? 2/16 Stormy AMPS 205 +7 135 PMBG 136 +14 193

Status
Not open for further replies.

StormysMom

Member Since 2017
We are on day 3 of moving from 1 unit of Lantus once a day to 1/2 unit twice a day. The last two nights the pmps numbers were too low to shoot. I was able to get a +7 number today and it was pretty stable. Any thoughts?
 
We are on day 3 of moving from 1 unit of Lantus once a day to 1/2 unit twice a day. The last two nights the pmps numbers were too low to shoot. I was able to get a +7 number today and it was pretty stable. Any thoughts?
Are you following one of the Lantus protocols - TR (tight regulation) or SLGS (start low go slow)? These are very helpful guidelines for when to increase/decrease dose and by how much. I suggest you read the stickies about those protocols on this forum.
 
Are you following one of the Lantus protocols - TR (tight regulation) or SLGS (start low go slow)? These are very helpful guidelines for when to increase/decrease dose and by how much. I suggest you read the stickies about those protocols on this forum.
I have read and I guess that's why I'm confused. For low/slow is says not to shot below 150 and so we are basically back to shots once per day again because we are skipping the evening dose when she's at 120-30s.
 
I have read and I guess that's why I'm confused. For low/slow is says not to shot below 150 and so we are basically back to shots once per day again because we are skipping the evening dose when she's at 120-30s.
If you repost on this forum with the question mark icon at the left of your thread's title and say something like "Need Help With Low Doses of Lantus" you'll get attention from some of the experts on here. They might tell you that at some point you'll have to try 0.25 u. Lantus can't be as effective if it's dosed only once a day. That messes up the insulin depot that keeps blood glucose on an even keel.
 
I have read and I guess that's why I'm confused. For low/slow is says not to shot below 150 and so we are basically back to shots once per day again because we are skipping the evening dose when she's at 120-30s.
I think you’ve misread what it says. The “no shoot below 150” is if you have no data to know how your kitty will respond to insulin and is a suggestion for those “starting out”. It would be nice if you did have some more data and could fill in a few more of those blanks (like getting a +2 and a before bed every single night) and if you work a +2 or out the door test and an in the door test.

Normally, once a member has a bit of data, if they are following SLGS, they shoot any number above 90 but we recommend you learn to do that slowly with help. I think the next time she gives you a number below 150, you might want to not feed her, and post and ask for help so someone can walk you through it so you can start learning to shoot a little lower gradually, keeping in mind that eventually, the “no shot number” will be 90.
 
Thanks! I'm new to all this so I don't really know how to use it right. At least I posted to the Lantus forum this time -- progress! :D
 
Thanks! I'm new to all this so I don't really know how to use it right. At least I posted to the Lantus forum this time -- progress! :D
If you read the SLGS Method Sticky at the top of this insulin support group, write down your questions and ask us. We are here to help. We want to see Stormy get regulated and do well, too!! We love success stories.

The best way to post in this group is in the following format:
DATE Stormy AMPS xxx +2 xxx +5 xxx PMPS xxx +2 xxx

where xxx is the BG you get. You will likely have different tests on different cycles but I just used those as an example. If you have a question, then next to the subject line bar, there is a drop down arrow....select the “?” but you can also put something in the subject line after the numbers so it might look like this (example using today’s numbers):

2/16 Stormy AMPS 205 +7 135 PMBG 136 +14 193 SLGS ?

Note that I put “PMBG” instead of PMPS and that’s because you didn’t shoot (PMBG = PM Blood Glucose) and instead of +2 after PMBG, it’s +14 because it’s 14 hours since you last shot.

Here’s some other good info about Making the Most of your Lantus/Levemir ISG Experience.
 
That's helpful to know about PMBG v PMPS. That's the first I've heard of that and it's way less confusing.
 
Hi Stormy's Mom and welcome. I am sorry that I just got this post but see that Marje has posted some suggestions to you. Keep asking questions and yes, progress, you are on the right forum. Gosh, I was so lost when I first started. My brain hurt from trying to absorb all I could about Feline Diabetes and then to try to learn to navigate on a forum when I had never been on a message board before. Very overwhelming. But we will help you along the way. :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top