Re: 2/13 Kitten AMPS 86
Hi Gozde!
Kitten was driving me crazy at the beginning with regards to dosage because he didn't follow the normal curve that every other cat did. Usually you have a higher AMPS, then it dips down, lowest around +6 and then it goes back up again....and so on. Instead with Kit, it was going opposite. He has a late nadir (usually between +10 to +12) so we would have a super low PMPS and then I would get all freaked out. It took a lot of testing at the beginning (even though it hasn't been THAT long) to realize that after his PMPS he usually goes back up for a bit before going down. Because usually his insulin doesn't even kick in until +5 or later. At least that's what I was realizing. As to now, why it's always staying green and kinda flat, in all honestly, I dont really know. He's always been a flat kinda guy. We were having high AMPS because he would bounce, but now that those are lower, it is basically the same as the PM cycle = flat-ish.
With Kitten - and totally realize that every cat is different - I've decided that I'm not going to decrease the dose unless he's goes below 50. He reached 50 when we were giving him the 1.75 and so I went down to 1.50. Now I'm holding it until I get another 50 and then decrease.
I wish I knew what to tell you, but in all honesty, I'm really kinda new myself to all this. I did jump back in forth with the doses sometimes, but I learned one thing. If you're decreasing and getting higher numbers, make sure that you hold the dose. I went down to 1.50 earlier and had yellow numbers and immediately said, "nope, dont like this...back up we go" and then 2 days later we were at 50 and I had to reduce....
Also remember that not everyone is comfortable with the Shoot Low to Stay Low - and ultimately you have to do what you're most comfortable with. It takes a lot of testing, which may not be ideal for you at the moment. And that comes with tons of data....that way you know your cat and know where the numbers are headed. I never ever wouldve shot these numbers before...in fact, I freaked out massively with a 198 and I knew that was his nadir and it was gonna go up! And also, I only shot low when I knew I was home to test and keep an eye on him. Had that happen before heading off to work, I dont think I wouldve done it because I'd be too nervous. It's only been a couple of days that he's been green in the morning, but because I knew what usually happens in his PM, I felt safe. Remember, it's your cat, and you have to know what you feel most comfortable doing (i.e. safe wise kinda thing).
My opinion and hopefully others can chime in, is that if you're getting too low numbers shooting the full dose at 150 AMPS, then you should reduce the dose by 0.25 units and try that. Holding it at least for a couple of days to see where it settles.
Okay and after writing all that, I read your thread in the Relaxed Lantus LOL - ooopss!!!! Looks like everyone is giving you perfect advice

Definitely I would err on the lower/safer dose if you're not there to test all the time. And YAY for your parents for being so great with all this! My dad faints if he sees me put on my contacts lol.