12/7 SimonB Stalling over, PMPS 106 +3 83 +4 83 +6 96 +9 119

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bruce & Simon

Member Since 2011
Good Morning everyone ~O) ~O)
Yesterday
AMPS 140 1.5u
+ 4 222
+ 7 243
PMPS 219 1.5u
+ 3 227
+ 5 205
+ 12 79 Stalling
+12.5 80 "
+13 79 "
+14 74 "

Simon vomited continuously overnight, every 20-30 minutes or so. No food,
just clear with bits of fur occasionally. He's a major furball maker and his
SS from last time shows several skipped shots for vomiting/not eating, and he's fine
otherwise :-|

I have no idea how low he went between +5 and AMS, so there was no way I was
shooting a green with no appetite. Very little of the food left out overnight was gone,
which in any event was probably been eaten by the civvies.

So... he'll be missing a shot. If he starts eating (and keeps it down) and when numbers
come up should I

1. Shoot regardless of time and get in a full cycle, skip the PM shot,
and hopefully get back on track tomorrow AM.

OR

2. Skip this AM shot, wait until closer to PM shot time to try to maintain the 12 hour cycle.

I'm leaning toward option 1, because DW and I got very little sleep last night, and the
prospect of an active PM cycle has Zero appeal.

Of course if Simon won't eat or can't keep anything down that will basically make the decision for me.

Advice welcome

UPDATE: He's 74 @+14, and just ate 1/2 can FF...
 
Re: 12/7 SimonB +14 74 Stalling, vomiting issue

Morning guys, if it were me I would skip am shot and get back on track for pm, if you shoot late this morning you will have to adjust your schedule for night do you have room for that? Sorry about the vomiting issues, that really stinks! Sending some appy vines your way! Hope others come to advise, click on the question mark so it will draw more attention. Happy Fursday!
 
Re: 12/7 SimonB +14 74 Stalling, vomiting issue

Thanks Michelle. I'm sort of thinking that he's missing a shot either way. I'm tired, my sick DW is tired.
Simon's a LOUD vomiter, and several times had to be removed from the bed to vomit, as he wasn't going to bother to :-|

I'm thinking if I shoot sometime this AM, I can monitor the whole cycle. As I said, I don't know if I'm up to another
basically sleepness night.

Isn't the :?: mark on my post? It appears so to me.....
 
Re: 12/7 SimonB +14 74 Stalling, vomiting issue

Hi Bruce, so sorry about Simon and the vomiting. Sending healing vines to Simon and also your DW.
Yes, the ? is showing. I'll bump you up.
 
Re: 12/7 SimonB +14 74 Stalling, vomiting, +16.5 86

Sending prayers for no more vomiting to Simon. I hope you are all ok.
take good care
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/7 SimonB +14 74 Stalling, vomiting, +16.5 86

Thanks Ann & Mary :smile:

I had to go out, and someone vomited (DW was lying down so no eyewitness).
It was in a location that puts Justice (civvie) under suspicion also - he sometimes eats too fast :lol:

Anyway, tested Simon again and he's 86 @+16.5 - still stalling
 
Re: 12/7 SimonB +14 74 Stalling, vomiting, +16.5 86

Poor Simon! I think you are fine to skip this shot. You are pretty far off schedule now and it will take several days to get back on schedule (30 mins adjustment per day). Is Simon getting dehydrated? You might think about springing some water, just an idea.

I also noticed that you are using the Freestyle Lite meter. As I recall, that meter was found to be rather inaccurate, especially reading low at higher numbers. You are probably ok for the greens and lower blues. I just searched and see your discussion with Wendy on the meter and that you are sticking with it because of the low blood requirement. So I'll leave my comments in case anyone else is wondering.

Do you give Simon any hairball stuff? We give our civie Tillie Natural Haiball Aid by NaturVet and Marje swears by coconut oil.

Paws crossed for Simon to feel better.
Liz
 
Re: 12/7 SimonB +14 74 Stalling, vomiting, +16.5 86

Bruce --

Unless this kind of vomiting is a pattern for Simon when he's working on a hairball, repeated vomiting can be an indication that there's something going on. This is particularly the case if Simon is vomiting bile. Do you know if he ate anything he shouldn't have -- anything toxic or even string. Gabby ingested dental floss several years ago and the only thing that was "off" was she was vomiting. I was very lucky that the ER vet was a surgeon and on her exam of Gabby, found a piece of floss wedged in her teeth. She had to have abdominal surgery to find the floss which, otherwise, could have cause major damage. I'm not trying to scare you but you do need to be alert to vomiting as a sign of other possible issues.
 
Re: 12/7 SimonB +14 74 Stalling, vomiting, +16.5 86

Thanks Sienne. I'm pretty sure this is just Simon being Simon. He goes through these phases often,
he's just not very good at getting out furballs - can take ages. He's got a thick coat and despite frequent brushings he's still actively shedding.

He's also never been one to eat anything other than food, so I'm not too concerned that it's anything more serious, although of course I don't discount the
possibility, and will watch. He's sleeping comfortably, and vomiting has definitely subsided at least.

I'll wake him at +18 !!, test him and see if he's hungry again. I'd like to get some insulin into him if I can so
he doesn't completely empty his shed. Make sense?
 
Re: 12/7 SimonB +14 74 Stalling, vomiting, +16.5 86 +18 72

Wow - what a rough night! Hope everyone stops puking and your DW feels better soon, too. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/7 SimonB +14 74 Stalling, vomiting, +16.5 86 +18 72

@Anne Sorry missed your post somehow. We're also coconut oil users (cats & beans) :smile:
Simon's just always been prone to furballs, and can take a while to finally let them go ;-)

Thanks Tara!

72 at +18, no insulin.. Yesterday, flat yellow with 1.5u.. Thanks Simon :lol:
He ate again @+18
 
Re: 12/7 SimonB +14 74 Stalling, vomiting, +16.5 86 +18 72

I wouldn't worry too much about emptying the shed. If you shoot late, it's going to be hard to get back on schedule. At 6 hours past your usual shot time, I'd think about it as a fur shot and give Simon his insulin at your usual PMPS.
 
Re: 12/7 SimonB +14 74 Stalling, vomiting, +16.5 86 +18 72

I was looking at it as shooting his PM dose early, not his AM late :lol:

It seems to me he's missing a shot. Assuming his #s come up over 100 or so in the next few hours,
I'd like to shoot his 1.5u while I can monitor basically the whole cycle if necessary, then simply start again tomorrow
at his usual 5:30am, instead of waiting till PM, because after last night I don't want to have to face a 35 at midnight for example.
So the assumed furshot is his upcoming pm shot, which of course would be followed by a normal am tomorrow.

If you sense I'm trying to avoid a stressful late night tonight after next to no sleep, you're right @-)

Just checked him +19, he's finally coming up (104). I'm inclined to shoot and maybe keep this surf going, and have this shot
last until his regular AMPS
 
Re: 12/7 SimonB +14 74 Stalling, +16.5 86 +18 72 +19 104

If I'm understanding, you've skipped the AM shot. You can shoot whenever you want when you skip a shot since you're past the 12-hour mark. There are times when someone's shot time gets so out of whack that the best thing to do is skip and use it as an opportunity to re-set the shot time.
 
Re: 12/7 SimonB +14 74 Stalling, +16.5 86 +18 72 +19 104

106 @+19.5, gave him his 1.5u. He's eating again, no vomiting for hours. :smile:
For simplicity sake, on his SS I put the 106 as his PMPS, with the morning
shot designated No Shot.

Yes Sienne, because I shot so late, I'll be resetting by giving him his next shot at 5:30am (his usual time)

Thanks as always :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top