2/10 Snuggles AMPS 137 +1 158 +2 173 +3 165 +4 151 +6 152 +9 204 PMPS 243 +2 271 +5.5 236 +8.5 234

I would shoot the full dose and feed him every hour till DH is back and you can test. He often nadirs at AMPS and then heads up from there.
 
I would shoot the full dose and feed him every hour till DH is back and you can test. He often nadirs at AMPS and then heads up from there.
Ok..I did shoot and she’s eating. Do you think the drastic drop is from her having a few vomiting episodes or the .25 increase in insulin? She did eat three snacks early this morning..+6.5, +8, & +8.75 and was fine..1tsp of LC wet each time @Bandit's Mom @Suzanne & Darcy @tiffmaxee @Diane Tyler's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Last edited:
Yay! I was able to test Snuggles without my husband. It’s been taking both of us to test her. I went through quite a few strips but I did hourly tests just to get her used to it. I’m not going to torment her anymore for a few hours. Could someone give me advice on why suddenly Snugs BS are in the 100s..any explanation? Kinda threw me for a loop..we had some vomiting issues last night..would that affect todays numbers? We also increased Lantus by .25u on Wednesday. Also, what is the probability that these numbers could suddenly drop and cause a hypo incident? Thank you! @tiffmaxee @Suzanne & Darcy @Diane Tyler's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
If you are following SLGS, you can shoot anything 90 and above as long as you are able to monitor your kitty. Any time you are uncomfortable with a preshot number you can post for support and advice. You can always stall while withholding food for 20 minutes and retest if you like, although with cats on Lantus you frequently will get a very similar number because it does such a good job of keeping cats flat. It looks like your kitty is doing great on Lantus so far.
 
If you are following SLGS, you can shoot anything 90 and above as long as you are able to monitor your kitty. Any time you are uncomfortable with a preshot number you can post for support and advice. You can always stall while withholding food for 20 minutes and retest if you like, although with cats on Lantus you frequently will get a very similar number because it does such a good job of keeping cats flat. It looks like your kitty is doing great on Lantus so far.
I was just asking for future reference. I was worried when she was under 200 and leaving for work. When kitties are in the blue range do you see many hypo incidents? For example, I’m afraid she’s going to have these high drops that I see and if she in lower 100s when I leave and drops 80 points.. I guess that’s my main worry…being gone for hours and she drops into the dangerous numbers. Thanks for the responses! @Suzanne & Darcy
 
I was just asking for future reference. I was worried when she was under 200 and leaving for work. When kitties are in the blue range do you see many hypo incidents? For example, I’m afraid she’s going to have these high drops that I see and if she in lower 100s when I leave and drops 80 points.. I guess that’s my main worry…being gone for hours and she drops into the dangerous numbers. Thanks for the responses! @Suzanne & Darcy


@Suzanne & Darcy
 
One strategy for when you need to be away is to leave food out for her to eat. Depending on her numbers and the number of hours that you will be away, you can adjust the amount of carbs in her snacks. Many people use an automatic feeder for dispensing snacks at important times like +2, +4 etc. is she a good eater?
 
Great job Sandy testing Snuggles yourself! Nice blue numbers today. :bighug::cat:
One strategy for when you need to be away is to leave food out for her to eat. Depending on her numbers and the number of hours that you will be away, you can adjust the amount of carbs in her snacks. Many people use an automatic feeder for dispensing snacks at important times like +2, +4 etc. is she a good eater?
She’s a good eater…when I’m here. She’s eaten once for my husband and she will not eat out of the auto feeder if I’m not here. She’s a stubborn girl! @Suzanne & Darcy
 
She hasn’t so far..just one time for my husband and it took over an hour for that time. She isn’t much for guys. It was her and my mom for 10 years..and the poor girl has had a lot of changes in the past year. @Suzanne & Darcy
Well then, we will need to take that into consideration when deciding what to shoot. As you gain data you will know what to do. Sometimes you may just need to give higher carb food before you leave for work.
 
Well then, we will need to take that into consideration when deciding what to shoot. As you gain data you will know what to do. Sometimes you may just need to give higher carb food before you leave for work.
How long after giving a LC meal or snack does it reflect in the numbers? Sorry, I’m taking up so much of your time. @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Ok..are there certain times or things to watch for when giving snacks..and would you consider 2 teaspoons a sufficient amount? @Suzanne & Darcy
Usually a teaspoon is enough, but depending upon her hunger you could give more. When you have a situation where she is low and you need to bring her numbers up in a serious way though, you give high carb food in just teaspoons in order to keep her hungry - but that’s a different situation.

During a normal cycle a teaspoon every hour or two for the first part of the cycle can really stabilize them.
 
Usually a teaspoon is enough, but depending upon her hunger you could give more. When you have a situation where she is low and you need to bring her numbers up in a serious way though, you give high carb food in just teaspoons in order to keep her hungry - but that’s a different situation.

During a normal cycle a teaspoon every hour or two for the first part of the cycle can really stabilize them.
Oh ok! Good to know! I’m sleep deprived…are there certain times I should be checking her BS at night that will let me know it’s dropping too much? And to give a snack? Or just give at set times on overnight cycle? @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Oh ok! Good to know! I’m sleep deprived…are there certain times I should be checking her BS at night that will let me know it’s dropping too much? And to give a snack? Or just give at set times on overnight cycle? @Suzanne & Darcy
We want her to drop, of course, but at a steady pace and hopefully not a big dive in an hour. It is always a good idea to give them a teaspoon or so of low carb food in the early part of their cycles before nadir to stabilize numbers. An active cycle just means that she may be dropping enough that you need to stay awake and/or set alarms to test and intervene with food during the cycle.
 
Oh ok! Good to know! I’m sleep deprived…are there certain times I should be checking her BS at night that will let me know it’s dropping too much? And to give a snack? Or just give at set times on overnight cycle? @Suzanne & Darcy
It’s a good idea to have set snack times for the evening cycle just like in the morning. It depends on when your evening shot time is and when your bed time is. Hopefully you can get a before bed test each night and give a snack at that time.
 
So specifically, if she were my cat and she dropped 75 or 100 points in a single hour, I would give medium or high carb food. You can always post for advice too if you would like advice in these situations. Put the question mark in your title. You will soon get a feel for how she responds to different carb levels- if she gets a good bump from carbs, I mean. Then you will know what to feed at different times. Take a deep breath. You are really doing a great job so far!
 
It’s a good idea to have set snack times for the evening cycle just like in the morning. It depends on when your evening shot time is and when your bed time is. Hopefully you can get a before bed test each night and give a snack at that time.
PMPS is 7pm..I usually got to bed at +3 (10:00). So I should be testing around +2 or +3 and give a 1tsp snack (or a little more) if she’s hungry at that time too. @Suzanne & Darcy @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Back
Top