Re: 12/8 Errol AMPS 115.2 & 120.6
cats are unique among mammals in that their pancreas can heal and begin producing insulin again. the premise of the Tight Regulation Protocol that we follow is that when a cat's blood sugar is kept in normal numbers, under 120, the pancreas will heal and the cat can go off of insulin. the sooner this happens after diagnosis, the better the chance is, but we have had cats go off even after more than 2 years on insulin.
we all celebrate it!
when a cat does go off, they are still considered diabetic and must avoid steroids (unless it's critical) and stay on low-carb canned food for the rest of their lives. they are just diet-controlled.
you're very fortunate that he's having such a good response!
i saw on his ss that you have dealt with low numbers before and given him syrup. do you want me to stay with you and keep checking every hour, or are you doing fine? did you shoot at 30 past the hour?
we look for a little spike in the BG numbers at +1, indicating that the carbs in the food have lifted the blood sugar. it's ok if it doesn't spike, but if it's dropping then it's a red flag to pay more attention. in a typical Lantus cycle, the +2 is about the same as the preshot number, then has a curve down from there.
So the reason i'm asking you to check at +1 is to make sure you don't have a plummeting number at that point - same at +2. those early tests can tell us what direction the cycle is going. there is an explanation of the "typical" lantus cycle on the "New to the Group" yellow starred sticky at the top of this forum.