2/1 Jan and Buddy PMPS 449

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan and Buddy

Member Since 2009
Buddy is at 129, I have never shot that low, he is at 7.0L I won't be here to moitor. Have to leave for work.
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy Should I shoot Monique??

You still have 1/2 hour before AMPS right? can you test again and see if he is rising (no food!!!!) If he is rising up good I would shoot, yesterday he went up the whole day, and last night I don't think he went very low because he's not bouncing. What you have is a big overlap built up. If he doesn't rise much I think you need to 1/2 the dose and let the shed empty out a bit. Test again and see where he's going.
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy Should I shoot Monique??

Didn't put in SS yet from last night
+7 215
+10 176
AMPS 126

So he is still going down slowly
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy Should I shoot Monique??

Ah, when will you be home to check? He is surfing right now. Question is how big is this overlap we have.......When the overlap wears off he is going to shoot up and we want to have insulin in there ready to work (Lantus has an onset lag of 2-3 hours). Oje, If you were going to be home I would say wait 1/2 hour and if if surfing or rising shoot, but..........Skipping is not an option we need to put something in there. How much time do you have before you have to leave?
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126

wow jan :o Buddy is liking 7 units...

I agree with Monique that you need to put something in the shed, a BCS dose, but you have to be comfortable with how much that is.

ETA: how long before you have to leave and is your DH home today?
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126

Yes DH is home but doesn't test or shoot
have to leave in 1 hour need to get ready.
I don't have a clue what BCS to give.!!!!!

Help!! LOL
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126

Yea that term BCS dose is really relative isn't it :? For some that's 1/2 for others a the difference between fat and skinny. We know this 7U is starting to look like Buddy's dose, he has gone green on it without R and now he's even surfing. Future changes are perhaps going to be smaller scale, small increases to get more greens and lower the curve overall. You have worked up to this dose safely so we know it's ok. What we have now is the result of a large full shed and the overlap of Lantus (it lasts longer than 12 hours) I wouldn't shoot less than 1/2, or the shed will be flat. If you are getting into being more than 15 minutes late with shot, that's also a decreased dose. What to do.....
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126

Well if a human being with 2 eyes and the ability to see if something is not right, is better than nothing. Remeber the WCR is just as important as the numbers so I would think if Buddy got into any obvious trouble DH would be able to act accordingly (scream, jump up and down, call Jan at work.... :-D ) Looking at the SS you have shot some low 200's and he usually rises through till +6 or so. Often the larger the dose the later the nadir, looks like Buddy maybe (Spooky was, even though he was in no way close to high dose) he had his nadir near +12.
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126

Coming up on 30 min late with shot,
****, he's down to 107, and I already fed breakfast, where is the food spike?? Should I give him some HC????????
I really don't know what to do!!!!!!
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126 +12.5 107

He is still surfing, if you fed LC then you won't get an immediate spike as long as there is insulin still working, he has a big shed. 30 min. late means he is already working on his shed, his shed is 7U big now, so we need a dose that will keep the shed mostly intact. If DH can keep an eye on him and feed him little snacks of HC then I would shoot half 3.5U and just keep him well fed. How long before you are home again?
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126 +12.5 107

Ok I talked with someone and we think Buddy's shed is big enough to carry him through for a bit. Don't want to get to far off schedule, so maybe you could give just 1U and feed him HC to bring him up to a higher number before the insulin starts working. Then when you get home if he is much higher again you can shoot on time or a little earlier to help save the shed.
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126 +12.5 107

Monique & Spooky said:
Ok I talked with someone and we think Buddy's shed is big enough to carry him through for a bit. Don't want to get to far off schedule, so maybe you could give just 1U and feed him HC to bring him up to a higher number before the insulin starts working. Then when you get home if he is much higher again you can shoot on time or a little earlier to help save the shed.

I agree with Monique. 1u should be enough to keep something in his shed to keep it from totally emptying. To bad he didn't do this on a day when you would be home (((Jan))) but remember the lower numbers are what we want, what we've been working for and what will squish the IAA's.
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126 +1 117

OK gave 1 unit which was 1 hour late fed HC he came up to 117, so I guess that means he's climbing!!

OK now so what time do I shoot his PM if the number is good??? I get home in enough time to check the number about 1 hour before PMPS

Hope someone is around at PM to helpme if he is off !!
I swear I'm never going to understand how to read numbers and know when to do what!!! :sad: :roll:
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126 +1 117

Sounds ok. I hope his PM number is good (but I fear it may not be so nice. nailbite_smile ) So 11 hours from now is PMPS, that's 2AM for me so I probably won't be around (I'm really dead after 8PM) If, if, if....he has a nice day and is still surfing then we have to wonder if the antibodies are still around and that would mean he got full use of the small dose and would be like any other diabetic kitty. I don't have that much hope though :roll: I think he is going to be back in his usual numbers by evening and his shed is going to a little comprimised. At least most of the overlap will be gone and his nadir will move back towards the middle of the cycle, but it will take some time for the momentum to be built back up. I hope it won't be a big setback. You have BK's SS look it over and see if Sandi had things like this occuring and what did she do? That is the best learning tool, someone who has been down that path and documented it.

Have a good day. Hope things are at least normal when you come home. Ah normal is also a relative term isn't it :-D
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126 +1 117

Duh.....You shot 1 hour late this morning so your PM shot should be 12 hours after that. You will be home 1 hour before PMPS (OK; THE OLD pmps OTR THE NEW ONE 1 HOUR LATER?) Damn Caps! If when you get home he is up there in the high pinks/reds then I would shoot at your normal time, which would be 1 hour before you SHOULD be shooting now) but since this was a really BCS dose combined with being late you could shoot earlier and save a little damage to the shed. If he is surfing or much lower when you come home then.......I'm gonna fall off my chair, and will be speachless. :o

I'm glad you have changed the subject line, Someone wanted to know what I had done so terrible that you wanted to shoot me this morning :lol:

It read: 2/1 Jan and Buddy AMPS Should I shoot Monique??? Yikes! Please don't shoot me................. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126 +1 117

Monique,
Sorry!!!! That is funny :lol: :lol: I was half asleep and in a panic, didn't even realize what I wrote!!!!!!!
I wouldn't even consider shooting you!!!!

Did you get my PM from yesterday??????

Have a good day!!

THANK YOU BOTH (Heather to) for all your help this am, I wish I didn't panic so much!!! :roll: :roll:
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126 +1 117

Yes I did and I will answer when I find a few minutes.....Just got off the telephone with a friend who has a sick dog (the dog has the same disease as me!) and is on cortisone.

Don't worry we were panicing too, just that I function better when I have stress, actually it's the only thing that gets me motivated :? I Hope this means the antibodies are backing off and he is getting more use out of the insulin. Hopefully he is not sky high later. If he is red or black you may have to TOR this cycle to get him back down to something reasonable that the Lantus can work off from. Let's hope not...hopefully somebody from HD will be around this evening that has some experience with big gulpers and R. My guy never went abouve 2U on Levemir (2.5U on Caninsulin, which no results :roll: ) but the concept is simular. A freind of mine takes the same medicine as I do but just half as much, but it works well for both of us she would be dead if she took my dose (and I weigh less than her) but our bodies process it differently so the high dose is right for me (I have a stubborn liver).

In case you were wondering or anyone, I have SLE (systemic lupus erythematosus) an autoimmune disease charaterized by the production of many antibodies. That is why I find antibody stuff so interesting.
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126 +1 117

I hope he isn't high to, I might go home at lunch and check him, will see. I put a post in Hi Dose for some eyes at PM.

I forgot to mention our movie was on yesterday here, but by the time I turned it on the quote we love had already been said!! :lol: :lol:

What time is it in Clifornia when you get up in the morning???????
Thanks Jan
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy +11.5 129 Amps 126 +1 117

Oh I have to calculate that one.... Cali is PST which is GMT-8 and I am on CET which is GMT+1

In other words when it is 12PM (we write 1200) in London England (GMT or UTC) it is 8 hours earlier in Pacific time so 0400. At 1200 GMT it is 1 hour later here so 1300 (1PM) That makes you and I, 9 hours apart (sun rises in the east so I see the daylight first :-D ) I get up at 5:30 in the morning and have coffee feed my cats, my daughter gets up at 6:15 I feed her then send her off to school at 7:10 Then I smoke a cigrette in the freezing cold (don't smoke in the house) turn the computer on and check weather first...... So when I get up at 0530 it is 9 hours earlier in California so 2030 (8:30PM).

As I am typing this it is almost 1830 (6:30 PM) on my side of the world.

Do you wanna know the difference in our altitude too? :mrgreen: I live in the Alps about 900 meters above sea level.

To find me exactly 47°34′0″N 10°42′0″E :-D
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy PMPS Help with dose

Jan please add your latest BG test to ur subject line -

are u due to shoot now?
 
Re: 2/1 Jan and Buddy PMPS Help with dose

what's your question?

I think it's ok to shoot early to make up some time, if that's the question. He's 400 at +11 so you can shoot 1/2 hour early.
 
Already shot the 7.0L.
Your probably right but I think I'm going to see what just the Lantus does.
Thanks alot
Jan
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top