12/9 Indy AMPS - 77

Jessica & Indy

Member Since 2025
Two days ago

I couldn't post yesterday, it was a crazy mental health day. Indy sort of just dived yesterday. Then this morning it was 113 at shot time which made us nervous, so we waited ....and it went down more to 77. Called the vet to ask advice and haven't heard back. I know he needs something.....but I'm tempted to skip so he doesn't go too low and then give him 2u tonight and see how it goes ....
 
I'm really not equipped to give dosing advice. That said, while I know you're currently dosing based on your vet's guidance, it doesn't look too different from SLGS, really. And under SLGS, we don't give insulin if the preshot number is under 150, at least at first/when it's unusual.

Were I you, I would not panic about the low number just yet, but I probably wouldn't shoot, either. That said, really not equipped to give dosing advice. @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
 
I agree with Allie, which meter are you using?
What is your no shoot number since you’re using vet guidance dosing.

As with SLGS, the no shoot number is under 90, so you may want to skip.
 
This is with the Libre 2+. Vet didn't give us a no shoot number.

I can see if we can do a blood check, we have only done it successfully once.
I would definitely get a check with the meter. My Libre started reading very off lows right before it said it needed to be replaced. Good luck!
 
54 and 60 are both still safe, but best to have these instructions handy just in case. A snack might be a good idea at this point, I think.

Indy may be doing the same thing Gen did on Saturday, which was probably his depot filling up and his system getting all excited. We did a reduction because of it (still waiting to judge whether it was the right move).
 
Seems like your Libre and handheld meter are pretty close.
Great you can blood test him!!
You should check what the no shoot number is with your vet but around here it’s either 90 for SLGS or under 50 for cats under a year since diagnosis.
Being that you’re new and still gathering data, I would be somewhat conservative in your dosing.

Also key question is do you have a hypo kit ready to go if needed and will you be home to watch closely?
Do you have karo or maple syrup, medium and high canned carb food?

You are probably learning how carb sensitive your cat is (does his BG come up with low, medium or need high carbs?)

When is your shot due?
 
It's not really a call I can make, but in your shoes I probably would have skipped. Trust yourself; you know your cat. And talk to your vet when you can.
 
He free feeds, but he just had some noms. Gave him a LC treat when we pricked his ear.

We have Karo syrup but do not have MC or HC wet food. We have some high carb treats. I will work on getting some canned wet food that is higher carb.

He was supposed to have his shot 2 hours ago.
 
He is doing just fine. Giving himself a bath and having noms. Not a care in the world for him.

It is hubby and I that are stressing.
Boy can I relate - although I'm still happy to hear he's feeling okay. (I'm not getting over the symptoms from Gen's mid-November hypo crisis anytime soon.)

You two are doing an amazing job, though. ❤️
 
He free feeds, but he just had some noms. Gave him a LC treat when we pricked his ear.

We have Karo syrup but do not have MC or HC wet food. We have some high carb treats. I will work on getting some canned wet food that is higher carb.

He was supposed to have his shot 2 hours ago.
You can always add a few drops of karo syrup to any food to bump up the carbs.

Feed small amounts at a time, like a teaspoon at a time. Then retest In 20 minutes to see if they are bumping up.
You want to do that until they come up (and keep watching BG closely for 2 hours after you’ve given high carbs) to make sure they stay up on their own without HC.
 
I can't help but to wonder why so low with no shot? I'm curious. Does he have other health issues that could've caused it?
 
Skipping was OK, as long as kitty does not have recent history of DKA or actively throwing ketones.
Wants us to go 2u tonight and see how his numbers too. Said we might just do once a day.
If you were following SLGS, you would go to 2.25 units, eyeballing that space between 2.0 and 2.5 units. Actually, he should have gone to 2.25 units on the 5th when he got down to 67.

Once a day dosing is not ideal, Lantus does not last 24 hours in the cat. It does in humans, but cats have faster metabolisms. There's been exactly twice in my time on the forum where I've seen once a day dosing work, and both cats were on mere drops of insulin. If you went to once a day now, you'd end up with really high numbers at the end of the 24 hours. Pancreatic healing, and any possibility of remission, means kitty has to spend as much time as possible in normal numbers. The number you see tonight will be representative of what you might see for preshots if you were to go with once a day shots.
 
I don't think he will go to once a day. Just passing on what was told to me. I think now that he is getting proper shots, he just needs a lower dose. (I think we were getting more fur shots than we realized) Hoping 2u is the sweet spot.
 
Good luck with the new dose. He wasn't that great on 2.0 units earlier, but maybe his requirements have changed.
 
I hope so too. He is now starting to climb up. So pretty sure the insulin from last night is starting to wear off.
 
He is definitely not going to be once a day. He is up to 373. I think it was still the right choice to skip this morning. Probably going to give him his PM dose a bit early.
 
Back
Top