2/13 Kitten AMPS 86, PMPS 139, +3 142

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/13 Kitten AMPS 86

And a Beautiful GREEN good morning to you and Kitten, LIL! How wonderfully exciting for you both!

Hope you have a good day at school, LIL.

Eva
 
Re: 2/13 Kitten AMPS 86

Hi,
I am trying to find out which dose is better for my cat. I have read your very nice news:) Then I checked your spreadsheet and realized that you are not decreasing the dosage even you have very good results during nadir and AMPS.
I wonder the reason.
When my cat is around 150 at AMPS, when we give her the normal dose, then we got very low results in a few hours and we had to feed her with honey with water and dry food.
May it be that my cat is very easly affected from insulin and yours is not so easily affected?

Have a nice day,
Gözde.
 
Re: 2/13 Kitten AMPS 86

Hi Gozde!

Kitten was driving me crazy at the beginning with regards to dosage because he didn't follow the normal curve that every other cat did. Usually you have a higher AMPS, then it dips down, lowest around +6 and then it goes back up again....and so on. Instead with Kit, it was going opposite. He has a late nadir (usually between +10 to +12) so we would have a super low PMPS and then I would get all freaked out. It took a lot of testing at the beginning (even though it hasn't been THAT long) to realize that after his PMPS he usually goes back up for a bit before going down. Because usually his insulin doesn't even kick in until +5 or later. At least that's what I was realizing. As to now, why it's always staying green and kinda flat, in all honestly, I dont really know. He's always been a flat kinda guy. We were having high AMPS because he would bounce, but now that those are lower, it is basically the same as the PM cycle = flat-ish.

With Kitten - and totally realize that every cat is different - I've decided that I'm not going to decrease the dose unless he's goes below 50. He reached 50 when we were giving him the 1.75 and so I went down to 1.50. Now I'm holding it until I get another 50 and then decrease.

I wish I knew what to tell you, but in all honesty, I'm really kinda new myself to all this. I did jump back in forth with the doses sometimes, but I learned one thing. If you're decreasing and getting higher numbers, make sure that you hold the dose. I went down to 1.50 earlier and had yellow numbers and immediately said, "nope, dont like this...back up we go" and then 2 days later we were at 50 and I had to reduce....

Also remember that not everyone is comfortable with the Shoot Low to Stay Low - and ultimately you have to do what you're most comfortable with. It takes a lot of testing, which may not be ideal for you at the moment. And that comes with tons of data....that way you know your cat and know where the numbers are headed. I never ever wouldve shot these numbers before...in fact, I freaked out massively with a 198 and I knew that was his nadir and it was gonna go up! And also, I only shot low when I knew I was home to test and keep an eye on him. Had that happen before heading off to work, I dont think I wouldve done it because I'd be too nervous. It's only been a couple of days that he's been green in the morning, but because I knew what usually happens in his PM, I felt safe. Remember, it's your cat, and you have to know what you feel most comfortable doing (i.e. safe wise kinda thing).

My opinion and hopefully others can chime in, is that if you're getting too low numbers shooting the full dose at 150 AMPS, then you should reduce the dose by 0.25 units and try that. Holding it at least for a couple of days to see where it settles.

Okay and after writing all that, I read your thread in the Relaxed Lantus LOL - ooopss!!!! Looks like everyone is giving you perfect advice :) Definitely I would err on the lower/safer dose if you're not there to test all the time. And YAY for your parents for being so great with all this! My dad faints if he sees me put on my contacts lol.
 
Re: 2/13 Kitten AMPS 86

Hi,
Thanks you so much for your message, I feel more comfortable now, I was afraid of giving my cat wrong dosage.
My vet is not trusting on 0.5 dosage with syringe, she wants me to use Lantus pen for 0.5 (inject the pen for a few seconds for 0.5 unit). She thinks that it is not possible to arrange 0.5 unit with syringe, however I see all people in this forum are going well with syringes. and my dad got used to it already.
You are right, I will tel my dad how great he is doing, he deserves that :-D
I hope you will get greens again tomorrow:)
Take care, Gözde.
 
Re: 2/13 Kitten AMPS 86

Awesome! It just takes some time before everything begins to fall into place. It's been a whirlwind for us, and only now do I feel like I kinda know what's going on...and even that depends on the day lol.

Definitely 0.5 is do-able if you get the syringes with the 0.5 unit markings. My vet didn't have those, but I found them at any of the pharmacies that I went too - so hopefully you can get your hand on some of those.

I hope for green too tomorrow! We've been feeding Sophisticat up until now, but Petsmart here wont be getting their new shipment (Great Choice now) until next week, so we stocked up a bit on Special Kitty to tie him over. I wonder if it will affect BGs...guess we'll see in a couple of hours! I hope not, cuz I really dont feel like returning them lol.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Hmmmm.....could this be a slight bounce or change in food? We've been really good and choosing food that was either 0 or 1 on Binky's list. The ones now are 3. Is this trivial? Or would something like that actually make a difference? I'm leaning towards slight bounce....also weird cuz he never does this in the evening. Not complaining about the numbers whatsoever!! I'd take blue any day! Just curious....
 
I would also be leaning towards a slight bounce as well...I don't think when you get down that low on the carb count that there is much of a difference between 0-1% or 3%.

I know with Musette her food can vary between 5-7% carbs without much effect on her readings....and Maxwell does slightly better now that he is OTJ on slightly higher carbs. He is actually a happier guy when he gets closer to the 7% carb mark than the 3-5% carbs mark. And he actually went OTJ on Friskies which were 6-8% carbs.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Ok yeah, that's what I'm thinking too.

Interesting what you mentioned about Maxwell...it is true. I wouldn't think that such a small difference would affect readings - and I can definitely see how possibly slightly higher % could make him feel better. I think we just got wrapped up in the "lo-carb" (or in our mind "no carb" lol) at the beginning and went on a rampage to find the ones with the lowest amt.

If anything, I'll sleep better today.

Hope you and Musette (and the rest of the gang...dont want to leave them out!) are doing great and have a wonderful evening!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top