2/10 Snuggles AMPS 137 +1 158 +2 173 +3 165 +4 151 +6 152 +9 204 PMPS 243 +2 271 +5.5 236 +8.5 234

Well it’s not a science! There are general principles of feeding small meals throughout the cycle but you kind of need to find out what works with your cat as well as your schedule! Where’s the confusing post y’all are referring to?
I’m not sure about the confusing post. Per previous post I will try not to feed her past +7 of a cycle..unless low BS. One of my questions was about meals and snacks..how do I know how much LC food to give for those..do I figure out what she’s needs for calories per day and go by that? I’ve been giving 2Tbsp LC food for main meals and 2 tsp of LC for snacks..which I usually give 3 snacks per cycle. Also, when should I test..I’m nervous so I test all the time but what are good times to test because I’m sure I probably don’t need to test every hour..like I do some days. And, should snacks be 2 hours apart? I know when I’m working I need to change things up..but I’m talking about when I’m home. What is the best way to get consistent results? And what exactly is feeding the curve? Sorry, for all the questions but I guess I need things spelled out for me. @Suzanne & Darcy
 
I’m not sure about the confusing post. Per previous post I will try not to feed her past +7 of a cycle..unless low BS. One of my questions was about meals and snacks..how do I know how much LC food to give for those..do I figure out what she’s needs for calories per day and go by that? I’ve been giving 2Tbsp LC food for main meals and 2 tsp of LC for snacks..which I usually give 3 snacks per cycle. Also, when should I test..I’m nervous so I test all the time but what are good times to test because I’m sure I probably don’t need to test every hour..like I do some days. And, should snacks be 2 hours apart? I know when I’m working I need to change things up..but I’m talking about when I’m home. What is the best way to get consistent results? And what exactly is feeding the curve? Sorry, for all the questions but I guess I need things spelled out for me. @Suzanne & Darcy
Yes. Most people do take the total amount of food that they want their cat to eat during a day and divide it up into however many snacks that they plan to feed. So you totally have the right idea here. :bighug:
 
Yes. Most people do take the total amount of food that they want their cat to eat during a day and divide it up into however many snacks that they plan to feed. So you totally have the right idea here. :bighug:
What about the testing time question? Can you suggest best times to test so I’m not being OCD. :bighug:
 
Looking at her spreadsheet, it looks like getting a +2 is kind of a waste of time. She seems to go up and onset of insulin for her seems to occur later than it does in a lot of cats. I would slip the time of that first test after her shot until +3 and, unless her pattern changes, maybe even +4. It’s a good idea to try to catch her nadir around +6/+7. Of course you still will be feeding her the planned snacks.

We often say around here that all data is good data. Your testing has not been in vain. It’s allowing us to see her patterns (onset, nadir, duration, etc.). Having this much data on the days that you are home will really help you to be more confident on the days when you’re working. You can test as much as you want and she will tolerate; I am just suggesting that if you want to give yourself and Snuggles a break sometimes then skip the +2. If you do decide to get a +3 and you find it’s going down significantly from preshot, then you would want to get a +4. Or if you get a +4 test, and you find it is going down significantly, you would want to test at +5. Is this making sense? During this time you will be feeding her he portioned meals anyway.

As to when to feed, it’s kind of up to you. Some people feed every hour, but that can be too much for some people to do. Others will feed at +2 and +4 and +6. Of course if low BG warrants it, then you may have to change plans and feed more frequently. Fortunately, Snuggles is not a “diver.” She seems to like to take things a little more easy and not try to hit nadir in the first two hours! Be happy for that! She’s also not super bouncy at this point. She is doing really well and so are you!
 
Looking at her spreadsheet, it looks like getting a +2 is kind of a waste of time. She seems to go up and onset of insulin for her seems to occur later than it does in a lot of cats. I would slip the time of that first test after her shot until +3 and, unless her pattern changes, maybe even +4. It’s a good idea to try to catch her nadir around +6/+7. Of course you still will be feeding her the planned snacks.

We often say around here that all data is good data. Your testing has not been in vain. It’s allowing us to see her patterns (onset, nadir, duration, etc.). Having this much data on the days that you are home will really help you to be more confident on the days when you’re working. You can test as much as you want and she will tolerate; I am just suggesting that if you want to give yourself and Snuggles a break sometimes then skip the +2. If you do decide to get a +3 and you find it’s going down significantly from preshot, then you would want to get a +4. Or if you get a +4 test, and you find it is going down significantly, you would want to test at +5. Is this making sense? During this time you will be feeding her he portioned meals anyway.

As to when to feed, it’s kind of up to you. Some people feed every hour, but that can be too much for some people to do. Others will feed at +2 and +4 and +6. Of course if low BG warrants it, then you may have to change plans and feed more frequently. Fortunately, Snuggles is not a “diver.” She seems to like to take things a little more easy and not try to hit nadir in the first two hours! Be happy for that! She’s also not super bouncy at this point. She is doing really well and so are you!
I apparently didn’t hit post when I replied...ugghh. Is it really unnecessary to test after +7? Thank you for all this…it definitely puts things in perspective. I’m going to try to give Snuggles a break..she’s been such a trooper and has come so far and allowed me to test her so much. I’m at ease when I’m at home but when I’m working it’s stressful worrying that’s she’s going to be hypo..I shouldn’t use Google that’s for sure with all the horrific stories. I’m sure I drive my husband crazy if he’s home when I’m working asking if she’s doing ok! @Suzanne & Darcy
 
A typical Lantus curve will go down and then back up again or will stay relatively flat. When you shoot lower preshots, you will find that the cycles are pretty flat. So just look at her spreadsheet and see what the trends are and you will see what I mean. I don’t see big drops late in the cycle. I’m not saying don’t ever test after nadir. I was a total testaholic, but you certainly don’t need to do it every hour especially now when she’s just getting blues and yellows.

tell me how she is feeling and acting?

Also, I believe that tonight is the 14th cycle on this dose. It looks like she needs another .25 unit increase. Since you are at home this week for the most part, tomorrow morning, might be a good time to do the increase so that you can monitor her well what do you think?
 
I apparently didn’t hit post when I replied...ugghh. Is it really unnecessary to test after +7? Thank you for all this…it definitely puts things in perspective. I’m going to try to give Snuggles a break..she’s been such a trooper and has come so far and allowed me to test her so much. I’m at ease when I’m at home but when I’m working it’s stressful worrying that’s she’s going to be hypo..I shouldn’t use Google that’s for sure with all the horrific stories. I’m sure I drive my husband crazy if he’s home when I’m working asking if she’s doing ok! @Suzanne & Darcy
Well, hypos are a true concern, but when you are testing, you are in control. When you have a lot of data on your cat, and how low each dose is taking her, you are also in control and able to make good decisions. I do totally understand that fear of them going hypo when you’re away. I never really quite got over it. It was always in the back of my mind, when I was away from home that something might happen, however, unlikely, I always thought, but what if…

The people who really scare me are the ones who will not test at home either because they feel like they can’t do it or because their vet has advised them not to do it or told them it was completely unnecessary. And some people will not even test their cats blood glucose before giving them an insulin shot and they don’t even know if the cats BG is high enough to give insulin in the first place. those are the people that I am frightened for.
 
A good way of filling in the gaps on your spreadsheet, not that you have many at this point because you’ve been testing like crazy, is to get a +6 one day and another day and get a +8 or +10. You know what I mean just test around here and there.
Frankly, it looks like you’re not even sleeping.:bighug::bighug:
 
A typical Lantus curve will go down and then back up again or will stay relatively flat. When you shoot lower preshots, you will find that the cycles are pretty flat. So just look at her spreadsheet and see what the trends are and you will see what I mean. I don’t see big drops late in the cycle. I’m not saying don’t ever test after nadir. I was a total testaholic, but you certainly don’t need to do it every hour especially now when she’s just getting blues and yellows.

tell me how she is feeling and acting?

Also, I believe that tonight is the 14th cycle on this dose. It looks like she needs another .25 unit increase. Since you are at home this week for the most part, tomorrow morning, might be a good time to do the increase so that you can monitor her well what do you think?
She is doing great! She seems to feel good. She isn’t as active as she probably should be…she refuses to come out of bedroom/bathroom area..it’s a huge area but she’s very timid and she hasn’t come out of those rooms since I brought her home with me..I think she feels that is her safe place. She does play with her toys sometimes and laser light. I can go up .25u tomorrow..I need to leave around +8-+10..she should be fine don’t you think? I will give her a snack before I go. @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Well, hypos are a true concern, but when you are testing, you are in control. When you have a lot of data on your cat, and how low each dose is taking her, you are also in control and able to make good decisions. I do totally understand that fear of them going hypo when you’re away. I never really quite got over it. It was always in the back of my mind, when I was away from home that something might happen, however, unlikely, I always thought, but what if…

The people who really scare me are the ones who will not test at home either because they feel like they can’t do it or because their vet has advised them not to do it or told them it was completely unnecessary. And some people will not even test their cats blood glucose before giving them an insulin shot and they don’t even know if the cats BG is high enough to give insulin in the first place. those are the people that I am frightened for.
Well Snuggles was started on Vetsulin 2u and the vet told me I didn’t need to test. It was a struggle trying to get the Lantus from the vet and when I did the directions were to start at 2u and don’t worry about testing. Oh and from the beginning just keep her on whatever food she’s been eating! :rolleyes: @Suzanne & Darcy
 
A good way of filling in the gaps on your spreadsheet, not that you have many at this point because you’ve been testing like crazy, is to get a +6 one day and another day and get a +8 or +10. You know what I mean just test around here and there.
Frankly, it looks like you’re not even sleeping.:bighug::bighug:
Well..I doze off and I automatically wake up about every 2 hours. Today I’m testing from +3 to +7 and trying to get a good idea for those hours so when I increase the dose tomorrow I can see what happens the rest of the week. I’m going to try to keep her on the food schedule also. It takes a few days to see changes from increased doses right?
 
She is doing great! She seems to feel good. She isn’t as active as she probably should be…she refuses to come out of bedroom/bathroom area..it’s a huge area but she’s very timid and she hasn’t come out of those rooms since I brought her home with me..I think she feels that is her safe place. She does play with her toys sometimes and laser light. I can go up .25u tomorrow..I need to leave around +8-+10..she should be fine don’t you think? I will give her a snack before I go. @Suzanne & Darcy
Yes. By that time you should know what is going on.
 
Back
Top