2/19 Gizzy's #'s at 367 @ +1, 369 @ +2

Status
Not open for further replies.

pistull

Member Since 2011
I increased his dose to 2u this morning. He's at 169 now (at +14) and rising so I need to dose him...but do you think I should still give 2u or decrease it? Not sure what to do....
 
Re: Can you look at Gizzy's #'s??

Bumping you up for other eyes. But I think if he were my kitty I would be more comfortable giving the 1.75 units. Don't forget that your AMPS will be 12 hours after your shot tonight.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Can you look at Gizzy's #'s??

I fed him after the 158 so his #'s actually went DOWN after food! YEAH!!!! Then I just fed him again at 169 because I was going to dose him, but didn't know what to give him!
 
Re: Can you look at Gizzy's #'s??

If you will stay up to monitor, I'd shoot the 2.0u. But, You will need to get at minimum, a +1 and +2.

Also, remember that your AM shot time will be 12 hours from when you shoot tonight.
 
Re: Can you look at Gizzy's #'s??

OK - that's what I was thinking too! I like where 2u takes him so I'll keep it at that and watch him. I'll test at +1, +2 and +6.
And yes, +12 from last shot! Got it.
I'm happy - I love when #'s go down! I hope this is the breakthough I've been waiting for.
 
Re: Can you look at Gizzy's #'s??

No -- test at +1 and +2 and then we decide what other tests may be needed. If numbers are dropping at +2, you may need to get tests way before +6. Gabby dropped 239 points in 2 hours. You do not go to sleep when things like that are going on.

If you've not read these, please do so and print them out (or bookmark) so you have them if you need them:
Handling low pre-shots
Managing low numbers
 
Re: Can you look at Gizzy's #'s??

You probably want to change your SS to show the 169 as his PMPS since that is the number you shot, right? When you stall, you just keep adding the numbers to the column before the PMPS column and annotate what reading it was (e.g. 131 @ +13). Good luck tonight.
 
Re: Can you look at Gizzy's #'s??

OK - changed my SS - hope it makes sense!
GO GIZZY GO !!!!
 
Re: Can you look at Gizzy's #'s??

Hi Lori,

looks like you and Gizzy have been busy....funny it rhymes :lol: :lol: :lol: . Seriously looks like your are doing well and got some good advise here.

Hope you have a good night. :mrgreen: .
 
Re: Can you look at Gizzy's #'s??

Thanks Cheryl - fingers, toes and eyes crossed!!! Praying for a good night.
 
Re: Can you look at Gizzy's #'s??

367 at +1 - apprarantly he ran out of juice (and I fed him again when I dosed him)! darn...should have shot him sooner.
 
Re: Can you look at Gizzy's #'s??

Can you change your subject line to include Gizzy's numbers?

It looks like Gizzy is bouncing. This is the issue with stalling. Sometimes, you just don't know what's going to happen, though.

Here's what I would suggest the next time you run into a low pre-shot. Familiarize yourself with the post on how to handle low pre-shot numbers. I'd also post as early as you can. I don't think I was around to lend you a hand earlier than your +14 but someone else may have been able to walk you through. It might also help if you had a more specific question in your subject line so people knew there was some time urgency since you hadn't shot.
 
2/19 Gizzy's #'s at 367 at +1

Now that he bounced back, is it necessary to test often tonight? Just trying to preserve his poor little ears if possible...
That being said, I'll test whenever you want me to!
 
Re: Can you look at Gizzy's #'s??

Sienne, how do I change the subject line for the whole string? Or do I need to do a completely separate post?
 
Re: Can you look at Gizzy's #'s??

Ella here: I can answer that one! Go back to your very first post of today, hit the "Edit" button, and change the subject line to what you want it to be. Then hit "Submit".

Good job so far!
 
OK - darn! I should have dosed him sooner.
My old rule of thumb was if he's above 150 and his #'s are rising - dose him.
I hesitated because I'm not used to giving him this much insulin (he hasn't been over .5u in 2 years) - so that scared me a little. Now I see that he has to get the 2u consistently to bring those #'s down!
I'll hope for low 's again in the morning.
Thanks for checking in on me (us)!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top