2/03 Maggie/AMPS - Not yet - question on spreadsheet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hi everyone,
Well, I started a spreadsheet but am having problems, and I think it is my Windows Vista. I opened a Google account and followed instructions. So here is what happens. When I go to my spreadsheet to update or check, I cannot get back to the Lantus Forum by backing up. I actually have to click off my Internet Explorer and then click back on and go up to my Favorites and click on the link for the Forum. It's a big headache. Any ideas???

Maggie's numbers are high, but the Vet just changed her to 1 unit on Monday. She was on 1.5, and her numbers got really low. She is newly diagnosed only Since January 5. In the beginning he started her on 2 units, but once I learned how to hometest, I saw her numbers getting really low. He has changed her dosage several times. BTW, why do Vets not want us to hometest? I wouldn't mind taking her in every week, but she gets so stressed. Last time I took her her BG was 406. I had a different Vet other than regular and Vet admitted it was stress.
 
Hi Maggie, I think this is my first visit to your condo so I'll go ahead and say welcome!

I have Windows Vista and use Internet Explorer as well. What I do is open the spreadsheet and then open the FDMB in a new tab....that way I can switch back and forth all day long. I actually have usually 5 tabs open, sometimes more. When you visit someone elses' condo and want to see THEIR spreadsheet, right-click on the link and then open it in a new tab so you don't lose your place on this board.

I hope that helps with the computer part of the problem.

As for the highs and lows of your readings, I would guess that the reason is that you are doing what we call "dose hopping" and that just plain doesn't work. In addition, you are responding to high numbers that are probably just rebound from the lower numbers. You need to read stickies here (at the top of the list marked with stars) and familiarize yourself with the protocol if you haven't already done so. We start with a dose, say 1 unit, and keep that dose for 3-5 days, while recording frequent BG readings. The dosage is then increased or decreased from there....with the help of this board if you will accept it. Personally, I would not rely on my vet to advise me on any aspect of treatment of feline diabetes...you ask "why do Vets not want us to hometest", I'll be nice and say it's because they think we will mess it up or not know what to do. Just the fact that your vet has changed doses willy-nilly shows that he/she is not up on the latest treatment.

When you get your spreadsheet up, maybe change your post heading to something like Dose Help or Eyes Please and someone can help you get started on a good dose. Good luck and hope to read your daily condo here! drinking11
 
I think the problem is with Google and not Vista since I have the same problem and use XP and I use Firefox, not IE. I'd suggest opening a separate tab for your SS so you can go back and forth if you want to. BTW, you need to set your access permissions to "Share" - I can't open your SS.

There are any number of reasons that some vets tell us to not test. The cynical reason is that they make more money by having you bring your cat in and their doing the testing or running fructosamine levels. They may think we don't know what we're doing, that their meters are more accurate, we'll be stressing our cats out, or the most outrageous comment was that we have Munchausen by proxy. All that kind of "advice" says to me is that the vet isn't current with the FD literature. My vet indicated that the majority of the FD cat companions either don't want to or are afraid to test. I suspect my vet got tired of banging her head against a wall.

I don't know if you've had a chance to look at the dosing protocol we use. When we make dose reductions, it's in the amount of 0.25u not 0.5. By making dose changes in small increments, you don't run the risk of missing the optimal Lantus dose for your cat.
 
Hi,
Thank you; that helps and makes sense. I'll just click on it and place it on the bottom of my screen. I have to tell you that your Morris looks like my Siamese mix 16 year old kitty that crossed the RB. My heart just sank. My RB kitty was a Flamepoint Siamese mix, and he had the most beautiful blue eyes, I still miss him terribly.

Okay, back to dose hopping and Maggie. I did notice on some of the spreadsheeets the dose changing, but I thought that was after your cats had first been
stabilized. Yes, since January 7, she has had her dose changed several times in a months' time. Yes, I will be back asking for help. So that explains why she is so high; poor Maggie,
 
Sienne,
My syringe is in units. Are there different syringes listing quarter units? Can you imagine what can happen to a cat if owner does not test? I know I asked this question before, but are there Vets specialized in diabetes, or would it be an Internal Medicine Vet? Usually it takes a referral to see a specialist though.
 
We can't see your spreadsheet. Can you fix the settings on your Google SS so it is shared?

They don't make syringes with quarter unit markings. But you can get syringes with Half-unit markings, which is helpful. Some people find them at Walmart and some have to order them. I ordered my half-unit syringes from Hocks. There is a link at the top of the page.

I used 3/10ml, 5/16" length of needle (short), 31 gauge (ultra-fine), With half unit markings.

Edit to add: I think a vet that specializes in diabetes would be very rare... sadly. Most vets don't get much training in diabetes. My vet was not up on it either, but was willing to research at my request. Also she said none of her other pet owners were interested in home-testing, she was happy to support me in doing so.
 
I do not have Excel either. Could that be the problem with my SS? I just tried minimizing SS on bottom of page, but program changed, and I had sign off and then sign back on to the forum. I'll get it worked out -- I am not that savy on Windows Vista yet. I don't even have a digital camera yet to post pic. I bought one but had to return because of malfunction. I just went bavk and changed to share SS. Hope it worked!
 
Yes, that worked, I can see your SS. What I do it RIGHT click your link and then choose "Open link in new tab." Then your SS is on a tab at top of your browser... Internet Explorer? or Firefox?
And you don't have to leave this forum and sign in again. You just click on the other tab, back and forth.

Have your tried that?
 
Hi and welcome!

For whatever reason, Google docs "grabs" onto your focus and is greedy about releasing it. I often have to click the back arrow quickly a couple of times if I have made an error and opened someone ele's ss in the same tab.

Do you know how to use tabs? Simply hold down Ctrl and press T and you will open a new tab or space in your browser. You then do not have to minimize anything at all! You can go back and forth between your open sites just by clicking on the tab that you want (the tab looks a little like the tab portion of a manila file folder that sticks out at top).

I have a guess about vets and testing. I think vets face people every day who are terrified by a diagnosis of a serious condition such as diabetes and they feel they are winning the battle if they just get the client to treat. Asking them to test, they fear, might overwhelm them to the point that they give up. Just a thought, but there are a lot of different kinds of people out there!
 
Great, I can see your spreadsheet! I'm afraid I called you Maggie...can you tell us your name??? I think you're on the right track now, starting at 1.0....just keep that dose and keep testing. dancing_cat

I noticed that you tested on both days at +6 from the AMPS...you might want to change the time each day to try and determine where the nadir is for Maggie since ECID (Every Cat Is Different). Morris' nadir is between +8 and +9 usually and some here have +2 nadirs and even +11. By getting random spot checks you'll be able to better determine when the nadir is and then concentrate your testing in that range. cat_pet_icon

I now it's tough to get them to sit still for poking at the beginning but most of us find that eventually the kitty will come and tell us when it is time, especially if you give them a low carb treat with each test. haha_smiley
 
Your SS opens! Thanks.

There are vets who specialize in diabetes. Usually you would find a veterinary endocrinologist at a vet school, though. However, the endocrinologist may not be a specialist in feline diabetes - s/he may specialize in other endocrine diseases or diabetes in general. And who knows if they actually have a clinical practice or only do research.

I honestly don't envy vets. They have to know all of the diseases, common and uncommon, in a lot of different species. I can't imagine how many different kinds of animals show up in most vets' offices -- cats, dogs, turtles, snakes, rabbits, etc. I feel very fortunate that I found a practice that specializes in cats only. And even with that, there are times when I've had questions and my vet has had to research and/or I have done the research.
 
Oh my gosh, you guys are great with everyone helping me. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Oh, my name is Ann, and I will need to go to my profile and edit the name. I see you all have your name and the pet. Maggie is 11. I need to get ready and do some things, but I think I understand now about opening a tab. I will be back and forth thru the day. Yes, Vets must be afraid that we will mess up or eventually learn more than they know. It must be hard, as you said, they can't know everything, just as it takes doctors specialized in rheumatology, internal medicine, etc.

Is it okay to move up the time of her first insulin shot a half hour before the normal time I've been doing it? I have early morning appts. next week. I've been doing her at 8:30 am but would eventually like to get it moved up to 7 am and earlier? Her BG at 6:45 am PT was 363.
 
Sure you can adjust your shooting schedule. We like to recommend that you change the time per cycle by 15 minutes... for a total change each day of 30 minutes. OR you could shoot 30 minutes early just once a day to get back to a schedule that works better for you.

So tonight if you shot 30 minutes early, you would shoot again 12 hours later the next morning. Don't do 30 minutes early for 2 cycles right in a row. But you can do it for the evening one. Again, just a 30 minute change per day. Either in two fifteen minute adjustments or one 30 minute adjustment. OK?
 
Okay, yes, thanks and I understand -- one time to adjust 30 minutes. I will adjust her shot tonight by bumping up 30 minutes but then give insulin 12 hours later.
 
There are few vets in Toronto that specialize in Diabetes. My vet does, that said I am the only client whos gotten their cat into remission and the vet herself has a diabetic cat. So it really in the long run doesnt matter, as long as they tell you to treat and if they tell you to test, consider it a great bonus!

You can get the needles in Shoppers or Pharma Plus, I have a few (2 bags) of .50 unit needles left if you want them drop me a PM.
 
Re: Toronto, I totally thought you were the other Maggie, hence my Toronto related answer! LOL! Sorry. Hope you find them, it's much easier to find the .50 units in the US.
 
I think you will find what you need under the User Control Panel, click on the profile tab, and then choose edit account settings.

It's a lot to learn, you are doing great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top