2/13 Jax- Again! Another sleepless night!! Craziness!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Active Member
Morning all.

Once again we have Jax throwing a curveball at the bottom of the ninth inning making this game go into overtime.

Forgive any typos, etc, etc, etc because I cannot see straight. I am exhausted.Recap of events:

PMPS 274 1.2u given and fed. Thought about going with 1u due to the freakiness of my shiny brand new vial but held. Oh boy...

Decided to have a life and go on a movie date with DH under the condition that we get back at +4 when any madness would begin. How right I was.

+4 181 Looking good..
+6 84 Looking good, this is nadir and we should start swinging upward. Was tempted to go call it a night but something held me back. One more test...
+7 51 Whaaaat?!?
+8 43 Gravy time!
+9 68 Could not stay up any longer. Had to go to sleep.
+11 120 Whaaat?!? Where is the bounce. What is going on here?
AMPS 126

I am totally, 100% confused. What in the world is going on? Obviously cannot give a dose unless he SKYROCKETS in 1 hour. If he does, thinking about going with .8. This is sheer craziness.
 
I say he will skyrocket soon. A lot of times if a dose is too high you will see an extension of the cycle.

But, obviously no shot until he does skyrocket....maybe he won't!!!

Got to head out the door! Good Luck! Good Job last night!
 
So much for a quiet night in Kitty Land! Sorry Jax kept you on your toes last night...but isn't it amazing how well you've learned the steps in this dance to keep Jax safe?

Good on you!

Sometimes I wonder, when our kitties go low like this, how much is due to what we're doing and how much is Mr. P sneaking in? It's not like our kitties are hiding a stash of ProZinc somewhere, and the stuff does wear off after 10-14 hours or so, right? But those BGs can continue to hover down there...as if Mr. P is playing a bit. Maybe it's wishful thinking on my part.

Hope Jax settles soon, one way or the other. :smile:
 
I agree Teresa, so much for a quiet night...and my sleep.

kse said:
I say he will skyrocket soon. A lot of times if a dose is too high you will see an extension of the cycle.

Well this indicates a dose WAY too high. Thinking I will reduce to .8 which is half of what he was being given on the old vial. You know...I think about when Jax was 1st DX and they told me 3u b.i.d on a new vial too. Makes me fear all those ppl out there (and probably a few lurkers on this board too) that aren't hometesting. Scary stuff.
 
Lisa & Jax said:
You know...I think about when Jax was 1st DX and they told me 3u b.i.d on a new vial too. Makes me fear all those ppl out there (and probably a few lurkers on this board too) that aren't hometesting. Scary stuff.

I totally agree. My mom has always admired my ability and willingness to question doctors (they put their pants on one leg at a time like we do, and we should understand what they are saying to us and how things work, etc.). I see no difference in questioning vets. Too many don't do so. It's sad. And very scary.

I know it's talked about cycles extending themselves. I just wonder how much of that is internal in the kitty. It's not like there's still insulin in there, doing it's work. I just find it interesting and curious. :smile:
 
+13.25 123

Not sure how much longer I can hold off not feeding. I know it's not like he's starving (sure had enough last night!) but when he gives you "The Eyes" its hard to resist! I have to leave in a few but dh isn't feeling well today and can stay home. Not sure if I should tell him to just skip the shot as if we shoot at say, +15, it will throw off my entire shooting schedule.
 
I hear you. And that's so low to even consider shooting, don't you think? And we all know how high Jax likes to go with no insulin.

Argh!
 
Thanks for helping me think this through Teresa. I gotta go to the evil 3 M's (Monday Morning Meeting) but will keep an update via dh. Hope they don't maul him for their food!!
 
I can't advise on your dose, but when my guy hung low, everyone suggested "cut the dose" - mostly in half. And when Mr. P apparenlty decided to show up and dance for 24 hrs, they said "cut the dose". So I did. Here's what I got: I danced for 24 hours after .75u, then have what appears to be a fur shot and walk on the high wire for 12 hours w/ .4u. Then last night I thought I slept through Nadir, which I probably did, but woke up to a 152. Wish I had some more pokes on my curve. Clearly I'm not shooting.

Good luck w/ Jax! Maybe dh can run a couple checks on him throughout the day.

Lu-Ann
 
Thanks Lu-Ann. I think that may be the route I have to go. At work now and just so worried about this situation. Can barely concentrate...or that may be the lack of sleep kicking in. :smile:

+14 164

Hesitant to tell dh to shoot under 200. Think at 220 he will go ahead with .8. Good L-RD. At least he's home, although under the weather.
Right now he is holding off on feeding both and they are pissed.
 
Hey, Lisa. More excitement on PZI.

I think I'd skip. Otherwise your schedule is impossible and the kitties may mutiny over food.

Yes, it looks like the new PZI is weirdly potent (which I have not seen) or Mr. P decided to join the party.
 
Oh Sue, I wish I caught this as I *just* got off the phone with dh.

+14.5 242 .8 given and fed. Hubby may be in for a long day. He promised that although he isn't feeling well he will keep an eagle eye on Jax and test him. Going to ask him to do a +2 just in case.
 
I also want to apologize to everyone as I feel as if I'm hogging the board. Hopefully, the drama will end soon. Sorry all. :YMHUG:
 
Outside of your schedule being messed up, I would have shot when you did. I think he would have been sky high later.

Good Luck!

No apologies for seeking advice!
 
It's okay. I was worried more about your schedule. You reduced so he probably will be be okay. Does DH know how to come on if he needs help? I will be in and out today but will keep an eye out.

Volatile time for Jax but being a little aggressive could be just the right thing to push him into those remission level numbers. (anti jinx). If you can think of it all as data and know you can react to low numbers as you need to, it might be a little less scary.
 
Yes. Fortunately he is updating the SS. He started a new line for the PS that he just did. Anything else may confuse him. I can't log on google docs here so I hope it looks right. If he encounters problems he will call me and I will report here for advice. Not sure my head is in the game here anyway. So worried.

That's it for now, I promise.
 
Don't worry, he will be okay! You reduced and he probably will continue to go up before the onset of the Prozinc.

Relax!
 
Dh just called. +4 84
Here we go again... Told him to give half can of DM. Don't want to start the gravy too soon but I have a feeling I know how this story is going to play out.

+2 was 304 btw. Should be on the SS. A crazy drop...
 
+5 44
Told him to give 2tbs gravy and retest in 15 mins. Said Jax is playful and alert. Had to call him to test. Going to lose my mind. Wondering if I should have him just give half can of gravy as I don't know if he can finesse a hypo.
 
I thought maybe Jax and Grayson were in cahoots, but it appears Jax is more thirsty and stays off the high wires that Gray so enjoys!

Keeping an eye on you... good luck!

Lu-Ann
 
Weighing whether I should call it a day here and head home. In freak out mode as I am not in control of this situation. Dh is good with testing and feeding but to have him at this every 15 mins is...just stressful for me.
 
I know it is stressful. Maybe tell DH to feed a little more high carb... There are no easy answers. I am shocked he has gone this low on the reduced dose.
 
We’re here Lisa. Can’t believe he went this low for you. I think there IS something in this new batch of PZ.
Good vibes coming your way. I am sure you will guide DH thru it just fine.
(((((hugs)))))
 
While DH is waiting to test again, he might want to think about getting Jax’s carrier ready in case he has to run to the vet with him. I always say it’s better to be prepared and not need to use the stuff. Don’t panic, but you should be ready to do that if you have to.
 
Thats great, i would give a little more gravy if he were my cat, just to make sure something in there will last a bit.
 
Ok. will communicate that. Said Jax is being really aggresive toward Dooley...which is normal as he is the alpha cat. No other symptoms.
Will retest in 15
 
I would say you want to get maybe 3 tests in that keep going up. Remember to breathe, you guys are doing great.
 
You caught things in time so that is really good. You would know if he was showing any symptoms. They may include head tilting, staggering, yowling, etc.
 
52. Instructed to give a little more gravy and retest in 15.
We are +5 in...who knows how much longer this ride will last.
 
Just know that the honey may not last long, so giving some food with the gravy might be good. Looks like he has nadired anytime from +6-8 hours? So I would want to keep some food on board to get thru that time where the insulin peaks.
 
Donna, should I tell him to give the gravied food or pour some of the gravy on DM? Usually nadir is +6-+7 but last night he went low to +11 (i think? Dont have access to SS) before swinging upwards.
 
If it were me, I would give a small amount, maybe a table spoon ful of the highest carb wet food you have. If putting the gravy on the DM is higher carb do that. Food will last longer so I think since we don’t know when this insulin will poop out, we want some food on board not only gravy and honey.
 
After a hypo or going real low, they can be extra insulin sensitive. Maybe going low last night helped today’s event along.

I would check with your vet and see if he wants you to skip your next shot, some vets want to do that after a hypo. At the very least you will have to reduce the dose and I am no dosing expert, so I’d say ask your vet and hopefully people should weigh in here. Err on the safe side.
 
+6 56 Dh says he is nervous that he may want to stop eating. Doing gravy only right now as to not fill his stomach. Guess he is losing interest.
 
When Asher goes low, I try to get him up around 100-120 or so if he is still in the range of the nadir/insulin working. If he is lower than 100 I try to raise it with food until he gets there.
You are probably out of scary numbers by now, so when that happens, I test every half hour to give the cat a break from the every 15 minute deal.
 
ok good call, you definitely don’t want to fill him up since we have a few hours to go on insulin yet. I have a hoover kitty so I forget some cats will actually stop eating :shock:
 
donnahc said:
You are probably out of scary numbers by now, so when that happens, I test every half hour to give the cat a break from the every 15 minute deal.

So, can I officially breathe now? I'm not sure we are out of ScaryTown just yet as last night he kept going up but then dropping again. I pray the light is at the end of this tunnel. I placed a call to the vet but she is with a patient. Not sure where I should go with this vial. Is it defective???? What the heck can I shoot and feel comfortable doing when not home? .3? This is unbelievable.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top