2/10 Indy AMPS - 91 Dosing Advice

Jessica & Indy

Member Since 2025
Last Post 2/3

Hi Everyone!

Indy has been doing really well. He has been staying under 200 except for maybe an hour or 2 a day. We decided to increase his dose last night back to 1u because his nadirs weren't where I wanted them to be. (He is living in blue land) But then of course his nadir was only about an hour ago and he is still in the green. It makes me too nervous to shoot a full 1u again. Told hubby to go back to .75u. My anxiety is unhappy and I don't think I can handle TR. We are basically looking for his pancreas to be able to heal, so outside of TR we want him well regulated right?

Indy has had a cough on and off for awhile now, maybe once a day or so. But no other symptoms. Well, he is due for his 6 month senior check up, so taking him in for that and going to have the vet listen to his lungs for me. Going to see if I can get a video of him coughing to be able to show her.

Happy Tuesday everyone.
 
Last Post 2/3

Hi Everyone!

Indy has been doing really well. He has been staying under 200 except for maybe an hour or 2 a day. We decided to increase his dose last night back to 1u because his nadirs weren't where I wanted them to be. (He is living in blue land) But then of course his nadir was only about an hour ago and he is still in the green. It makes me too nervous to shoot a full 1u again. Told hubby to go back to .75u. My anxiety is unhappy and I don't think I can handle TR. We are basically looking for his pancreas to be able to heal, so outside of TR we want him well regulated right?

Indy has had a cough on and off for awhile now, maybe once a day or so. But no other symptoms. Well, he is due for his 6 month senior check up, so taking him in for that and going to have the vet listen to his lungs for me. Going to see if I can get a video of him coughing to be able to show her.

Happy Tuesday everyone.
Hi Jessica! It can be nerve racking when they begin to experience those lower numbers. The thing that has, overtime, helped me to relax a bit with lower numbers is this: food (carbs) is the tool that will bump up their insulin if a dose takes them too low (my job is to monitor and step in with food when numbers drop).

BTW, here is a discussion that gives a breakdown of what phrases like "well regulated" mean in terms of numbers: What is Regulation?.

Numbers below 200 are what are referred to as healing numbers, as this is the range in which the beta cells of the pancreas can heal. Sometimes, holding them in this range for a period of time can lead to the pancreas resuming its fulltime job (remission).

The question I would have is one that someone with more experience will need to weigh in on: by not increasing and allowing him to remain where he is, do you run the risk of glucose toxicity?

I know that the smart folks here will give you some good advice. If you'll edit your title and raise the "?" prefix, you'll likely get more attention to your post/question.

Hope you can find out what's up with that cough.
 
Hi Jessica! It can be nerve racking when they begin to experience those lower numbers. The thing that has, overtime, helped me to relax a bit with lower numbers is this: food (carbs) is the tool that will bump up their insulin if a dose takes them too low (my job is to monitor and step in with food when numbers drop).

BTW, here is a discussion that gives a breakdown of what phrases like "well regulated" mean in terms of numbers: What is Regulation?.

Numbers below 200 are what are referred to as healing numbers, as this is the range in which the beta cells of the pancreas can heal. Sometimes, holding them in this range for a period of time can lead to the pancreas resuming its fulltime job (remission).

The question I would have is one that someone with more experience will need to weigh in on: by not increasing and allowing him to remain where he is, do you run the risk of glucose toxicity?

I know that the smart folks here will give you some good advice. If you'll edit your title and raise the "?" prefix, you'll likely get more attention to your post/question.

Hope you can find out what's up with that cough.
Thank you Mary. On the regulation thread I would think that Indy is currently in the Regulated or Well-regulated category. With SLGS we would be holding the dose. I am mostly confused because last time he was at 1u he ended up in the 40s. So we went back to .75u. He had one day a few days ago where he was in the green for 8 hours and I was so excited that we found the right dose....then we ended up back in the yellow....and then hung out in blue-land ever since. I feel like no matter what I do, it is the wrong thing. I can handle numbers in the 60s just when it gets below 55 the libre alarm goes off.

I'm trying not to worry about the cough too much since otherwise he is doing really well. No wheezing, no open mouth breathing or anything. He has good energy levels (for an old man), eats his food, uses the litter box and it just overall pretty happy.
 
Thank you Mary. On the regulation thread I would think that Indy is currently in the Regulated or Well-regulated category. With SLGS we would be holding the dose. I am mostly confused because last time he was at 1u he ended up in the 40s. So we went back to .75u. He had one day a few days ago where he was in the green for 8 hours and I was so excited that we found the right dose....then we ended up back in the yellow....and then hung out in blue-land ever since. I feel like no matter what I do, it is the wrong thing. I can handle numbers in the 60s just when it gets below 55 the libre alarm goes off.
Indy's numbers have increasingly been coming down--I think you're doing a GREAT job with him!

Because insulin is a hormone (and not a medicine), and because a cat's insulin needs fluctuate (their pancreas works a little; then it doesn't work as much), their need for insulin can fluctuate. Jude is currently on his highest dose. He fell into lower numbers on a dose .25 lower than where he is now last year. The dose that works depends on what their pancreas needs at a given time.
 
A video of the cough is a good idea. Might want to get the CardioPet ProBNP blood test too. It's an early indictor of heart issues. Which is another thing that can cause a cough. Hopefully it's not that and you can rule it out.

People have to decide what dosing method works for their lifestyle and their goal for the cat. If you were following SLGS, his numbers on the 5th would have had you reduce to 0.5 units.

Numbers below 200 are what are referred to as healing numbers
We typically call under 100 the healing numbers. Around 200 (actual number depends on the cat) or below is the renal threshold, where kitty's kidneys have to work extra hard to clear extra sugar out of the blood. It is still a good goal by itself.
 
A video of the cough is a good idea. Might want to get the CardioPet ProBNP blood test too. It's an early indictor of heart issues. Which is another thing that can cause a cough. Hopefully it's not that and you can rule it out.

People have to decide what dosing method works for their lifestyle and their goal for the cat. If you were following SLGS, his numbers on the 5th would have had you reduce to 0.5 units.


We typically call under 100 the healing numbers. Around 200 (actual number depends on the cat) or below is the renal threshold, where kitty's kidneys have to work extra hard to clear extra sugar out of the blood. It is still a good goal by itself.
I guess that is the weird part Wendy. I feel like we can follow a SLGS/TR hybrid. Like TR is great unless he goes under 55. Can we follow that kind of hybrid?
 
Understood. Thank you for the link. I will talk to hubby and discuss what we want to do.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top