I increased his dose to 2u this morning. He's at 169 now (at +14) and rising so I need to dose him...but do you think I should still give 2u or decrease it? Not sure what to do....
Bumping you up for other eyes. But I think if he were my kitty I would be more comfortable giving the 1.75 units. Don't forget that your AMPS will be 12 hours after your shot tonight.
I fed him after the 158 so his #'s actually went DOWN after food! YEAH!!!! Then I just fed him again at 169 because I was going to dose him, but didn't know what to give him!
OK - that's what I was thinking too! I like where 2u takes him so I'll keep it at that and watch him. I'll test at +1, +2 and +6.
And yes, +12 from last shot! Got it.
I'm happy - I love when #'s go down! I hope this is the breakthough I've been waiting for.
No -- test at +1 and +2 and then we decide what other tests may be needed. If numbers are dropping at +2, you may need to get tests way before +6. Gabby dropped 239 points in 2 hours. You do not go to sleep when things like that are going on.
You probably want to change your SS to show the 169 as his PMPS since that is the number you shot, right? When you stall, you just keep adding the numbers to the column before the PMPS column and annotate what reading it was (e.g. 131 @ +13). Good luck tonight.
Can you change your subject line to include Gizzy's numbers?
It looks like Gizzy is bouncing. This is the issue with stalling. Sometimes, you just don't know what's going to happen, though.
Here's what I would suggest the next time you run into a low pre-shot. Familiarize yourself with the post on how to handle low pre-shot numbers. I'd also post as early as you can. I don't think I was around to lend you a hand earlier than your +14 but someone else may have been able to walk you through. It might also help if you had a more specific question in your subject line so people knew there was some time urgency since you hadn't shot.
Now that he bounced back, is it necessary to test often tonight? Just trying to preserve his poor little ears if possible...
That being said, I'll test whenever you want me to!
Ella here: I can answer that one! Go back to your very first post of today, hit the "Edit" button, and change the subject line to what you want it to be. Then hit "Submit".
OK - darn! I should have dosed him sooner.
My old rule of thumb was if he's above 150 and his #'s are rising - dose him.
I hesitated because I'm not used to giving him this much insulin (he hasn't been over .5u in 2 years) - so that scared me a little. Now I see that he has to get the 2u consistently to bring those #'s down!
I'll hope for low 's again in the morning.
Thanks for checking in on me (us)!!