Helen + Noogi
Active Member
Yesterday's post
Hello!
Once again, I'm so surprised at what I'm seeing with Noogi. Would love some other member to have a look at his sheet and confirm that I am doing the right thing.
I reduced his dose to 1u from yesterday pm. At 10am (+4) this morning he had another low reading. As I had to go out and leave him for a few hours I gave him a good helping of high carb gravy food to sustain him to nadir and beyond. Very surprised to see him at only 112 when I got back (+9). Previously when I have given high carb foods for a hypo (or near-hypo like this) his numbers have shot right up!
His pre-shot number is only 104 now, so I am skipping the evening shot again. And reducing his dose to 0.75 from tomorrow morning.
Is it normal for a cat's need for insulin to drop so quickly?
Is this a sign that he might head into remission? I really hadn't thought that was an option for him.
We'll see what this week brings. The most important thing is that he is well and happy, which he is. As I type he is walking across the keyboard and purring!
Hello!
Once again, I'm so surprised at what I'm seeing with Noogi. Would love some other member to have a look at his sheet and confirm that I am doing the right thing.
I reduced his dose to 1u from yesterday pm. At 10am (+4) this morning he had another low reading. As I had to go out and leave him for a few hours I gave him a good helping of high carb gravy food to sustain him to nadir and beyond. Very surprised to see him at only 112 when I got back (+9). Previously when I have given high carb foods for a hypo (or near-hypo like this) his numbers have shot right up!
His pre-shot number is only 104 now, so I am skipping the evening shot again. And reducing his dose to 0.75 from tomorrow morning.
Is it normal for a cat's need for insulin to drop so quickly?
Is this a sign that he might head into remission? I really hadn't thought that was an option for him.
We'll see what this week brings. The most important thing is that he is well and happy, which he is. As I type he is walking across the keyboard and purring!