18/3/15 Lucy AMPS 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Voula

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone. My Lucy is doing really well at the moment despite skipped doses. I have skipped doses due to some medical issues I am having which have caused me to not be home at dose times. The other night I could have dosed a high green number but we were running out of test strips so I skipped the dose plus I had to leave the house early for an appointment which meant I wouldn't be home at AMPS. In coming weeks I have more tests and surgery so we may have to skip some doses again. My friend will stay with Lucy when I am in hospital and at appointments and if I have to stay overnight the vet will come and give Lucy insulin if she can do a blood glucose test. Lucy can be very feisty with other people and my friend can't do glucose tests and I don't want her to give Lucy insulin without doing a glucose test first. But hopefully I will be home the same day like last time and I will able to give Lucy her insulin like I did last time when we missed no doses. I am extra anxious at the moment because of a possible additional health issue to my Crohn's disease and because I sense that Lucy is heading for another dose reduction if I had dosed consistently so I am quite anxious dosing at lower numbers in case Lucy's glucose drops too low while I am out. I have been wondering if maybe I should reduce the dose for a while because there are times she has green numbers like 2.8/50 at AMPS and I won't give insulin at that number so this means I am not dosing as consistently as I should be doing. Today Lucy's AMPS is 3.6/65 but I want this to rise a bit as it is a falling green number and I have to go to an appointment later on. I feel quite overwhelmed at the moment at having to have extra tests to clarify a possible issue along with my upcoming surgery but I also feel awful that this is affecting Lucy's insulin doses. So I am considered lowering the dose for a few days to see what happens but I don't know if I should do that or stick to the dose and accept we will miss a couple of doses if need be. Thank you for reading my post.
 
Last edited:
The good news is that Lucy is doing so well! That's a good problem to have. She wants to have pretty much solid green with this dose - which is another good thing.

I'm sorry you're headed to the hospital - bad enough on it's own but you're worried about Lucy too.

I think you have a couple of choices. You can reduce the dose and hold it for a few days while you're in the midst of this turmoil. Or you can continue skipping shots - which is an ok plan. Either plan could be made to work.

If I were going to reduce the dose, I might go to 2.0u. You could do that now before you go in the hospital to see what kind of numbers that causes.

That's one option, at least. Hopefully others will stop by with other ideas.

Let us know when you're going to the hospital. I'll be thinking of you and sending healing thoughts for you and "stay safe" thoughts for miss Lucy.
 
My first thought is that if you're getting so many Pre-shots that you're unwilling or unable to shoot for some reason, it might be best to just reduce Lucy's dose until you find one that you can give consistently

If you're going to be unable to get Pre-shots and mid-cycles while you're in the hospital, I'd probably reduce her dose and see if it both helps with the problem of low pre-shots as well as keeping Lucy safe while not being tested

When will all this be happening? This current week or next week (3/22-3/29?)

Let's wait and see what some others think
 
Thank you Julie and Chris. I think both options might work okay. I also had a mammogram a few weeks ago which showed changes which need to be clarified so I have been highly anxious about that even though I know the chances are it is nothing as most recalls are nothing to worry about or so the letter said. This is a really stressful time and I really appreciate your support and understanding too.
 
Last edited:
I would do what relieves your anxiety the most at this point. What will help you relax and concentrate on your own health?

There are lots of call-backs on mammograms here in the US that end up being nothing. I hope that's the case for you too!
 
Thank you Julie so much. I did some reading on the numbers of call backs on mammograms and the numbers are high it seems. The letter did state that 9 out of 10 call backs are nothing to worry about. So I hope that is the case.
 
I like the idea of reducing the dose too. That way if someone else has to do the shots for you while you are gone, 2.0 on the line is an easy one to measure. We often have people who have petsitters do the same thing, especially if they can't test the cat. Lucy will get back on track soon enough.

I had a mammogram call back earlier this year - seems they get a lot of questionable readings if they "squish" you wrong, which was my case. But it doesn't stop the worry before hand. :bighug:
 
I like the idea of reducing the dose too. That way if someone else has to do the shots for you while you are gone, 2.0 on the line is an easy one to measure. We often have people who have petsitters do the same thing, especially if they can't test the cat. Lucy will get back on track soon enough.

I had a mammogram call back earlier this year - seems they get a lot of questionable readings if they "squish" you wrong, which was my case. But it doesn't stop the worry before hand. :bighug:
Thank you Wendy and thank you also for your mammogram call back story too. I hope that is the case for me too. :) Yes I think a trial of 2 units would be a good thing to do as it is easy to measure also though I will get the vet to do a home visit as my friend is not experienced with injections and last time I stayed in hospital a few days the vet was able to give Lucy her insulin as she is experienced and did it quickly. Lucy is a feisty girl and a mummy's girl too. :cat::)
 
I got called back once too and it was nothing.

When we traveled at shot time, I had a vet tech from our vet's office who came and tested punkin and gave him his shot. She fed Punkin and our other kitty too. Then, bless her heart, she'd text me his preshot number so i wouldn't worry.
 
I got called back once too and it was nothing.

When we traveled at shot time, I had a vet tech from our vet's office who came and tested punkin and gave him his shot. She fed Punkin and our other kitty too. Then, bless her heart, she'd text me his preshot number so i wouldn't worry.
Hi Julie. That must have been wonderful to have a vet tech who could do that. Our vet is great and has done a home visit to give Lucy insulin when I was in hospital but she couldn't test because Lucy is more confident at home and ran from the vet. :cat::) The vet just managed to give Lucy her insulin because my friend was here and held Lucy while the vet quickly gave her the insulin dose. When the vet came to the house to give Lucy insulin it was a lower dose and Lucy's glucose levels were still consistently high then so we had less anxiety plus my friend stayed with Lucy as an extra precaution. Thank you again.
 
Last edited:
I got called back once too and it was nothing.

When we traveled at shot time, I had a vet tech from our vet's office who came and tested punkin and gave him his shot. She fed Punkin and our other kitty too. Then, bless her heart, she'd text me his preshot number so i wouldn't worry.
I forgot to say thank you for sharing your call back story too. It seems since I have told people I have learnt of many women who have been called back and it has turned out to be nothing to worry about. It seems to be a very common experience after a mammogram to be called back for further tests. This is very good to know.
 
FWIW, Gabby doesn't allow anyone except me to test. When I'm traveling, my cat sitter comes over to give shots. I reduce the dose since she can't test and I'd rather have Gabby in higher numbers for a few days than be worried to death. Lucy will likely pick up where you left off if you reduce her dose..

I hope all goes well for you. Please let us know how you are doing.
 
FWIW, Gabby doesn't allow anyone except me to test. When I'm traveling, my cat sitter comes over to give shots. I reduce the dose since she can't test and I'd rather have Gabby in higher numbers for a few days than be worried to death. Lucy will likely pick up where you left off if you reduce her dose..

I hope all goes well for you. Please let us know how you are doing.
Thank you Sienne. It is good to know there are other cats who won't let anyone else test. :) I agree the risk of going too low by giving the regular dose and not testing is not worth it. Lucy gets back on track fairly quickly now after a reduced or skipped dose so I won't worry too much if we have to lower or skip a dose.
 
Last edited:
Thank you everyone for your support and for sharing your experiences with mammogram call backs too. I had another more detailed mammogram today and there is nothing to worry about and it was as you said Wendy about how the breasts are compressed which can create shadows on the mammograms. Today's more detailed mammogram was clear and I have nothing to worry about so I can relax now. :) Thank you again to all of you for caring and being so supportive too which was much appreciated and needed. It seems there were a lot of women at the hospital who had been called back for more tests so I hope all of them got good results too as we were all very anxious.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top