1st day on Levimer Simba pmps 582!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Theresa and Simba (GA)

Member Since 2010
8:30am - amps 532 (light humilin dose last night 1unit to phase it out.) Gave 1U Levemir.
+ 7 = 423
pmps 582

he is tough to test and gets worked up but we got 3 done.
He received 1unit Levemir this a.m., ate 3 servings of food so far, behavior, calm all day. Water consumption average.
Started dose low at 1 unit in a 3/10 cc 30 gauge needle 8mm length. Is one unit enough with this needle? I posted here because the board is busier. Am keeping track of #'s and will start my new spread sheet asap. I am thinking to continue with the 1 unit a few more days and watch results.?

Simba diagnosed 3-09
Vetsulin 1 year - finished Monday, last dosing was at 5U, had Vet curve Wed., high numbers on 2 units Humilin to start, started going lower later afternoon @ +7 285, took Humilin samples tues and wed. until we consulted and switched to Levemir starting today. Thanks for your interest. I will only dose 1 unit tonight until I get some feed back for our dosing tomorrow.
 
Glad you decided to join us. Lantus Land (LL) is indeed a busy place!

You are using a U100 needle, correct?

1.0u will seem like a tiny dose. Given that Simba was on 5.0u of Vetsulin, it may be that we will be able to move him up the dosing protocol quickly or rethink his starting dose. I would encourage you to take a look at the dosing protocol that we use. If you notice, the protocol states:
In many cases, the starting dose of Lantus or Levemir has been 0.25 IU per kg of the cat's ideal weight and is always dosed BID (two times a day, 12 hours apart). If the cat received another kind of insulin previously, the starting dose should be raised or lowered by taking this information into account.
It will take approximately 5 days to establish a depot, or shed that's described in the sticky note that I linked.

The notes at the top of the board contain a great deal of information. There's information about dosing, how to do a curve, Lantus/Lev storage and handling, links to the slang used here, etc.

Again, welcome. Please visit our condos (our threads -- once condo, per cat, per day) and look at our spreadsheets. Most of all, ask quesitons.
 
I don't think I've said welcome yet, so Welcome to LL!

Your last dose of Vetsulin was 5 units, how were his numbers on that dose? And how long had he been at 5 units? I'm thinking 1 unit might be too low a starting dose if he was doing ok for a while on 5u of Vetsulin.
 
Thank you, I did read all the stickies at the top of the page. Very helpful and was why I thought 1 unit ( yes U100) would be the best place to start. his behavior is calm. I thought it would be best to start low with the new insulin. The vet had recommended 2 units and I imagine we will end up at that. Simba was getting 5 units Vetsulin for about the last 3-4 months and his curves would be amps 3-400's nadir 70-150, pmps 350 - 400's. numbers never really changed much. up , straight down and up again. He eats on demand. Gluten free wet foods. He has never shown ketones and urine glucose is usually .5. He certainly could use a smooth ride for a change.
 
Hello,

I just wanted to stop by and visit your Condo.
People have already given you tonnes of information and I don't really want to add too much so you don't totally overload on your 2nd day.

You will require patience with Levemir.... but don't worry, we'll be here to remind you!
See u around.
 
Thanks ! I had to agree, 1 unit didn't do anything for him. 1.5 is better and like I said, I imagine, we will be at the Vet recommended dose of 2 eventually. He is doing a bit better today. Sorry, I seriously slacked when the board changed over, I didn't get set up again and neglected our spreadsheet. Bad Mom! He was pretty much the same numbers on Vetsulin and when they would rise, we'd go get the fructosomene test. I find that is a much better value than a vet curve. Test results usually indicated a need for increasing insulin even if just by a little. I am sure the Levemir will be much better, just for the smoother curves.

http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... utput=html
 
I'm glad you increased the dose. You should hold this for a few more cycles. I'd also encourage you to get PM spot checks otherwise, you are missing half of your data.

from the Lantus/Levemir Tight Regulation Protocol said:
The cat should be monitored closely on the first 3 days on Lantus/Levemir: do curves between the AM and PM-doses, e.g. AM pre-shot, +3 hours, +6 hours, +9 hours, PM pre-shot. Generally the starting dose is kept for 3 days...Measuring curves regularly is important, as well as measuring all pre-shots and taking random spot checks.
 
I will start pm testing after the weekend, I work until the wee hours, he is usually sleeping soundly with my daughter by then so I leave him alone. I think that we will find his numbers are a little lower at night because that is when he is the most relaxed. I do try at other times during the day, but we are not always successful. We have to warm up and gently rub and squeeze his toe, get a quick prick, and get the sample. he gives us one chance or he gets cat(2)_steam ! I also get a UG sample from his first morning pee every day, which also helps us to see how things went overnight. Yesterday, it was 1000, today 500. that is one step down from 1000. Ideally, 250 would be nice. He has seldom been at 250 even with the Vetsulin. He has never had ketones. Thank you for the info! Ps the link above to spreadsheet should be working now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top