2/15 Marvin Dosing

Patience is a virtue when dealing with Lantus. It can take up to six cycles to resolve a bounce. Though I see he did it in 3. :D Stick with 7 units unless he goes too low. I would put the cabergoline dosing in the remarks, too confusing to have it in the insulin units cell. Plus cabergoline dosing won’t change much,
 
Good job taking those reductions. I see he went back down into nice numbers and then yellow this morning. I hope he will stop there (yellow) and go back down. He will show you if he needs to go back up. Marvin is doing great! How’s it going with the Cabergoline? Any GI side effects? How is his appetite?
 
Patience is a virtue when dealing with Lantus. It can take up to six cycles to resolve a bounce. Though I see he did it in 3. :D Stick with 7 units unless he goes too low. I would put the cabergoline dosing in the remarks, too confusing to have it in the insulin units cell. Plus cabergoline dosing won’t change much,

Ok, thank you!
 
Good job taking those reductions. I see he went back down into nice numbers and then yellow this morning. I hope he will stop there (yellow) and go back down. He will show you if he needs to go back up. Marvin is doing great! How’s it going with the Cabergoline? Any GI side effects? How is his appetite?

He did go up into the pinks today but has come back to the yellows.
He seems to be fine with the Cabergoline, i have geriatric kitties that have some GI issues so it is hard to tell if he has had any or not. I do notice that when his number are in the greens that he isn’t as hungry as he is when his numbers are higher, but he is still eating well.
 
not. I do notice that when his number are in the greens that he isn’t as hungry as he is when his numbers are higher, but he is still eating well.
This is very normal. Cats don’t normally get as hungry when they’re in healthy numbers, although if they drop into numbers below 50 many cats will be ravenous.
 
How is Marvin doing? I am glad you increased his dose. He had some green a while ago, I see. Don't hold his doses too long. If you wait six cycles after the greens you have waited long enough because it will be long enough for him to clear a bounce (although in this case, I don't think it was an actual bounce.) Anyway, I am glad you increased to 7.5. Let's hope he will start going the other way again and earning reductions. :bighug:
 
How is Marvin doing? I am glad you increased his dose. He had some green a while ago, I see. Don't hold his doses too long. If you wait six cycles after the greens you have waited long enough because it will be long enough for him to clear a bounce (although in this case, I don't think it was an actual bounce.) Anyway, I am glad you increased to 7.5. Let's hope he will start going the other way again and earning reductions. :bighug:

So sorry I didn’t see this sooner! He did earn a reduction when we went up to 7.5 so I dropped down to 7.25 and he technically earned another reduction in the first 7.25 cycle but he started heading back up in the second cycle. He was 400 this morning at AMPS but I kept with 7.25 to see what happens.

Thanks is for checking on us again!
 
Last edited:
With Cabergoline on board, I would have taken the reduction down to 7. Right now he’s high, but he will come back down. Just keep a careful watch so you can intervene if necessary.
 
Back
Top