?? 2/19 Phoenix AMPS 166 Tomorrow's AMPS dose

Scdal

Member Since 2020
I just want to be prepared for tomorrow morning. After a skipped shot yesterday morning, I was surprised that his AMPS today was 166. I am not too concerned about today's PMPS since he is usually lower in the mornings.

I really don't want him dropping too low since we are snowed in. All the grocery stores are wiped out and I am down to my last 50 test strips. Walmart is scheduled to deliver more today and they are usually great but the roads are really bad.

My question is about tomorrow's AM insulin dose. He is currently at 10 units. If his BG is below 100, should I reduce his dose temporarily instead of skipping? I know usually I wouldn't skip or reduce but I am unable to get him to a vet if he drops too low right now. I want to know what I should do instead of panicking tomorrow morning. Thank you !!
 
Hi Susan,
I am guessing the roads should be safe by Sunday afternoon?
Nothing but packed snow and ice in neighborhoods and tomorrow, especially before noon - ice ice and black ice on highways.
Would you have enough strips through possibly Monday? Enjoy the sunshine!
Hopefully Wal-Mart will pull through for you.
 
Yes , I have 48 test strips left. I have a curb pickup scheduled for Monday afternoon. I worry that they might be out of stock. So far, it states in stock. I did order strips from Walmart. Com as well. They are supposed to deliver 100 test strips today. Hopefully, they can get through.
I am more worried about the insulin dose for tomorrow morning if Phoenix goes low.
 
I am more worried about the insulin dose for tomorrow morning if Phoenix goes low.

Got it - best to wait for Marje or Wendy to advise on dosing;)
They should be on later. Bandit's Mom is very knowledgeable, but she might like to defer to one of the moderators since Phoenix is on a higher dose (?) I was just making sure you were good on strips (especially shooting a full dose in the morning). Best of luck with the strip supply!
 
Did you get your delivery of strips today?
No, now Walmart has rescheduled until Monday 22nd. It is no use trying to drive to the store, they are out of stock on just about everything. Our roads are still impassable. Hopefully, it will start melting tomorrow.
 
No, now Walmart has rescheduled until Monday 22nd. It is no use trying to drive to the store, they are out of stock on just about everything. Our roads are still impassable. Hopefully, it will start melting tomorrow.
If you get a green AMPS, you might just want to shoot a half dose if you are worried about supplies but the BG could still be the same because of the depot.
 
Back
Top