Voula
Member Since 2014
Hi everyone. My Lucy is doing really well at the moment despite skipped doses. I have skipped doses due to some medical issues I am having which have caused me to not be home at dose times. The other night I could have dosed a high green number but we were running out of test strips so I skipped the dose plus I had to leave the house early for an appointment which meant I wouldn't be home at AMPS. In coming weeks I have more tests and surgery so we may have to skip some doses again. My friend will stay with Lucy when I am in hospital and at appointments and if I have to stay overnight the vet will come and give Lucy insulin if she can do a blood glucose test. Lucy can be very feisty with other people and my friend can't do glucose tests and I don't want her to give Lucy insulin without doing a glucose test first. But hopefully I will be home the same day like last time and I will able to give Lucy her insulin like I did last time when we missed no doses. I am extra anxious at the moment because of a possible additional health issue to my Crohn's disease and because I sense that Lucy is heading for another dose reduction if I had dosed consistently so I am quite anxious dosing at lower numbers in case Lucy's glucose drops too low while I am out. I have been wondering if maybe I should reduce the dose for a while because there are times she has green numbers like 2.8/50 at AMPS and I won't give insulin at that number so this means I am not dosing as consistently as I should be doing. Today Lucy's AMPS is 3.6/65 but I want this to rise a bit as it is a falling green number and I have to go to an appointment later on. I feel quite overwhelmed at the moment at having to have extra tests to clarify a possible issue along with my upcoming surgery but I also feel awful that this is affecting Lucy's insulin doses. So I am considered lowering the dose for a few days to see what happens but I don't know if I should do that or stick to the dose and accept we will miss a couple of doses if need be. Thank you for reading my post.
Last edited:

