2/12 Java AMPS 302 ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question please..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph and Java(GA)

Active Member
I think Java has neuropathy. Yesterday he stumbled a couple of times and he is walking funny and when he was standing at his food bowl, his beck end was dropping down. My question is I normally star the process at 8:30. I probably end up giving the shot around 8:40 - 8:45. My vet opens at 9 and he talked about increasing Javas dose after he studied his spreadsheet etc. he wanted a video of him walking so I sent that last night. Do I do my routine or wait until they open? How much leeway do I have because he may not be able to answer me right away and then I miss his shot. he is on 1 unit bid and this is day 8.
 
Re: 2/12 Java ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question please....

A couple of housekeeping items:
Please remember to link your condo from the previous day: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36517&p=383816&hilit=Java#p383816
Could you also remove the "star" from your subject line. We reserve that for posts that are either permanent (i.e., the sticky notes) or ones that are for general, important information that we keep bumping up.

Stick to your schedule. Given what Java's nadir looks like, I would increase his dose to 1.25u. However, you must keep up with testing. Since you can't get spot checks in during the work week, it is important that you get spot checks on the weekend. It is also imperative that you continue to get some spot checks in during the PM cycle. We really can't provide any recommendations about dose without spot checks.

As far as neuropathy, you can order methyl-B12 on line. Xobaline for cats (Google it that way) is available via Amazon. That particular formulation contains no sugar.
 
Re: 2/12 Java ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question please....

Sienne and Gabby said:
A housekeeping item:
Please remember to link your condo from the previous day: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... va#p383816

Stick to your schedule. Given what Java's nadir looks like, I would increase his dose to 1.25u. However, you must keep up with testing. Since you can't get spot checks in during the work week, it is important that you get spot checks on the weekend. It is also imperative that you continue to get some spot checks in during the PM cycle. We really can't provide any recommendations about dose without spot checks.

As far as neuropathy, you can order methyl-B12 on line. Xobaline for cats (Google it that way) is available via Amazon. That particular formulation contains no sugar.


sorry, I didn't get much sleep last night. I forgot to link. I did a mini curve yesterday, should I do one today as well? He seems like he is in a lot of pain, he cries if I touch his back end.
 
Re: bump

Ronnie & Luna said:
Hi there,
linking your previous condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... 99#p383799


Do you have your AMPS number yet?
I'm not familiar with your history here, but my first thought is you may need more data to determine a dose increase.
Hopefully others can offer their insight, and as well as your vet.


I guess I just thought since his numbers were all in the high 200's to low 300's and he is having a hard time walking maybe an increase is warranted? I know yesterday we were in the mid 250's but this neuropathy scares the crap out of me. It is really hard to see your cat in pain and I am afraid if we don't address it he will become paralyzed and then what?
 
Re: 2/12 Java ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question please....

Morning Steph,

I have never had to deal with neuropathy. Is he walking on his hocks, [long part of his leg] instead of his toes? If he has it there are supplements that might help. Others here have plenty of experience with that and I'm sure you will get lots of input.

From what I have read the methel B-12 has helped a lot of kitties.

Great that your hometesting. That is very important so you can see what the insulin is doing during the cycle. Keep practicing, and it will beome easier and easier.

Have a nice day.

jan and sara
 
Re: 2/12 Java ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question please....

I'm sorry Steph.
It is scary, we had that too in our early days.
Sienne's suggestion for the methyl-B12 is a good one, we used it to and it helped.
But it would be good to see what your vet can add about that after they see the video.
 
Re: 2/12 Java ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question please....

How about holding the dose if you can get more data today?

If Java is in pain, I would definitely get in to see the vet. Pain could be influencing numbers and it might not be prudent to increase the dose. I don't think neuropathy is typically painful so calling the vet seems wise.
 
Re: 2/12 Java ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question please....

Any updates? AMPS?
Word from your vet?
I too am concerned about the pain part.
Let us know what vetty thinks k?
 
Re: 2/12 Java ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question please....

Ronnie & Luna said:
Any updates? AMPS?
Word from your vet?
I too am concerned about the pain part.
Let us know what vetty thinks k?

They open in 10 minutes. Thanks, I will let you know. AMPS 302. He can walk still but everything he does is with difficulty. at least he is still eating good.
 
Re: 2/12 Java AMPS 302 ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question plea

Hello,

I'm so sorry Java isn't feeling well and seems to be in pain. Please post when you can after your vet visit. I hope the vet will be able to help Java. :YMHUG: .
 
Re: 2/12 Java AMPS 302 UPDATE AFTER VET Question please..

Well Java has a bladder obstruction. He is at the vet right now getting a catheter and hopefully we will be able to transfer him to the 24hr vet in an hour or so. He had a fit at the vet, hissing and baring his teeth. He is NEVER like that so I knew something bad was happening. they said his bladder is the size of an orange. I feel so guilty but I am 95% sure he peed last night and this was the last thing I expected from him. My civvie, Riley has a history of crystals and peeing out of the box but Java has never had this issue. I would appreciate some positive thoughts for my baby, if you don't mind. Thanks

steph
 
Re: 2/12 Java AMPS 302 ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question plea

hi Steph

just checking in for an update - sending lots of positive thoughts your way for Java - poor kitty!
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/12 Java AMPS 302 ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question plea

I'm glad you got Java in to the vet quickly. I hope you can post an update soon.
 
Re: 2/12 Java AMPS 302 ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question plea

Thanks everyone! He is doing ok tonight except he is NOT a happy camper. He has one of those Elizabethan collars, it is a soft one but still pissing him off. I picked him up at my vet and he was moving around a lot in his carrier. We took him to the emergency clinic so he can be monitored all night and they think if all goes well the catheter can come out in the morning. He said it was not a complete obstruction in fact it could still be neurological. Has this ever happened to anyone? his urine was clean and all labs came out great. Anyway I know all your positive thoughts contributed to our great outcome so THANK YOU!
 
Re: 2/12 Java AMPS 302 ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question plea

Thank you for the update! Poor Java in a collar.
I have no experience with this, but to get u extra thoughts, maybe cross post this topic to the Health forum as a topic.

good to hear labs are good Steph.
hoping for good news in the morning cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/12 Java AMPS 302 ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question plea

hi, guys...i'm late posting here, but sending healing energy Java's way!
 
Re: 2/12 Java AMPS 302 ?Diabetic Neuropathy? Question plea

Just sending positive thoughts your way! Ronnie's suggestion to post on Health is a good one. There are people there who are very experienced with a variety of conditions, and a couple of vet techs who give great feedback.

So glad you acted quickly. Hoping for a better day tomorrow for you and Java.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top