Mary & Jude
Member Since 2024
@catlady007 I can view the spreadsheet! Looks good! You can add the meter name. Also, has Zoghal ever been tested for ketones? If so, please add that information as well.
My avatar picture is himBeautiful name. Is he grey? Black?
No I didn't test for ketones@catlady007 I can view the spreadsheet! Looks good! You can add the meter name. Also, has Zoghal ever been tested for ketones? If so, please add that information as well.
But he still is very hungry and is lethargic. Does it take time for him to get better?@catlady007, I see that Zoghal is down below 100 today. I'd say Lantus is working well for him!!
How was he diagnosed?No I didn't test for ketones
I don't know about it alot
Is he hungry when he is in those green blood glucose numbers like 80 and 81. What beautiful numbers today. Normal BG for a cat is about 50-120 (on a human meter) but even on your pet meter those are very normal numbers. I am very glad to see the stability in his BG numbers.But he still is very hungry and is lethargic. Does it take time for him to get better?![]()
My meter is for human there is no pet glucometr in my countryIs he hungry when he is in those green blood glucose numbers like 80 and 81. What beautiful numbers today. Normal BG for a cat is about 50-120 (on a human meter) but even on your pet meter those are very normal numbers. I am very glad to see the stability in his BG numbers.
I will talk to his vet 2 days later and I ask about ketones and I will buy the test from pharmacyHere is some information on ketones. Lethargy worries me always.
Ketones, Ketoacidosis, and Diabetic Cats: A Primer on Ketones
He has never experienced hypoglycemia before.@catlady007, at the risk of throwing too much information at you at once, I'm going to throw just a bit more IMPORTANT information at you. Two things, actually: how to handle a hypoglycemic episode and putting together a hypo kit.
At the least, you'll want to read through these important guidelines, so that they won't be new to you if Zoghal should experience a hypoglycemic episode.
Sticky - How to treat HYPOS - THEY CAN KILL! Print this Out!!
Sticky - jojo and bunny's HYPO TOOL BOX
Let us know if you have any questions.
Also, please remember to heed Wendy's advice stated earlier to reduce to 11 units at his next shot.
I don’t really trust raw food, especially in my country.The human blood glucose meter is fine.
For urine test, you can use any urine test strip for ketones sold at a pharmacy. Human diabetics use these.
Do butcher shops in your country sell various types of meat and organs and bones? If so, you can do a prey model raw diet. The ratio is 80% muscle meat, 5% uncooked bone, and 5% organs (liver, gizzard, etc). I'm not familiar enough with such a raw diet to give you more specifics. Be careful with recipes found online. Many are not proper diets for cats or may require supplements you might not be able to get in your country.
Okay. That’s good to know. You are better off with a human meter. So the test strips must still be very expensive. I am sorry about that as well.My meter is for human there is no pet glucometr in my country![]()
It’s okay. You can always cook the meat. They do not need to eat raw food. There can be bacterial contamination.I don’t really trust raw food, especially in my country.![]()
Have you ever seen a glucose that low before before a shot?He has never experienced hypoglycemia before.
His PMPS is 152 is it ok?
Yes because of the sanctions, every foreign product is expensive here. We currently have one of the most worthless currencies in the world.Okay. That’s good to know. You are better off with a human meter. So the test strips must still be very expensive. I am sorry about that as well.
Yes. Human ketone test strips are fine for use in cats. You need to place the strip in the cat’s urine stream and read the color of the test strip at exactly the number of seconds specified in the instructions (usually 20 seconds.)I will talk to his vet 2 days later and I ask about ketones and I will buy the test from pharmacy
The human test is ok for them?
This is first time that I test it.Have you ever seen a glucose that low before before a shot?
Hello. Today is the third day since you told me to reduce the Lantus dose by one unit, so I did a test today because I wanted to wait a few days for the dose to stabilize. Also, he really hates having his ear pricked, so I can’t test very frequently. Right now, his blood glucose level six hours after insulin is 183. Is this good and normal?Yes, I can read the spreadsheet now. Good job getting those tests. 80 is a normal blood sugar number, but you don't want him much lower. You don't want to increase his dose. Since you are feeding dry food, 80 is too low, you need to reduce his dose to 11 units.
I have fed two cats with the TCFeline mix. If it's too hard for you to get, you might be able to follow Dr. Lisa Pierson's home made recipe. She uses cooked chicken: Making Cat Food See the section on ingredients to see what you need to add.
Hello. Today is the third day since you told me to reduce the Lantus dose by one unit, so I did a test today because I wanted to wait a few days for the dose to stabilize. Also, he really hates having his ear pricked, so I can’t test very frequently. Right now, his blood glucose level six hours after insulin is 183. Is this good and normal?So I would say that IF you can monitor him amd test during the cycle and IF you can feed him with food (possibly even high carb food and also IF you have honey or another high carb source like corn syrup and you have read the instructions about how to handle low numbers— if so then I would give the new dose of 11 units.
I will test before PM it's about 4 hours later.183 is higher than a normal blood sugar number, but also not bad. It's hard to tell with the lack of other tests if this is the lowest he is getting though.
Are you giving insulin in the PM as well? There is a units cell for the PM cycle (column P of the spreadsheet). Please fill that in too if you are giving insulin at night. We strongly recommend testing before you give insulin, AM and PM, to make sure it is safe to give insulin.
Are you giving him a treat after every ear poke? Whether it's a success or fail, you want him to associate pokes with treats. That will help with him tolerating the tests.