12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2, (+2) 63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele&Errol

Member Since 2013
Hi Julie, following on from my other post I started a new thread.

His numbers PMPS last night were : 154.8. 45 mins after time to give shot expired BG 176.40. 1h45m after time to give shot expired BG was162.
AMPS this morning 115.2 and now 45 mins later it's 120.6
 
Re: Stalling - been overnight & still his BG is low!

Thanks!
OK I will shoot.25 and then do a +1, +2, +3 just to be sure. I'll be home all day so will keep a close eye on him.

Tell me, is there a chance that he could have had an infection which caused his BG to skyrocket initially?
 
Re: Stalling - been overnight & still his BG is low!

yes. infections can increase blood sugar. definitely. has he just been treated for one?

steroids are a common cause of diabetes in cats. has he gotten steroids recently?

i'll make sure and check back with you in an hour for his +1. if you wouldn't mind, we have people edit the first post of this thread and put your #s in the subject line. that lets it be seen from the main page so others can monitor as well.
 
Re: Stalling - been overnight & still his BG is low!

your signature line also says you're changing over from dry to wet - that can also dramatically decrease blood sugar numbers.

when did he get his last bite of dry food? would you add that onto his ss in the notes column on that date, please?
 
Re: Stalling - been overnight & still his BG is low!

The 1st vet put him on 5 days of Synolox, course finishes tonight. He couldn't find anything in urine or blood but did it as a precaution.

Never had steroids.

Sure, will change the subject line now.

Yesterday he ate 99.9% wet food (a little Royal Canin RD wet, but mostly Whiskas sachets and Bob Martin sachets - both with jelly). Only a couple of Hills w/d crumbles on top initially to get him to eat them.

I have all the diet notes but for some reason they don't appear on the USA number ss only on the world number ss?

Thank you very much, Julie.
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2 & 120.6

Can I please double check protocol:
Test, Feed, Shoot - what time lapse between each? I have been testing, feeding and immediately he's eaten at least 1/2 his food (usually within 15 mins) I've given insulin. Is this correct?
 
Re: Errol AMPS 115.2 & 120.6

i'm not familiar with synulox, but i googled it (yay for google!) and it sounds like it's a clavamox/amoxicillin mix. what was he being treated for?

it may be that the combination of his infection clearing up and the change from high carb to low carb food is reducing the load on his pancreas. that's super.

the dry food can stay in a cat's system for a full day or even more. at this point, as long as he's eating it would be better for him to not have any more dry food. use the syrup you have if we need to bring up low numbers.

i think that jelly stuff is from bone marrow rather than carbs. the low carb canned food is like the old-fashioned pet food - comes out of the can kinda solid with the jelly stuff attached to it. the gravy food is high carb and it's pretty obviously gravy, just like people would make.
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2 & 120.6

Vet felt that while blood was being sent off he would put him on a broad-spectrum AB just incase as he felt that if he did come back with an infection it would be what he'd put him on anyway. He felt with the high BG at his office and Errol's sudden and immediate lack of appetite, infection could be the cause. Errol also seemed nauseous - seemed to want to eat but wouldn't have more than a mouthful or two. Could have been the reason he wasn't initially keen on the wet food that he's now eating pretty well.
I don't know if it's co-incidental or what, but kitty seems so much brighter after the AB's. I am not in favour of prophylactic treatment but I agreed with the vet in this instance. He was almost 100% certain that no pancreatitis was involved.

Thanks for the explanation on the jelly vs gravy - I will stock up on the jelly sachets :)

I PM'd Jane and perhaps she will be able to point me in the right direction re wet commercial food.
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2 & 120.6

sorry - i see you already told me it was precautionary antibiotics. well, maybe there was something there and it was clearing up. could also just be improvement because of the food switch. we've seen cat's blood sugar go down dramatically just from that.

when you get an opportunity, would you fill out a profile on Errol and attach it to your signature line? the directions are in the "New to the Group" sticky at the top of this forum.

we call the amps the number we actually shoot. So Errol's amps today is 120.6 (or 120.) on the ss, you could put the 115 in the +12 column along with the 120 below it since the 120 is the actual amps.
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2 & 120.6

nothing like posting at the same time! :lol:

there is a pancreatitis test called the Spec fPl - it's fairly common in diabetic cats. but the fact that he's improved with the antibiotic - maybe it was an infection.

in any case it's great that he's perking back up and his appetite is good.
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2 & 120.6

:) I can't tell you how ecstatic I am that he is eating wet food and his BG seems to (perhaps? hopefully?) be normalising. Just gave him .25 and will monitor him all day. He's almost back to his normal self personality wise and doesn't have that sick look in his eyes.
So when should I do a curve do you think?
Oh, the vet reckoned we do some ''amalyse test'' which wasn't a very definitive test for pancreatitis. If Errol hadn't shown such improvement this weekend I was going to insist on it anyway.
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2 & 120.6

cats are unique among mammals in that their pancreas can heal and begin producing insulin again. the premise of the Tight Regulation Protocol that we follow is that when a cat's blood sugar is kept in normal numbers, under 120, the pancreas will heal and the cat can go off of insulin. the sooner this happens after diagnosis, the better the chance is, but we have had cats go off even after more than 2 years on insulin.

we all celebrate it!

when a cat does go off, they are still considered diabetic and must avoid steroids (unless it's critical) and stay on low-carb canned food for the rest of their lives. they are just diet-controlled.

you're very fortunate that he's having such a good response!

i saw on his ss that you have dealt with low numbers before and given him syrup. do you want me to stay with you and keep checking every hour, or are you doing fine? did you shoot at 30 past the hour?

we look for a little spike in the BG numbers at +1, indicating that the carbs in the food have lifted the blood sugar. it's ok if it doesn't spike, but if it's dropping then it's a red flag to pay more attention. in a typical Lantus cycle, the +2 is about the same as the preshot number, then has a curve down from there.

So the reason i'm asking you to check at +1 is to make sure you don't have a plummeting number at that point - same at +2. those early tests can tell us what direction the cycle is going. there is an explanation of the "typical" lantus cycle on the "New to the Group" yellow starred sticky at the top of this forum.
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2 & 120.6

Ok brilliant Julie, thanks for explaining that so that I can understand! I shot 30 minutes ago and will test in 30 mins more and then 60 minutes after that. He ate a hearty breakfast (for him) so he should be OK. I don't want you to be sleep deprived unnecessarily!

That's excellent news about the pancreas. I am so grateful to have found this group and the wonderful, knowledgeable, caring people who help us newbies out. If I had to rely on the info I was given at diagnosis I would be completely on the wrong track!

I've made a profile for Errol.
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2 & 120.6

nice profile! he speaks English, eh? :lol: and a little portly? :-D thanks for doing that!

i'm up til at least your +2 - i'm a night owl and it's 10pm here. i'll check back in on you, but you sound like you're doing fine. still, it's a little comforting to have someone with you when you are new to this. i remember how much better i felt, even when i knew the idea of what i was doing. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2 & 120.6

Thank you!!!! It certainly does make me feel far better knowing there's expert advice on the other side!
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2, (+1) 183 (+2) 154.8

super. i'm going to head for bed, but i doubt that you'll hit low numbers today that you'll need help with. if you could get a test in a couple of hours that would be great. i know you said you were going to do a curve today.

if you do need help, you can post here and there are people who may be on at different times during our night. we do have members around the world, although most are in north america.

there is a post at the top of this forum that has directions for treating low numbers - under 50 on the US scale. basically you give a drop or two of syrup, wait 20-30 minutes and retest. if he's still under 50, repeat. if he's above 50 you can give about a teaspoon of regular low carb canned food and see if he'll just surf along.

i think you'll be fine! see you tomorrow!
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2, (+6) 181.8

Is there a problem with the SS by any chance or is it just me? I can't enter my (+1,2,6) etc. so I put it in my subject line instead.
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2, (+6) 181.8

Good Morning!

A couple things to check with your ss. I know with mine, I need to enter data in the 'world mmol' tab ONLY. It will not take new info in the US tab, so make sure you are in fact on the world tab.
Also, I have often needed to refresh the ss because it wouldn't 'wake up' :roll: :-D
Hope that helps
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2, (+6) 181.8

Good Morning Kim! Thank you, that helped a lot. How I missed it I don't know, but I'd gone ''offline'' somehow! All good now :smile:
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2, (+6) 181.8

curious. there's still something wonky because the numbers on the world sheet aren't appearing on the US sheet. i have no idea what that's about, but you might need to post in the Tech Support forum to ask for help with it. There are some techies that are really good with figuring out spreadsheet issues that probably know what's going on.

glad to see all went well during the day for you.
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2, (+6) 181.8

Morning Julie, thanks, I posted on the tech forum. It seems it was just that row because when I tried out the row below it worked fine. So I just added the values the the usa chart manually. When I x mmol/L by 18 I'm always left with a decimal so do I round it off to the nearest #?
 
Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2, (+6) 181.8

sure, rounding it works. the difference of a few points doesn't matter - if you test the same drop of blood with 2 different strips, chances are good you'll get 2 different numbers. we're looking at the general range most of the time, unless we're talking about low numbers!
 
If you look at his SS now, you'll see his PMPS was 295 and +2 is 63. Is this bouncing due to him only getting .25 this AM?
 
Whoa! Looks like you're going to have an active cycle. How long ago was +2?? You need to grab another test please and post right away.
 
When you see a +2 that is the same or lower it usually means an active cycle is about to take place.
 
I just sent Jane an email. I don't know if they ever contacted each other, and I don't know if Jane's still awake.
 
Whew! And you are nearing +4? He dropped really really fast there and that OFTEN is a sign that some syrup eating episode is coming up.

ETA: Oops I meant +6. Is it very late there for you? I got your pm! Thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top