Hi everyone. To each one of you I say much thanks. Poncho is resting......I got 9 hrs sleep, got up and did the feeding/fluids and meds routine and now just waiting for the next feeding. I was given appetite stimulant, tubed potassium, another antibiotic for digestive tract, and correct feeding instructions/syringe, and needle placement for fluids. Apparently needle should go in the side, not between the shoulder blades, and now I can feed him easier with a larger syringe with bigger diameter exit hole. The new vet checked his BG late afternoon and it was 177.....last shot was 1 unit @ 5am so at this point no more insulin but check urine for sugar. No ketones in the blood detected He thinks he had pancreatitis and will know if he still has it when test results come back today. What he probably had was transient diabetes from that but since his diagnosis was based on a BG of 379, it deserved further scrutiny to determine if ANY insulin was appropriate. They also should have made sure I was properly instructed in force feeding and given the right syringe and the prescribed food. I'm extremely disappointed in the SPCA clinic and I will try to go to the top there to voice that. They did a lot of good things but dropped the ball on a few crucial things that had a strong bearing on success, then threw in the towel. They actually made his condition worse and he is far from being out of the woods.....it's up to God and me now.....with the new vets guidance. He weighed 10+lbs in the Fall and now weighs 6.6lbs. Two weeks ago 8+ lbs and at time of diagnosis 7+lbs. I will update later. Prayers still needed.....thanks.
Today the new vet got the test results for pancreatitis and he does have a severe case of it. She said if he starts to vomit she'll put him on IV treatment and I think I'll ask for a 3 day pain shot and some cerenia or ondansetron tomorrow. I'm going to get some BG urine strips tonight and she said I' welcome to borrow a cat specific meter since it is essential at this point to be as accurate as possible if there is an issue with BG. She showed me the comparison with the clinic comparison and mine and it was going up to 100 points off their number up or down. I might have bought a defective Relion. Ok....time for feeding. Thanks for hugs and support. chris
Ok....thank you!Christoph,
I'm copying your last update here in your new thread and linking the old one here too.
Poncho's Previous Condo
Christoph's first update:
Christoph's latest update from previous thread:
for review: Sliding scale for when feeding A/D or medium carb food
pre-shot numbers - possible dose
350 to 400 - 1.25 units
300 to 350 - 1.00 unit
250 to 300 - 0.75 units
200 to 250 - 0.50 units
< 200 - 0.25 units.
When you are ready to start reducing the carb content of food, you may need to drop the doses further
I've been wondering if their meter was either defective or the clinic vet had a tech do the test and didn't do it right. They screwed up a few other times.And your meter isn't defective.
It reads +/- 20 % of what a lab would get and reads about 30-40% lower than a pet meter.
See my signature link Glucometer Notes for feline reference numbers using human meters.
for you.Thanks Critter Mom, I'll ask the new vet about both meds. He started drinking a little water tonight. His body sure soaks up the fluids. I'm going to test his BG tomorrow since the next vet appt is Fri. God Bless.Hi Chris,
I'm so pleased that you've got better veterinary support now, but I'm sorry to hear that Poncho has pancreatitis. I'm not sure whether I posted this link for you before, so to be on the safe side here are the IDEXX guidelines for pancreatitis treatment. It's a very comprehensive document and details all of the medications and supportive measures that can help Poncho get better. From my own experience of nursing Saoirse through a bad pancreatitis flare last year, I found that the anti-nausea med (ondansetron) in the early stages wasn't enough to help her keep eating under her own steam on its own. The addition of cyproheptadine (appy stimulant) helped her a great deal. After a while she didn't need the appy stimulant but I still need to give her anti-nausea meds at times. I always make sure I have a supply of ondansetron at home. It has been invaluable in managing Saoirse's pancreatitis symptoms since the flare-up last year and has thankfully stopped potential inappetence in its tracks for her on several occasions.
Sending more prayers for you both, scritches for Poncho, andfor you.

Thanks and good night to you also.Great news that he's drinking a little on his own! God bless you too, Chris. Wishing you both a restful night.![]()
Not since Sunday night. I was planning to ask the vet today if it was ok with the new meds. He's going to need that daily or something similar it seems.Are you still adding some Miralax to his food?
He'll need it. Thanks BJM.A pinch of plain psyllium fiber helps hold moisture in the stool and keeps if soft enogh to pass. Can be done with the Miralax, if needed.
((((((((BIG HUG, CHRIS)))))))
Thanks Elizabeth. Poncho started eating a little bit on his own today. I have to get his numbers from the vet from yesterday but last shot @ 1u yesterday @7pm then this am 7am BG 318, +8 BG 143 next shot @ 6 and she wants the same 1u dose @12 hrs till tomorrow's 2 pm appt. Along with force feeding he's eating around a 5.5 can daily. He's getting more sociable also. Vet didn't say to check BG before 6pm shot but I will and call her if it's normal range. I don't want to give a dose unless I check BG. Meter is alpha check she loaned my.....insisted in it rather than my human specific meter.Chris, here is a hug break:
((((((((BIG HUG, CHRIS)))))))
Plus cuddles/chin scritches (whichever is preferred) to Poncho.
.
I'll relay the glucometer info and show her the website. I've been force feeding A/D (last was 7 am) and he's been grazing on Fancy Feast. I tried the A/D but he's got an aversion to it given the force feeding. I'm going to force feed him the A/D again soon but less since he's eaten 30 ml or more on his own. As long as he's eating around a 5.5 can by the end of the day I'm good.Is he eating low carb food yet or just the A/D?
The more low carb food he eats, the lower the dose of insulin that will be required.
I'm glad she loaned your the AlphaTrak. Do, however, share my signature link Glucometer Notes with her (if she has e-mail, just send he the link) so she can see the feline reference levels when using a human glucometer.
Thanks. I agree on the pain meds. I'm crossing my fingers. Next vet visit is tomorrow.This sounds very positive Chris. I agree I would not give the insulin unless you have a reading first. Well done, keep up the good work. I really think those painkillers are helping him to recover. V
Ok....didn't think of that. Thanks. I noted the Alphatrak2Be sure to indicate which readings are the Alpha Trak vs the human meter on your spreadsheet. If there is a clear separatuin, a blank line with a note in bold red font will let folks know how to interpret the numbers.
Ok.....if she still doesn't want to give the anti nausea med I'll see if the mobile vet will. Thanks.I would keep up with all the supportive meds for now as it is so easy for them to slip back. I certainly would be hesitant to just stop the insulin without ongoing data to indicate it is not needed anymore.
So you want to discuss getting another vit b injection, more pain meds, anti nausea injection, sub q's with the vet. I still feel that if you can get hold of anti nausea medication it will really help poncho.
I'm a bit confused about this scale. Is this the dose difference when comparing Alphatrak and a human meter given the reading? I did a pre shot BG, got a 139 and they said go ahead with a 1unit dose on a 12 hr schedule. Poncho is eating well today/tonight but I'm going to monitor him thru the night and catch up on sleep tomorrow after his vet appt.To discuss with vet: Sliding scale adjusted for AlphaTrak meter (folks, chime in if it should be tweaked further)
glucose reading - dose
538.5 to 615 - 1.25
461.5 to 539 - 1.00
384.6 to 462 - 0.75
307.7 to 385 - 0.50
230.8 to 308 - 0.25
I'm not good with computer stuff, but did post a pic and it stayed up briefly. I don't know how to PM you a pic....assuming that is the right way to get it on the forum.I'm so glad to hear Poncho is eating a bit on his own and that you have a clear dx. Please be sure to stay on the ketone testing....I know you will
Sending many more prayers. And if you want to PM me a picture of Poncho, I'll post it for you since you are busy. We'd all love to see what he looks like. All you have to do in the PM is click on "upload file" and then browse your computer to the picture you want, click on it and it will upload.
I'm going to make a couple edits to his SS to keep it color coded correctly.
eta: don't forget you can go back to his BID dosing sheet if the vet is having you shoot every 12 hours instead of 8. It's easy to move the BID sheet into first position. Just click on the "BID" tab and move it to the left.