? 12/8, dosing help soon please! :) Fluffy's first GREENS! +11.5 BG 63!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have no clue :/ I gave him 3 units just now. I'll be watching him for the next 2 hours carefully... So many factors :(
 
Hey Nat, that is the lowest number you have ever shot with this dose, so please get a +1 and +2 and see how active the cycle could be and depending on those numbers you might need to see him through his nadir. It is possible he could bounce after that nice run. But maybe not so be vigilant. Steer with food as needed.
 
I read through yesterday's thread and about your lease........if you signed a lease and it's good through July of 2017 your landlord has no business showing your apartment now so just say no! Also, you do not have to sign a new lease now. Look in your present lease and see how many days notice you need to give to move out at the end of your lease. Must leases read 30 day or 60 days notice. Lots of jerky landlords make it hard for people to get out of leases by having it in their lease that at the end of one lease they have to sign another 1 year lease. Keep in mind that the laws protect the tenants more than the landlords and I would make sure you give the proper amount of vacating time and go from there.
 
And... That +1.5 shows fluffy MAY have been headed into a bounce but I'm really wondering what happened next...
We may be a little naggy at times but we have Fluffy's best interests at heart ;) those furry little feet I saw in yesterday's pic have really won me over :kiss:
 
@Vyktors Mum thank youuuuu!!!!

YUP he bounced today. :facepalm::facepalm::facepalm: AMPS 281! What dosage should I give him? Continue holding 3? Or bump him up to 3.25 since he didn't reach 50 (but he was pretty close) at his 10th cycle?
 
You certainly want to hold this dose for at least another 3-4 days unless he drops below 50 and earns a reduction. Remember Lantus is based on how low the dose will take them, not the preshots. He hasn't seen green for a while that we can tell so it's natural for him to bounce. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear so lets see what Fluffy does.

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Hey Nat, to reiterate what Karen just said above about dosing with Lantus, it is much different than the way you dosed with Novolin. Like Karen said the dosing is done on the how low the Lantus takes the cycle not the preshots, unlike Novolin which Fluffy was on prior. When I moved over here to Lantus, I had to take off my ProZinc thinking cap. :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
I agree with Karen and the other hold the 3u for now.
He hasn't seen green for a while that we can tell so it's natural for him to bounce
You haven't caught any greens, but looking back at the ss there is one cycle on the 3u that stands out to me, and that's the pm cycle of 12/4 he dropped from 244 to 179 by +2 and was 199 by amps, rising the following cycle into yellow.
With that +2 being significantly lower on pm 12/4, it screams to me of an active cycle, and I would think it's quite possible that he dropped lower later on that night, possibly seeing green, that then triggered the bounce that started on 12/5 am cycle.
Interestingly he started clearing that bounce in the pm cycle of 12/7 (6 cycles later,/ those numbers dropping into blue late in that pm cycle) you shot am 12/8 as the bounce was breaking and saw green. Which now seems to have triggered a bounce.yc

As others have said you want to wait and see where Fluffy lands when he has cleared this new bounce, see if he will make it to green, he got into the low 60's so there is not much margin there to take him up. I would watch for him clearing the bounce to see if you can catch how low he goes.
Look for him clearing in 5 or 6 cycles (though he may clear it sooner), so if you see a sudden drop in numbers that is your cue to up the monitoring.

Nat did you get a pmps last night or just that +11.5?
Ideally you still want to get a PS even if you get a +11.5, the idea is that if you get the +11.5 you can post up for help and you have a chance of getting some eyes and advice before you take the PS, so that you don't end up shooting late. Also if you get an +11.5 and it's 63 then you get the PS half an hour later and it's 93, even though he is green that tells you his numbers are heading up(the insulin duration is waning) and can help give you confidence shooting a lower than normal number.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top