2/18 Sabian (PZI .8u) AMPS-268

Status
Not open for further replies.
Basically, it is a droplet :razz: If you pull up .80 of water and squirt it out onto the counter, you will see. Amazing though how little can have such an effect on a kitty. I responded in last night's post about Suzi and asked a question too on her.
 
She's has health issues all of her life. We figured out last year that she's allergic to the tartar that builds up on her teeth, so she's been on depo-medrol monthly to combat the inflammation. Her appetite has waxed and waned with how bad her gums were inflamed, so she is down to 8lbs. She's gained a full pound since they removed her teeth in January (when that pic was taken) because she's actually able to eat now. She's been fed on homecooked chicken and canned wet food mostly and I checked her sugar levels when she arrived here this week (i'm addicted), and it was 93. She's staying here with me for the next month, so I'll be checking her pretty often due to the steroids.

So far, she's handled having the teeth out fine, and she plays and eats a lot more because her mouth isn't sore.

She's a good cat and PTS has been considered, but her quality of life is actually really good when her gums aren't inflamed, so I vetoed that right away.
 
So glad you vetoed the PTS..she is just the cutest little thing. I've had toothless wonders and once healed, they eat just fine. Since all teeth are gone is there still a need for the depo? Is the "monster" staying also.
 
She still has some pretty staggering inflammation when the depo wears off. We're gradually reducing the dose and hopefully we can get her off of it completely. The inflammation of the teeth and gums was pretty invasive so it's still being problematic.

As for the other one...here is the best picture I've gotten of him this morning. This is Jasper at his most calm state.



Here's is Sabian's daily pic:
 

Attachments

  • jasper_2_18_1.jpg
    jasper_2_18_1.jpg
    321.5 KB · Views: 888
  • sabian_2_18_1.jpg
    sabian_2_18_1.jpg
    382.2 KB · Views: 890
It was two weeks ago today when you first posted about the six units of PZI. Considering all of the other issues you have dealt with, you are one of our success stories. I don't have any fancy graphics but I can say HURRAHHH !!!! :-)
 
Thank you very much. I've learned so much in two weeks thanks to all of you.

Today's +2 is 164.
 
Has your vet ever mentioned the "stomatitis" word? My Yoda is going through the same thing, but the depo shots his previous owners gave him sent him into diabetes. There are a couple of other options that you can try and see if it works for your kitty since a full mouth extraction didn't solve things.

CoQ10 - has been shown to help free radicals in the body, and support a proper immune response. Helps inflammation of the gums, and overall energy levels. Many diabetics are actually low on this naturally occurring enzyme too.

Cyclosporine - an immune system modulator that can be an alternative to steroids. Basically blocks immune system cells from talking to each other completely, thus lowering the inflammation level. Need to keep a watch for infections though.

L-Lysine - many cats with the feline herpes virus are only carriers and don't always show the weepy eye, sneezy symptoms, but the virus can cause mouth inflammation too

The new cocktail - coming out within the week supposedly from Dallas Animal Dental clinic. It is a compounded cocktail the late Dr. Wiggs had been working on for a few years and he has shown a high success rate. No peer reviewed studies are out on the medicine yet - so this is still technically the trial phase. From what I have heard, the med contains no steroids too.
 
Yes Kelly, that's what it is. I can never think of the actual name of it.

I'll look into those and discuss them with him in the next couple of weeks.
 
+4 is 187

And a 100 count box of U100 syringes is in hand. Walmart didn't give me any guff about it!
 
patrick_777 said:
Yes Kelly, that's what it is. I can never think of the actual name of it.

I'll look into those and discuss them with him in the next couple of weeks.

I have some links to studies and veterinary websites about the use of the above meds for stomatitis treatment if you want those before you go talk to your vet. Most vets haven't heard of many of these options for treatment. My vet and I are learning together along the way.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top