StormysMom
Member Since 2017
We are on day 3 of moving from 1 unit of Lantus once a day to 1/2 unit twice a day. The last two nights the pmps numbers were too low to shoot. I was able to get a +7 number today and it was pretty stable. Any thoughts?
Are you following one of the Lantus protocols - TR (tight regulation) or SLGS (start low go slow)? These are very helpful guidelines for when to increase/decrease dose and by how much. I suggest you read the stickies about those protocols on this forum.We are on day 3 of moving from 1 unit of Lantus once a day to 1/2 unit twice a day. The last two nights the pmps numbers were too low to shoot. I was able to get a +7 number today and it was pretty stable. Any thoughts?
I have read and I guess that's why I'm confused. For low/slow is says not to shot below 150 and so we are basically back to shots once per day again because we are skipping the evening dose when she's at 120-30s.Are you following one of the Lantus protocols - TR (tight regulation) or SLGS (start low go slow)? These are very helpful guidelines for when to increase/decrease dose and by how much. I suggest you read the stickies about those protocols on this forum.
If you repost on this forum with the question mark icon at the left of your thread's title and say something like "Need Help With Low Doses of Lantus" you'll get attention from some of the experts on here. They might tell you that at some point you'll have to try 0.25 u. Lantus can't be as effective if it's dosed only once a day. That messes up the insulin depot that keeps blood glucose on an even keel.I have read and I guess that's why I'm confused. For low/slow is says not to shot below 150 and so we are basically back to shots once per day again because we are skipping the evening dose when she's at 120-30s.
I think you’ve misread what it says. The “no shoot below 150” is if you have no data to know how your kitty will respond to insulin and is a suggestion for those “starting out”. It would be nice if you did have some more data and could fill in a few more of those blanks (like getting a +2 and a before bed every single night) and if you work a +2 or out the door test and an in the door test.I have read and I guess that's why I'm confused. For low/slow is says not to shot below 150 and so we are basically back to shots once per day again because we are skipping the evening dose when she's at 120-30s.
If you read the SLGS Method Sticky at the top of this insulin support group, write down your questions and ask us. We are here to help. We want to see Stormy get regulated and do well, too!! We love success stories.Thanks! I'm new to all this so I don't really know how to use it right. At least I posted to the Lantus forum this time -- progress!![]()
Yes..very true.That's helpful to know about PMBG v PMPS. That's the first I've heard of that and it's way less confusing.
Done!Yes..very true.
Do you mind, please, correcting your subject line so it now reads:
2/16 Stormy AMPS 205 +7 135 PMBG 136 +14 193
Thank you!

Perfect! Thanks so much!Done!