? 2/17 FRODO AMPS 20.5, 12.3 +5, 10 +6

Paulina

Member Since 2020
Hi! So I took Frodo to the vets today as he’s quite high again even though I increased the dose to 1.5 and he was acting bit odd too. So he got the antibiotic as she said he has some redness on his gums (one injection) don’t know the name I thought I will have it in the invoice but i notice it’s not described there. Anyways the vet also wanted to give me metacam the painkiller for him which I didn’t agree and she suggested increase to 1.75 tonight Should I increase or should I wait to see how he will act with the antibiotic itself? Thank you

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...400-286-2-297-7-pmps-318.259272/#post-2913038
 
Hi! So I took Frodo to the vets today as he’s quite high again even though I increase the dose to 1.5 and he was acting bit odd too. So he got the antibiotic (one injection) don’t know the name I thought I will have it in the invoice but i notice it’s not described there. Anyways the vet also wanted to give me metacam the painkiller for him which I didn’t agree and she suggested increase to 1.75 tonight Should I increase or should I wait to see how he will act with the antibiotic itself? Thank you
 
Hi! So I took Frodo to the vets today as he’s quite high again even though I increased the dose to 1.5 and he was acting bit odd too. So he got the antibiotic as she said he has some redness on his gums (one injection) don’t know the name I thought I will have it in the invoice but i notice it’s not described there. Anyways the vet also wanted to give me metacam the painkiller for him which I didn’t agree and she suggested increase to 1.75 tonight Should I increase or should I wait to see how he will act with the antibiotic itself? Thank you

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...400-286-2-297-7-pmps-318.259272/#post-2913038
Overall I’m not happy as he has tooth resorption so not sure if the antibiotic will work at all or it’s just waste of money and I will have to come back for X-ray and some extractions also she didn’t want to look to properly in the spreadsheet she was just talking about checking his nadir +6 even though I said he can go low anytime like +3 or +4 which happened before. And she said she want me to hold the new dose for at least two weeks :rolleyes: also because I refused the metacam and they don’t use anything else I would be happy if someone can recommend any good painkillers (I think I can get a prescription and just buy it in the pharmacy) thank you :bighug:
 
Overall I’m not happy as he has tooth resorption so not sure if the antibiotic will work at all or it’s just waste of money and I will have to come back for X-ray and some extractions also she didn’t want to look to properly in the spreadsheet she was just talking about checking his nadir +6 even though I said he can go low anytime like +3 or +4 which happened before. And she said she want me to hold the new dose for at least two weeks :rolleyes: also because I refused the metacam and they don’t use anything else I would be happy if someone can recommend any good painkillers (I think I can get a prescription and just buy it in the pharmacy) thank you :bighug:
Anyways his shot is in 20min so not sure if I should increase or stay with 1.50? Thank you
 
Do t increase yet. You want to wait 10 cycles from the first time he was under 200 on this dose. The shot should not effect his appetite but it’s always possible. You want to make sure he will eat before increasing as well.

You have more than one condos going. Please remember it’s one per day. They need to be merged by a moderator. @Wendy&Neko
 
Do t increase yet. You want to wait 10 cycles from the first time he was under 200 on this dose. The shot should not effect his appetite but it’s always possible. You want to make sure he will eat before increasing as well.

You have more than one condos going. Please remember it’s one per day. They need to be merged by a moderator. @Wendy&Neko
Thanks. Did I posted twice?? :eek:
 
Do t increase yet. You want to wait 10 cycles from the first time he was under 200 on this dose. The shot should not effect his appetite but it’s always possible. You want to make sure he will eat before increasing as well.

You have more than one condos going. Please remember it’s one per day. They need to be merged by a moderator. @Wendy&Neko
I did 1.5 as I thought that if anyone gonna advice 1.75 I can always do it tomorrow morning no prb so good I trusted myself. Also eating is not a problem thank God he eats - always :cat:
 
We hold doses for 10 cycles that have green nadirs. He only saw green once, so I think you are OK to increase to 1.75 units tomorrow morning.
 
We hold doses for 10 cycles that have green nadirs. He only saw green once, so I think you are OK to increase to 1.75 units tomorrow morning.
I was wondering if I should stick with the 1.5 for another few days to see if the antibiotic itself change anything as if I increase he might go lower but I might miss the chance to see if he feels better at all with the meds only
 
I wouldn't hold the dose in case the antiobiotic changes things. I would increase now, to prevent glucose toxicity, then decrease later if the numbers tell you to.
 
Hi! So I took Frodo to the vets today as he’s quite high again even though I increased the dose to 1.5 and he was acting bit odd too. So he got the antibiotic as she said he has some redness on his gums (one injection) don’t know the name I thought I will have it in the invoice but i notice it’s not described there. Anyways the vet also wanted to give me metacam the painkiller for him which I didn’t agree and she suggested increase to 1.75 tonight Should I increase or should I wait to see how he will act with the antibiotic itself? Thank you

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...400-286-2-297-7-pmps-318.259272/#post-2913038
Love Frodos name!! Sending him well wishes!
 
Hoping that frodo heals soon!
Thank you. I’m worried that its just matter of time and he will have to go back for X-ray and some more extractions :( that condition he has (tooth resorption) doesn’t go away I suppose… on the other hand though I prefer to do that as at least
I know what it is than to find out he has something else going on…..
 
Thank you. I’m worried that its just matter of time and he will have to go back for X-ray and some more extractions :( that condition he has (tooth resorption) doesn’t go away I suppose… on the other hand though I prefer to do that as at least
I know what it is than to find out he has something else going on…..
Poor guy! I know its not easy for either of you. Lando was on buprinex but it did knock him out.
 
Back
Top