Hi Dessi, welcome!
Great job on the spreadsheet, don’t forget to also setup your signature so everyone can see all Boots details and the live spreadsheet link. See this thread: 'New? How You Can Help Us Help You!'
Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
There is a lot of information to learn and digest about feline diabetes, but you’re in the right place!
Also awesome job on the testing and keep up the consistency if you can. Are you manually testing with an ear poke and a meter or using a libre?
Keep up with the testing for the next few days and you will hopefully start to see some patterns emerging (or not), then you can start making decisions about dosing & diet changes etc. I’ve put a few things below that really helped me once I figured them out with Kitty:
Most important test numbers are AM and PM before insulin. Second most important is the nadir, which is the lowest point the insulin takes Boots’ Blood Glucose before it begins to rise again. You will slowly start to see trends as Boots’ adjusts to insulin doses, and understanding these trends will help you regulate Boots.
I can see you’re using Glargine, so have a look at the Lantus/Glargine forum and read through all the pinned/sticky threads there, as this will explain everything about picking your dosing method, the insulin depot etc.
Essentially, a cat without diabetes would be in the ranges of 50-80 (I think!). The aim of the game is to adjust Boots insulin dosage to somewhere where the blood glucose range is close to normal ranges.
From the numbers in Boots spreadsheet above, you can see that the .5 units brought Boots down a few points to a nadir of 201 at +5, and then began to rise again before the PMPS.
If you are following the Start Low Go Slow protocol, you would hold Boots dose at .5 units for a few days to see if you need to increase or decrease the dose. You would increase if his nadir stays around the 200, or decrease if it dropped below 90. Dosage increases are recommended in .25s
Lots of info so hopefully I haven’t overwhelmed you!