Ok..I did shoot and she’s eating. Do you think the drastic drop is from her having a few vomiting episodes or the .25 increase in insulin? She did eat three snacks early this morning..+6.5, +8, & +8.75 and was fine..1tsp of LC wet each time @Bandit's Mom @Suzanne & Darcy @tiffmaxee @Diane Tyler's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Sienne and Gabby (GA)I would shoot the full dose and feed him every hour till DH is back and you can test. He often nadirs at AMPS and then heads up from there.
Oops I was typing a message too.I’m not seeing a drastic drop. I am glad the food is staying down.
@tiffmaxee

Thank you! @Diane Tyler's MomGreat job Sandy testing Snuggles yourself! Nice blue numbers today.![]()
I was just asking for future reference. I was worried when she was under 200 and leaving for work. When kitties are in the blue range do you see many hypo incidents? For example, I’m afraid she’s going to have these high drops that I see and if she in lower 100s when I leave and drops 80 points.. I guess that’s my main worry…being gone for hours and she drops into the dangerous numbers. Thanks for the responses! @Suzanne & DarcyIf you are following SLGS, you can shoot anything 90 and above as long as you are able to monitor your kitty. Any time you are uncomfortable with a preshot number you can post for support and advice. You can always stall while withholding food for 20 minutes and retest if you like, although with cats on Lantus you frequently will get a very similar number because it does such a good job of keeping cats flat. It looks like your kitty is doing great on Lantus so far.
I was just asking for future reference. I was worried when she was under 200 and leaving for work. When kitties are in the blue range do you see many hypo incidents? For example, I’m afraid she’s going to have these high drops that I see and if she in lower 100s when I leave and drops 80 points.. I guess that’s my main worry…being gone for hours and she drops into the dangerous numbers. Thanks for the responses! @Suzanne & Darcy
2 hours after I shoot I leave for work…I’m a worry wart and anxious person. Even when Snuggles PMPS is 243 now I will be up half the night worrying if it’s going to drop into low numbers.Okay. I do understand your concern absolutely! How many hours after you shoot do you have to leave for work?
@Suzanne & DarcyGreat job Sandy testing Snuggles yourself! Nice blue numbers today.![]()
She’s a good eater…when I’m here. She’s eaten once for my husband and she will not eat out of the auto feeder if I’m not here. She’s a stubborn girl! @Suzanne & DarcyOne strategy for when you need to be away is to leave food out for her to eat. Depending on her numbers and the number of hours that you will be away, you can adjust the amount of carbs in her snacks. Many people use an automatic feeder for dispensing snacks at important times like +2, +4 etc. is she a good eater?
Good thing you’re on the ball and observant ! @Diane Tyler's Mom@sandysh66
I just noticed in your title above you have +1 is 58
On your spreadsheet you have 158? You need to correct which ever one is correct
It's probably the one in your title right?
Just put that in message..hubby called and distracted me! @Diane Tyler's Mom
Which number is correct? I took the spreadsheet as the correct numbers.Good thing you’re on the ball and observant ! @Diane Tyler's Mom
The spreadsheet has the correct numbers. I changed the other to 158. Good thing @Diane Tyler's Mom keeps me in line! @Suzanne & DarcyWhich number is correct? I took the spreadsheet as the correct numbers.
Ok! I thought maybe 100 points in a cycle is a pretty good drop. @tiffmaxeeI’m not seeing a drastic drop. I am glad the food is staying down.
Will she eat if you just leave out a lot of food while you are away? A lot of cats will get hungry if they are dropping.She’s a good eater…when I’m here. She’s eaten once for my husband and she will not eat out of the auto feeder if I’m not here. She’s a stubborn girl! @Suzanne & Darcy
I would get a +2. If it is a lot lower than PMPS then you may be having an active cycle. Even if it is not, I would still give a low carb snack at +2.2 hours after I shoot I leave for work…I’m a worry wart and anxious person. Even when Snuggles PMPS is 243 now I will be up half the night worrying if it’s going to drop into low numbers.@Suzanne & Darcy
She hasn’t so far..just one time for my husband and it took over an hour for that time. She isn’t much for guys. It was her and my mom for 10 years..and the poor girl has had a lot of changes in the past year. @Suzanne & DarcyWill she eat if you just leave out a lot of food while you are away? A lot of cats will get hungry if they are dropping.
It will. It is very overwhelming at first. It takes experience and gathering data to see how your cat does/knowing her patterns to gain confidence.I hope all this gets easier and less overwhelming! @Suzanne & Darcy
Ok..are there certain times or things to watch for when giving snacks..and would you consider 2 teaspoons a sufficient amount? @Suzanne & DarcyI would get a +2. If it is a lot lower than PMPS then you may be having an active cycle. Even if it is not, I would still give a low carb snack at +2.
Well then, we will need to take that into consideration when deciding what to shoot. As you gain data you will know what to do. Sometimes you may just need to give higher carb food before you leave for work.She hasn’t so far..just one time for my husband and it took over an hour for that time. She isn’t much for guys. It was her and my mom for 10 years..and the poor girl has had a lot of changes in the past year. @Suzanne & Darcy
I really don’t understand active cycles and how to read when to give snacks..when to test again… @Suzanne & DarcyIt will. It is very overwhelming at first. It takes experience and gathering data to see how your cat does/knowing her patterns to gain confidence.
How long after giving a LC meal or snack does it reflect in the numbers? Sorry, I’m taking up so much of your time. @Suzanne & DarcyWell then, we will need to take that into consideration when deciding what to shoot. As you gain data you will know what to do. Sometimes you may just need to give higher carb food before you leave for work.
You're referring to last night right @Suzanne & DarcyOk! I thought maybe 100 points in a cycle is a pretty good drop. @tiffmaxee

Usually a teaspoon is enough, but depending upon her hunger you could give more. When you have a situation where she is low and you need to bring her numbers up in a serious way though, you give high carb food in just teaspoons in order to keep her hungry - but that’s a different situation.Ok..are there certain times or things to watch for when giving snacks..and would you consider 2 teaspoons a sufficient amount? @Suzanne & Darcy
Oh ok! Good to know! I’m sleep deprived…are there certain times I should be checking her BS at night that will let me know it’s dropping too much? And to give a snack? Or just give at set times on overnight cycle? @Suzanne & DarcyUsually a teaspoon is enough, but depending upon her hunger you could give more. When you have a situation where she is low and you need to bring her numbers up in a serious way though, you give high carb food in just teaspoons in order to keep her hungry - but that’s a different situation.
During a normal cycle a teaspoon every hour or two for the first part of the cycle can really stabilize them.
@Suzanne & Darcy can you please explain this to Sandy, very strange when I tap on your name when Sandy tagged you in post #35 it comes up SUZ as the member very weirdI really don’t understand active cycles and how to read when to give snacks..when to test again… @Suzanne & Darcy
100 points in an hour would be a steep drop. 100 points over a period of several hours is differentOk! I thought maybe 100 points in a cycle is a pretty good drop. @tiffmaxee
Ok..that makes sense…what makes a cycle “active”?100 points in an hour would be a steep drop. 100 points over a period of several hours is different
We want her to drop, of course, but at a steady pace and hopefully not a big dive in an hour. It is always a good idea to give them a teaspoon or so of low carb food in the early part of their cycles before nadir to stabilize numbers. An active cycle just means that she may be dropping enough that you need to stay awake and/or set alarms to test and intervene with food during the cycle.Oh ok! Good to know! I’m sleep deprived…are there certain times I should be checking her BS at night that will let me know it’s dropping too much? And to give a snack? Or just give at set times on overnight cycle? @Suzanne & Darcy
See below about active cycle. I’m trying to answer.Ok..that makes sense…what makes a cycle “active”?
It’s a good idea to have set snack times for the evening cycle just like in the morning. It depends on when your evening shot time is and when your bed time is. Hopefully you can get a before bed test each night and give a snack at that time.Oh ok! Good to know! I’m sleep deprived…are there certain times I should be checking her BS at night that will let me know it’s dropping too much? And to give a snack? Or just give at set times on overnight cycle? @Suzanne & Darcy
PMPS is 7pm..I usually got to bed at +3 (10:00). So I should be testing around +2 or +3 and give a 1tsp snack (or a little more) if she’s hungry at that time too. @Suzanne & Darcy @Diane Tyler's MomIt’s a good idea to have set snack times for the evening cycle just like in the morning. It depends on when your evening shot time is and when your bed time is. Hopefully you can get a before bed test each night and give a snack at that time.
She sure is! She’s does a great job when explaining..makes it easier to understand! @Diane Tyler's Mom