2/13-LANTUS DOSE ADVICE for Elliott:AMPS=311, +3=268.+7=244, PMPS=277, +6= ?162/279

Status
Not open for further replies.

ELLIOTT & Fran Munschauer

Member Since 2016
I have the TR protocol but am quite unsure due to my lack of experience with Feline DM. Elliott has completed Cycle 6 on Lantus dose 2 u....FDMB members have gotten us through this so far...but I have not increased Lantus above 2 units . Should I keep raising dose of Lantus every 6th cycle if BG remains as is ? If yes, by .25u or .5u..? Your guidance is, and has been extremely helpful!!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...299-newbie-asking-for-lantus-guidance.152577/
 
Last edited:
I agree with Chris, you need to hold for now I've highlighted below (from the TR sticky) the bit that applies to Elliott at the moment,

INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit
:)
 
Yes, I think he's still bouncing, so 2-4 more cycles at this dose should tell us if it's gonna work out or not.

Fran, we have something here we call "patience pants". You put them on when you really want to make a move, but protocol and guidance say to wait. We'll have to get you a pair! I've worn out at least three pairs! ;):p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top