2/11 Max PZI AMPS 259, PMPS 209 - Any advice for newbie?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollyall

Member Since 2011
I thought I would cross-post this from the Health forum in case anyone in PZI has advice. This is my first time using any kind of board on the internet, so I'm still learning the etiquette. Good morning. Still trying to get a handle on home testing and what the numbers mean. Wednesday Max's PMPS was 201 so I waited on injection. I fed him and re-checked in an hour. He was at 236. Being a newbie, I was conservative and only shot .2u. I thought for sure Max's numbers would jump up the next morning, but I got an AMPS of 244, so I played it conservative again and shot .2u. I wasn't sure if the change in diet to only low carb wet was still influencing his #'s. His PMPS was 255 so I was conservative again, still learning how the PZI works on Max, and shot .2u (3 cycles on .2u). He was 2+ 147 and 4+ 139. Today's AMPS was 259. It seems like Max is at least holding steady or possibly creeping up, so I shot .3u this morning. I plan to do a full BG curve tomorrow (yeah!) now that I can be home during the day. I know I still need a lot more data. Doe anyone have any advice on numbers/dose? I'm still learning what the numbers mean. Should I hold steady with .3u and run the curve on that or try .4u tonight depending on PMPS and do the curve on that? I know I'm talking small #'s, but, after the drop last Saturday, "start low, go slow" has a whole new meaning.
 
Re: 2/11 Max PZI AMPS 259 - Any advice for newbie?

Welcome Holly! We are a small group but everyone uses or has used PZI. This forum is busiest in the am and pm. It is a great place to discuss doses. On the Health forum, people use different kinds of insulin and are not always aware that you use PZI. It acts very differently than Lantus or Levemir. But in an emergency, head over to Health where there will be more eyes even in the middle of the day.

I think you are doing a great job. I think I remember that you are not home during the weekday but someone is with Max. You are playing it conservatively, but that is good in the beginning when the wet lo carb is just kicking in and you are not sure how the insulin will work for Max and you are not home. I like your move to .3 this am and it will be interesting to see if there is any change for pmps.

I would say, get your curve in this weekend, and if he is still in the mid 100s during the mid cycle, you might tweak the dose upward. PZI doses are more based on what is happening with the cat than the other insulins. There is no protocol for specific doses held specific times and then lowered or raised. It doesn't have the shed that Lantus and Levemir develop, so it's a little like "what you see is what you get". It is nice to hold doses for a couple days, but that is not always possible if you get movement up or down in a way you don't want.

You are doing great. Hope we see more of you over here!
 
Re: 2/11 Max PZI AMPS 259 - Any advice for newbie?

Hi Holly and Maximillian! So glad you found us.

Sorry, but I am too out of touch with newer insulins to give you any insulin-specific advice but tons of people here will be happy to help you.

Welcome!

Rebecca
Founder & webmaster
 
Re: 2/11 Max PZI AMPS 259 - Any advice for newbie?

Doing that full curve will help a lot - I know from experience that data can make it much easier to get a handle on how the insulin is effecting your cat.
 
Re: 2/11 Max PZI AMPS 259 - Any advice for newbie?

Wow! You are getting way good numbers! I'd say the low carb wet is kicking in. Did you discontinue the dry? My Sam is also on PZI but his numbers are much, much higher. Good luck!!!!!!!! :mrgreen:
 
Just took Max's PMPS and got 209. Went ahead and shot the same dose as this morning, .3u and will test and monitor Max closely tonight. He ate his full can of morning/day allotment of Fancy Feast. He gets second can with PM shot and throughout evening. Sue & Oliver you have a great memory. Yes, I'm the "newbie" that's gone all day during the week, but I have my parents at the house to watch out for and feed Max, but they aren't willing to try to test. Max is still hard to test and I still need someone to help hold him while I do it. Hedoes know that, when the meter beeps, he's done and jumps up for his treat. Thank you all for the advice and encouragement. It really helps to know that I'm not the only one out there. And yes Sue, after a few of weeks of "transitioning" Max from dry to low carb wet and still getting high numbers at the vet, I told Max last Saturday he would have to suck it up and just eat the wet. ;-) Silly boy! It seems to be making a huge difference. I feel so bad that I was feeding him that terrible high carb dry food for so long. *Sigh*
 
We all fed that awful stuff. I watched the TV ads and never knew how lousy the dry was.

One thing you might try is to take the amount you are feeding and split it up into several meals. Having food on board helps support the pancreas during the day and night. You can have your parents feed him, or freeze the food and leave it out or use an automatic feeder.

Hope you get a curve in. Then we can help you tweak the dose as needed.
 
Max is a grazer. He likes small meals, maybe 3x time during the day and 3-4x times during the evening. I'm feeding him two cans and test treats now that he's gained back the weight he had lost from the diabetes. Does that sound about right? I think I read that that was good for a 12lb kitty.
 
I feed my 10 pound kitty 2 cans of Fancy Feast daily. He isn't diabetic. Oliver, our diabetic got 3 cans until he was regulated - then we went back to 2. As long as Max isn't begging for food, I think you are fine.
 
Good to know. Earlier in the week, when the switch to only wet was new, Max had to be coaxed to finish off the 2 cans. He seems a little hungrier now, so I'll give him a little more than the 2 if he wants it.
 
Hi Holly! I was looking at Max's ss and wow, he's off the juice!!! :RAHCAT Good for Max, if you keep him on the Fancy Feast looks like you can stay off the juice. Good luck! I did get Sam off once but when the diabetes re-occured he has less of a chance of getting off again. I just hope we can lower his dose after a while. Keep an eye on him though and if you notice a recurrance of drinking lots of water and peeing a lot check him! Sam also lost lots of weight the second time. Good luck. dancing_cat
 
Oooh, Max's SS is looking awesome!!!! Almost time to dust off the party hats I think!!! What do we say for PZI, 10 days? Two weeks? I'm not sure, but it seems like a

drinking24

is in order in any case!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top