2/17Max AMPS259+7=49+7.5=72+8.5=80+11.5 =148 +2=272+4.5=279

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259

Nice numbers yesterday :mrgreen:
This looks like it could be a bit of a bounce. Hopefully, a quick one.
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+3:45=127 +7=49???

Max is at 49 at +7. I put out some of his regular low carb food and he is eating. When should I test again?
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+3:45=127 +7=49???

R is a very potent insulin that brings BGs down fast. You would only want to use it if you have someone with lots of experience to guide you.

Time to come up, Max. I would test again in 30 minutes. It's late in the cycle so the insulin should be starting to peter out. Hopefully Max will come up to a shootable number. You don't really want him eating after +10 (unless he's below 50), so feed him know. Just little meals. Hopefully, he'll come up into the 70s to 90s and surf.
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+3:45=127 +7=49???

Thanks, Dyana. He ate what I put out and I will check again in 1/2 hour. I don't know how much food effects him or how soon.
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+3:45=127 +7=49???

Nice catch on the 49! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Looks like Max wants to go back to 1.25U. :-D
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+3:45=127 +7=49???

When a cat goes below 50 and has been diabetic for less than one year, then a 0.25 dose reduction is called for.
Congratulations.
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+3:45=127 +7=49???

Thanks. So if his PMPS is at a safe number I would give him 1.25? I was just trying to find the page that explains all that so sorry to ask so many questions.
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+3:45=127 +7=49???

Normally you would go to 1.25U for tonight's dose, unless Max decides he wants to bounce to the moon. If that happens, then you can do a one time shot of the old 1.5U dose tonight and start the 1.25U dose tomorrow morning. We call that "shooting through the bounce". If you are unsure which you want to do, take a test around +11.5 and post for help.
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+3:45=127 +7=49+7 1/2=72

Thanks. I definitely will post before I shoot. In the meantime, should I be testing again in an hour and if he is going up wait for the 11 1/2?

As usual, I'm confused. He was 259 this morning and now he drops to his lowest observed number ever. If his numbers rise again do we then try to go back to 1.5 after 3-5 days? Do many cats go up and down like that? I am starting to find the both fascinating and crazy making at the same time.
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+3:45=127 +7=49+7 1/2=72??

You could test in 30 minutes or 1 hour. The 72 could be a temporary food spike, and there's always meter variance too.
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+3:45=127 +7=49+7 1/2=72 +8=80// ?

Max's +8 1/2 is 80. I'm running out of room in the subject line so here is a recap of our day yesterday and today.
Yesterday: AMPS 151
+4=127
+6=91 +7=73
+8=109
PMPS 150 +4=212

TODAY AMPS 259
+4=127
+7 =49
+7 1/2=62
+8 1/2=80
I fed him some lc fancy feast after each low reading and he ate it.
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+3:45=127 +7=49+7 1/2=72 +81/2=80??

You can always remove some of the earlier, less interesting numbers (like the +4) from the subject line to give you more room. And 7.5 takes up less room that 7 1/2.

Looks like Max is cruising in some nice numbers now. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+7=49+7.5=72+8.5=80+11.5 =148DOSE ADVICE

That worked. Now for tonight. Should I give him 1.25? How often do you think I should test him and when should I start? Thanks. : nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+7=49+7.5=72+8.5=80+11.5 =148DOSE ADVICE

I would go with his new 1.25U dose. This isn't a bounce. :-D I think I'd get a +2 and decide from there what testing you need to do. Sometimes the depot from the old (higher) dose can hang around a bit and give lower number for a cycle or two. Or he could still bounce. :roll:
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+7=49+7.5=72+8.5=80+11.5 =148DOSE ADVICE

Thanks, Wendy. I will be quite surprised if he goes down at +2 but that means he might. I just looked at Neko's profile and see that you feed lots of small meals too. Max is due for his next meal now. I think that is why I suspect his BG doesn't usually go down quickly. Tonight I hope I am right for once! Oh, why did you switch insulin types?
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+7=49+7.5=72+8.5=80+11.5 =148DOSE ADVICE

I probably should switch when Neko get's her meals as it's Lantus focussed, but she has a fine sense of entitlement to food and she rules the roost on that one. :lol:

Last year Neko was only going low and getting her reductions at night. After 8 months of that, it was getting very old and I was trying everything I could to change that pattern. I ran out of Lantus so decided to give Lev a try. It didn't change when she went low :roll: (today is an exception) and Lev does give her flatter cycles. I'm finding the later nadir hard to handle but her numbers are better.
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+7=49+7.5=72+8.5=80+11.5 =148 +2=272

So he went from a low of 49 to a high of 272. So I guess I should test him in 2-3 hours? Do we now keep him at 1.25 for 3-5 days and see how he responds?
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+7=49+7.5=72+8.5=80+11.5 =148 +2=272

I'd get a before bed test, but it looks like that bounce is starting so early night for you. I-)

Wait for the bounce to clear before evaluating how the dose is doing. From the protocol:
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+7=49+7.5=72+8.5=80+11.5 =148 +2=272

Elise

When you reduce there are no set number of cycles to hold the dose. As Wendy said, you want him to clear the bounce which could take up to six cycles. But if he clears it in two and stays high, then you might want to increase the dose. So let's play it by ear and see how long it takes him to clear and where he ends up. This post on NDW and Failed Reductions might help.
 
Re: 2/17Max AMPS259+7=49+7.5=72+8.5=80+11.5 =148 +2=272+4.5=

Thanks everyone. I think his poor little ear hurts so I'm glad I won't need to test again until morning. He's about the same at +4:45 so he shouldn't drop too much I hope.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top