2/11 MAKI, AMPS 212, PMPS 273, +1 304, +2 201, +3 182, +4 171

Think she is flattening out. Feed some more FF Pate and I think you can call it a night. What do you think, Elise?

Patricia, what will you do about Maki getting food at night now that there is no kibble? Can you leave some FF Pate out?
 
I’d like to see a +5 to be sure.

As for trying to get urine, I put some Saran Wrap over the liter and was able to use the dip stick. That’s how I diagnosed Max with fd as it showed sugar in his urine.
 
Wow, good morning already? Yes, I will leave a bowl of FF out for the night. A whole can or half?
I think I am getting the SS updates in correctly now.

Good morning! :-) And yes, you are getting the SS updates correctly now!
Leave a whole can out for tonight. Let us feed more rather than less till we complete the food transition and arrive at her optimal dose.

Will you be up a while longer?
 
Elise, Melissa, Bhooma,
Maki and I thank you for keeping us going, her much happier, me much calmer *may not see it but I am. We are so fortunate to have. Thank you for all the time you have dedicated to making a difference in our lives each day during this time.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: It will get easier and there’s a very good chance of remission. No guarantees but it’s very encouraging. Get sleep when you can as there will likely be some pj parties in your immediate future.
 
:bighug:

It's what we're here for! Glad you're feeling more comfortable, I know the beginning is very scary, especially with a hypo. You'll get better and better with it, but like Elise said you'll probably want to buy stock in coffee pretty soon here.
 
  1. BG Reading @ PMPS +4 (171)
  2. Full bowl of FF wet pate by our bed so I can hear if she is eating it
  3. Next BG Reading 2/12 AMPS
I am ready for swing shift as kitty needs. She just had her fish flakes and ready for bedtime. She usually goes down stairs waits until we are quiet and then cries and carries her birdie up each night while seranading us. When she doesn't do that I know she doesn't feel well. So Here's to birdie songs.
 
Hi Patricia,

Ketones - My understanding is I must catch fresh urine either in the box, in stream, or on plastic in box. None have worked so far. Any hints on trying some more. So far she had buried the strips I left in box, runs away if I am even in basement while she is in box, and has scratched plastic out of way and went in litter, smarty pants.
It might be worth your getting a blood ketone meter. They work the same way as a glucometer, using a blood droplet from the ear. The strips aren't cheap but you'd usually only need to check for ketones once a day (unless results indicate additional testing is needed). No more litter box shenaningans involved, and you get 'real time' readings.


Mogs
.
 
Good morning. Do you have all the reports from the ER visit? If not, have them email all the records and have your regular vet as well. It will tell you if ketones were found and if she was ever DKA. That will ease your mind about ketone testing in terms of how often it’s needed. The bg is pretty darn good for having lowered the dose and all the greens and high carb food she got to bring her up.

Would you start a new thread today and link this one please? On LLB we like to see a new thread every day.
 
Ok. Insulin in my possession from local pharmacy. 10 ml vial of lantus. Next mission. Ketone meter. Looking on line but still trying ketone strips in let box today too.
I just bought the NovaMax from ADW diabetes. They were doing a special if you buy 2 boxes of ketone strips, meter is free. So it was about $30. It did take about 4 days to get here though

Edit: crap, my bad, didn't realize this was yesterdays condo
 
I just bought the NovaMax from ADW diabetes. They were doing a special if you buy 2 boxes of ketone strips, meter is free. So it was about $30. It did take about 4 days to get here though

Edit: crap, my bad, didn't realize this was yesterdays condo

Ok, thanks for that info and price. I will be onto ordering that way. And no worries I am keeping track of both threads. Back to the 2/12 thread of BGs and insulin.
 
Back
Top