2/1 George AMPS 144, PMPS 71

Hshray

Member Since 2021
Yesterday

Well, not a great start. I was hoping to hold this dose until his new insulin came in though to see if that helps since we’re approaching five months with this bottle. It’s just taking so long to ship this time.
 
Yesterday

Well, not a great start. I was hoping to hold this dose until his new insulin came in though to see if that helps since we’re approaching five months with this bottle. It’s just taking so long to ship this time.
Do you order from Mark's? One of my orders just got lost in processing once and I had to call to get it straightened out. Miscommunication in the pharmacy so ball got dropped
 
Did you order another vial? That’s about how long mine lasted so I switched to pens and used to the last drop.
 
Do you order from Mark's? One of my orders just got lost in processing once and I had to call to get it straightened out. Miscommunication in the pharmacy so ball got dropped
Yep I do! I will try give them a call today to see if everything is on track.
 
Did you order another vial? That’s about how long mine lasted so I switched to pens and used to the last drop.
I did order another vial. I know the pens are recommended, and I had asked my vet about them originally, but she didn’t want to prescribe them because she said they were only for people. I assume she thought I was going to try to use it as a pen even though I know people on here use them just like the vials. I didn’t want to push it at the time because it was the second time she was allowing me to switch insulin without having to bring George in so I figured it was better to just get whatever type of Lantus I could at that point. I’ll see if I can switch to the pens the next time I refill though.
 
I did order another vial. I know the pens are recommended, and I had asked my vet about them originally, but she didn’t want to prescribe them because she said they were only for people. I assume she thought I was going to try to use it as a pen even though I know people on here use them just like the vials. I didn’t want to push it at the time because it was the second time she was allowing me to switch insulin without having to bring George in so I figured it was better to just get whatever type of Lantus I could at that point. I’ll see if I can switch to the pens the next time I refill though.
When you call you might just be able to ask them. My vet prescribed vial but they let me order pens
 
Ok I got some info. Marks said that Canada Post had to suspend operations in their area due to a bad snowstorm for a couple of weeks, creating a large delay. They said my order is currently being filled and should be going out within the next couple of days. I asked about the pens, and they sounded open to it but suggested that I stick with the vial this time since it was already in process and said that trying to switch now would start us from square one and would be even further delayed (plus they had already charged me for the vial last week). The good thing is that I do have insulin left, I’m just not sure how effective it is at the moment.
 
Before shipping it looks like it’s about $111 for the vial (10 ml) and $165 for five pens (15 ml total).
Nice. Way better than US prices. I paid $320 for our first vial at Costco. I could Express mail you a vial today if you want? I’m only 6 hours away. It would be less than $20.
But I think you’re unnecessarily worried about the efficacy of your Lantus ;) I’m sure it’s fine. Plus, if it looks like he needs an increase, better to do it with the old supply, right?
 
Nice. Way better than US prices. I paid $320 for our first vial at Costco. I could Express mail you a vial today if you want? I’m only 6 hours away. It would be less than $20.
But I think you’re unnecessarily worried about the efficacy of your Lantus ;) I’m sure it’s fine. Plus, if it looks like he needs an increase, better to do it with the old supply, right?
That is SO nice of you to offer! We should be good just waiting for it to come in though. I don’t think it went bad all of a sudden or anything, I just kind of think its efficacy my be wearing off. His numbers were pretty much the same at 0.5 as they are at 0.75 so it seems like it might not be doing too much. That’s the only reason I don’t really want to increase until we have a chance to see how the new vial works though since it should be more potent. Where do you get your insulin now?
 
That is SO nice of you to offer! We should be good just waiting for it to come in though. I don’t think it went bad all of a sudden or anything, I just kind of think its efficacy my be wearing off. His numbers were pretty much the same at 0.5 as they are at 0.75 so it seems like it might not be doing too much. That’s the only reason I don’t really want to increase until we have a chance to see how the new vial works though since it should be more potent. Where do you get your insulin now?

It very well could be less effective. Yeah, that makes sense, I get it.

I got a 5pk from Ashfur for free, just cost $60 or so to overnight it from Oregon. I’d be happy to put it forward to a kitty in need :)
Just started a new one yesterday, down to 2 unopened so should be good for 3.5 months X 2 at this rate. Not looking forward to fighting the vet for a pen script once it runs out heh.
 
Today ended up looking pretty similar to 1/28 where he started high (for him) and then ended quite a bit lower.
 
Back
Top