him up.

Yikes on the crunchy stat Julie posted! :shock: There is one kitty over on Relaxed who was getting 11U of Levemir on a crunchy diet (with no testing!) and is now down to less than 1U. He had to eat so much to keep ahead of that insulin he resembled a basketball.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45

Well swearing is not me but holy ****!

+6-45 3 tsp HC 19% carb

Thank you to all of you helping me figure this out. It is very nice to know that those of you with experience and knowledge are helping us.

I will test again in 15 minutes and add karo if below 50.

Linda
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45

How's his appetite holding out? That's a lot of karo - normally we do a few drops. Maybe we'll get that BG moonshot.

How are YOU holding out LInda? You are doing great but it's been a lot of work.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45

Fantastic job today Linda, Wendy, Angela and all beans who helped! I guess you can't let down your guard just yet, but hopefully on this Lev. cycle nadir will be early. Reducies are in your future!
Wow on the kibble effect!!!

Rusty says, surf safe! Bounce easy!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45

I am very scared but being busy has helped.

He is eating this food still. It looks like soup with that much Karo in it. :lol: He keeps going away and coming back to it. I think he knows his body needs it.

Do you guys think I should give him some kibble treats?

Going to test again in 10 minutes.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45

Kibble takes longer to have an effect on the BG (digestion/absorption slower than wet food) and lasts longer in the system. For increasing the BG quickly, that's why the suggestion is wet food.

I know it's still a while a way, but can you make sure you get a +11 and post it? It'll help in deciding about what to do tonight. Do you have any thoughts about tonight or where you want to go with his dose?
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45

+7 - 67

oh-e-vey as we say in MN

It seems like these numbers are normal bg. If I stop the insulin tonight I might get an idea of where he would be at. At any rate I feel like the depot is full if he needs it. I forget the saying but I would rather he be high for a day than low for an hour.

I am open to knowledge and experience though. You are all amazing!
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67

Hi there :cool:

I skipped many a shot when BK was on his wild ride down the dosing scale (it was a long way down and he had a depot the size of lake Michigan) - I could not get ahead of the numbers otherwise.
Getting sleep factored into the equation as well ;-)

Still a few hours until +12.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67

Hi Sandy!

Thanks for your kind words through out the day. I saw them but was just to busy to respond. :-D

So you mentioned you skipped shots when BK was on his way down, did it affect him and how?

Linda
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67

Linda and Scooter said:
So you mentioned you skipped shots when BK was on his way down, did it affect him and how?
Take a look at BKs ss from 02/11/2009 - 02/16/2009 for an example.

Oh . . .and I noticed on 06/18/2009 I skipped 2 shots in a row and shot a BCS (big chicken sh!t) dose each of the following 2 cycles.

The effect skipping and BCSs had on BK? A few bumps in the road in the short run
One advantage I had was a whole lot of experience using R. I knew I could shoot down an ugly number should one appear, which gave me confidence, however I did not have to do that much during those times. BK managed to get back on track.

Stuff like what you are experiencing today enters you into the realm of 'flying by the seat of your pants' - there is no protocol.
You look at the data you have and try to come up with a plan that will keep kitty safe and you from getting too strung out, while hopefully not upsetting the (BG) apple cart too much.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67

you posted 15 minutes ago, linda - how long til the pmps?

whenever someone has had a long haul like this and it's been difficult to get a cat's BGs up, skipping can be a good option. he might very well bounce from these low numbers today.

we need to regroup and see what a good "new" dose for him is going to be.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67

And the bean gets a bit of a break too! :-D :-D

Skipping a dose to drain a large depot is a technique often used with a higher dose. And the benefit of that higher depot is that the skip doesn't seem to affect them as much. I only ever did a 1/2 dose reduction to drain the depot, on purpose that is. We'll not count the fur shots. :roll: :oops: Neko usually got back on track within 2 cycles and that was without using R.

That 120 could be the result of karo and/or the current cycle slowing down. As Ella says, often the lower numbers will often come earlier in a Lev cycle.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67, +8-160

Well

+8 -160

I am surmising that is because of the karo and HC soup he ate. He hasn't slept today till now.

Oh gosh I am so confused on whether to shoot him tonight or not. I just finally ate a sandwich myself and that helped calm me. I sure don't wish this on anyone.

The only thing I know is this karo soup helped him. This is the first time today we have 2 numbers in a row that got higher. The only reason he got the karo soup was it spilt when I opened it. :lol:

So the question I have is "what would you do in this situation?" shoot or not? :-D
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67, +8-160

I'd get a +11 and post for advice. A lot can happen between now and then. If he's really taking a rocket to the moon, a little juice might ease the ride. If not or the bean needs to rest and wants to reset PS time, then a skip.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67, +8-160

i agree with wendy - the +11 will be helpful.

what time will that be so we know to look for it?
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219

yi yi yi

i'm thinking with that +9, unless he's down a lot by pmps, i'd give some insulin.

but let's see what happens. we'll look for his +11.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55+6-45,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216

+11 - 216

oh gosh he is coming down slightly.

to shoot or not to shoot that is the question. :-D

How much to shoot.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated

Linda
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55+6-45,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216

First a question Linda - how are you and Scooter doing at this point? I think I counted 30 tests today! :shock: I definitely wouldn't do the full dose tonight.
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55+6-45,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216

Well I am not to tired yet but I doubt I can stay up all night. I am a little old for 24 hrs. :lol:

I am going to test him again now. Still no shot. he ate tblsp of LC and ate off the others plates of LC to help clean up the different flavors. So I bet about 2 tblsp of LC.

Linda
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55+6-45,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216

Linda - we've been thinking that you should go to 4U as the new dose. It's what he was at before the dental and hopefully low enough you can avoid another day like today anytime soon. As the saying goes, if it doesn't work, you can always go back up.

About tonight - there are two options. The first is a skip, the second is a half dose, something like 2U. If he just ate a couple Tbsp of food, that will likely influence his next test numbers.

If you skip, you both get a break tonight, you get to see how Scooter will do without insulin, you drain the depot and you can get back to your normal PS time tomorrow. The down side is he may go high and take him a day or two to get back on track, but you can pretend you did a fur shot. ;-)

Just saw your new test before I posted - I vote skip!
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216,+11:45

Ok Ladies I think skip too.

He is running around chasing kittens and having a great time right now. :-D

I thought it would take quite a number of days to empty his depot but in fact it only takes 12 hours?

At what point would you ladies feel safe to go to bed tonight? (if a all?) nailbite_smile

Linda
 
Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216,+11:45

i'd skip too. count it as a fur shot, let his ear heal tonight, and regroup in the morning.

if you decide to shoot a reduced dose tonight, say the 2u, i'd think because of today, you'd still need to monitor when the lev begins to onset in 4ish or so hours. that sounds like too much to me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top