? 2/02 Noogi - AMPS 151, +4 59, +9 112, PMBG 104 - down we go again?

Helen + Noogi

Active Member
Yesterday's post

Hello!

Once again, I'm so surprised at what I'm seeing with Noogi. Would love some other member to have a look at his sheet and confirm that I am doing the right thing.

I reduced his dose to 1u from yesterday pm. At 10am (+4) this morning he had another low reading. As I had to go out and leave him for a few hours I gave him a good helping of high carb gravy food to sustain him to nadir and beyond. Very surprised to see him at only 112 when I got back (+9). Previously when I have given high carb foods for a hypo (or near-hypo like this) his numbers have shot right up!

His pre-shot number is only 104 now, so I am skipping the evening shot again. And reducing his dose to 0.75 from tomorrow morning.

Is it normal for a cat's need for insulin to drop so quickly?
Is this a sign that he might head into remission? I really hadn't thought that was an option for him.

We'll see what this week brings. The most important thing is that he is well and happy, which he is. As I type he is walking across the keyboard and purring!
 
His numbers are still influenced by the higher depot, but he looks great!
His needs in insulin can drop because of a number a reasons, his food is low carb now, he is getting more regulated and his pancreas is "relearning" how to work.
You are doing a great job with him.
Have a good day!
 
Yesterday's post

Hello!

Once again, I'm so surprised at what I'm seeing with Noogi. Would love some other member to have a look at his sheet and confirm that I am doing the right thing.

I reduced his dose to 1u from yesterday pm. At 10am (+4) this morning he had another low reading. As I had to go out and leave him for a few hours I gave him a good helping of high carb gravy food to sustain him to nadir and beyond. Very surprised to see him at only 112 when I got back (+9). Previously when I have given high carb foods for a hypo (or near-hypo like this) his numbers have shot right up!

His pre-shot number is only 104 now, so I am skipping the evening shot again. And reducing his dose to 0.75 from tomorrow morning.

Is it normal for a cat's need for insulin to drop so quickly?
Is this a sign that he might head into remission? I really hadn't thought that was an option for him.

We'll see what this week brings. The most important thing is that he is well and happy, which he is. As I type he is walking across the keyboard and purring!
Congratulations on the reduction Helen and Noogi. :bighug::cat::bighug:
So glad he’s feeling so well
 
Back
Top