12/7, Binie, AMPS 405, +3 365, +6 196

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...7-all-day-high-after-another-fur-shot.296360/

Good evening,

thank you so much for all the encourgement yesterday! Shooting went well today so I am happy. She even saw a blue number briefly today. Now she seems to be bouncing and stays almost flat high. I am going to do the increase tomorrow night, when the new libre is hopefully in place.

I postponed to install the libre to give her skin more time to heal. Seems like one part of the irritation was the shaving. In the past I tried to shave very close to the skin but I decided I leave a the few stubbles on which are still there to not irritate her skin more. May make the duration shorter but we'll see.

One question for the libre ladies who put it on themselves: @Staci & Ivy @Madeline528: Have you ever had the impression, that the skin tac is difficult to remove? I remove the expired sensors with coconut oil and cleaned the sticky stuff on the outgrown fur with brava spray but I tried not to do anything extreme because I know her skin is sensitive and I always hoped that the rest which may sticks to the skin under the fur does not harm her. Now her skin feels not soft but like there is still some hard stuff on it. I used brava spray on the shaved skin and alcohol wipes but I don't want to overdo it and I am not sure if it is old skin tac or if her skin developed this. There are also flakes coming off and I am not sure if it is old skin tac or dead skin cells. I am not fond of the idea to place another sensor on it tomorrow but it seems not to be itchy or painful so I try again.

Hope everyone has a safe surf and a nice weekend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
upload_2024-12-7_22-11-30.png

@Wendy&Neko: Thank you so much for your advice! And thank you for telling me, you did furshots too. Helps me to be a bit more kind with myself. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-7_22-11-30.png
    upload_2024-12-7_22-11-30.png
    84.7 KB · Views: 97
@Staci & Ivy @SmallestSparrow @Madeline528 @cecile & bella

Thank you so much for all your kind words, which really cheered me up! ❤️ I don't know what I would do without this community. It is so empowering and nice to be with like-minded people like you. And so much great, great knowledge, everyone is willing to share. I hope you all have a relaxed weekend and a safe surf! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...7-all-day-high-after-another-fur-shot.296360/

Good evening,

thank you so much for all the encourgement yesterday! Shooting went well today so I am happy. She even saw a blue number briefly today. Now she seems to be bouncing and stays almost flat high. I am going to do the increase tomorrow night, when the new libre is hopefully in place.

I postponed to install the libre to give her skin more time to heal. Seems like one part of the irritation was the shaving. In the past I tried to shave very close to the skin but I decided I leave a the few stubbles on which are still there to not irritate her skin more. May make the duration shorter but we'll see.

One question for the libre ladies who put it on themselves: @Staci & Ivy @Madeline528: Have you ever had the impression, that the skin tac is difficult to remove? I remove the expired sensors with coconut oil and cleaned the sticky stuff on the outgrown fur with brava spray but I tried not to do anything extreme because I know her skin is sensitive and I always hoped that the rest which may sticks to the skin under the fur does not harm her. Now her skin feels not soft but like there is still some hard stuff on it. I used brava spray on the shaved skin and alcohol wipes but I don't want to overdo it and I am not sure if it is old skin tac or if her skin developed this. There are also flakes coming off and I am not sure if it is old skin tac or dead skin cells. I am not fond of the idea to place another sensor on it tomorrow but it seems not to be itchy or painful so I try again.

Hope everyone has a safe surf and a nice weekend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I will look at Ivy’s “healing side” if I can shortly.
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...7-all-day-high-after-another-fur-shot.296360/

Good evening,

thank you so much for all the encourgement yesterday! Shooting went well today so I am happy. She even saw a blue number briefly today. Now she seems to be bouncing and stays almost flat high. I am going to do the increase tomorrow night, when the new libre is hopefully in place.

I postponed to install the libre to give her skin more time to heal. Seems like one part of the irritation was the shaving. In the past I tried to shave very close to the skin but I decided I leave a the few stubbles on which are still there to not irritate her skin more. May make the duration shorter but we'll see.

One question for the libre ladies who put it on themselves: @Staci & Ivy @Madeline528: Have you ever had the impression, that the skin tac is difficult to remove? I remove the expired sensors with coconut oil and cleaned the sticky stuff on the outgrown fur with brava spray but I tried not to do anything extreme because I know her skin is sensitive and I always hoped that the rest which may sticks to the skin under the fur does not harm her. Now her skin feels not soft but like there is still some hard stuff on it. I used brava spray on the shaved skin and alcohol wipes but I don't want to overdo it and I am not sure if it is old skin tac or if her skin developed this. There are also flakes coming off and I am not sure if it is old skin tac or dead skin cells. I am not fond of the idea to place another sensor on it tomorrow but it seems not to be itchy or painful so I try again.

Hope everyone has a safe surf and a nice weekend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, I just checked Ivy‘s resting side where I just removed a Libre this past week. The hair is grown in of course, and I don’t really see anything going on there since it was 5 days ago I took off that Libre.
I do think you’re supposed to shave the fur as close as you can, but I don’t go super super low. And what I mean is there may be a tiny bit of stubble which, as you mentioned could potentially shorten the life of the sensor by pushing it out. But at least I’m not harming her skin.
When I take a Libre off, I use coconut oil on a Q-tip and I mix that oil with a little bit of baby oil, so it’s very moisturizing.
If I do anything to the skin after removal, I may take warm water on a soft cotton ball or pad and just gently wipe down the skin and pat it dry and then leave it alone until I need to install another Libre.
If it’s red at all sometimes I do rub in a bit of coconut oil for healing.

But, I am able to move a little bit up or down if I need to because I am covering her with a top so I don’t have to be on exactly the same precise spot if I don’t want to be.
I know you have a little less flexibility because you need to find the area where she will not mess with the Libre and you do not cover her Libre.
The only time I really use the brava spray is maybe around the edges of the sensor when I am trying to lift it off of her skin if it’s sticking a little bit. I hardly even use the stuff though.

So sometimes I think there is a little bit of crusty residue I have seen, which may be the skin tax having dried.
I’m not sure if this is helpful at all, but I hope it is.
Sending you all the best for tomorrow.
Are you going to try to use the phone to scan the Libre this time? If so, I’m wishing you lots of luck in every way and hope you both have a good night :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...7-all-day-high-after-another-fur-shot.296360/

Good evening,

thank you so much for all the encourgement yesterday! Shooting went well today so I am happy. She even saw a blue number briefly today. Now she seems to be bouncing and stays almost flat high. I am going to do the increase tomorrow night, when the new libre is hopefully in place.

I postponed to install the libre to give her skin more time to heal. Seems like one part of the irritation was the shaving. In the past I tried to shave very close to the skin but I decided I leave a the few stubbles on which are still there to not irritate her skin more. May make the duration shorter but we'll see.

One question for the libre ladies who put it on themselves: @Staci & Ivy @Madeline528: Have you ever had the impression, that the skin tac is difficult to remove? I remove the expired sensors with coconut oil and cleaned the sticky stuff on the outgrown fur with brava spray but I tried not to do anything extreme because I know her skin is sensitive and I always hoped that the rest which may sticks to the skin under the fur does not harm her. Now her skin feels not soft but like there is still some hard stuff on it. I used brava spray on the shaved skin and alcohol wipes but I don't want to overdo it and I am not sure if it is old skin tac or if her skin developed this. There are also flakes coming off and I am not sure if it is old skin tac or dead skin cells. I am not fond of the idea to place another sensor on it tomorrow but it seems not to be itchy or painful so I try again.

Hope everyone has a safe surf and a nice weekend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Heike
When I shave Butch, I don't use any guards, but I also don't push hard against his skin. I shave one direction and then go the opposite direction. I can feel stubbles. I use the skin tac brand "Skin Glu" and when I am removing his old sensor, I have used Brava spray or Skin Glee wipes with a Q-tip. Like Staci, I move the sensor a little up or down because Butch his wearing a T-shirt. I have seen the dried flaky stuff on Butch once when I have used the Skin Glu tac and waited too long to apply the sensor. I hope this is helpful. Sending you positive vibes for tomorrow.

Wishing you a wonderful weekend and safe surfing, Binie!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good luck on the increase, Heike and Binie! So sorry about the fur shots. I’m sure it is tough mentally, which doesn’t help the nerves when giving a shot! For me, when I overthink something, it causes me to make mistakes, which is a viscous cycle. You’ll get back in the groove very soon.
 
@Staci & Ivy @Madeline528

Thank you both so much for the detailed infos! That was very helpful. I learned, that I should not shave that much anymore. A few short stubbles seem to be o.k. Maybe the skin was already sensitive by overshaving when I put the skin tac on. I see you are both changing locations which is great. So far I don't want to give it a try, because last time she just licked it off and I can't make her wear something. And as you didn't see much flakey stuff I am convinced now, her skin is flaking.

Today friends came over and we looked at the shaved spot in daylight. They found it looks like an eczema which made me deicde to give her some time to heal. I pray she is not allergic to something. As the area is big, I think it would be the skin tac. I will order skin glu now, maybe that is better for her. I will post a picture in the todays post.

Hopy you both have a great day and thank you so much for your great help! I really apreciate this! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good luck on the increase, Heike and Binie! So sorry about the fur shots. I’m sure it is tough mentally, which doesn’t help the nerves when giving a shot! For me, when I overthink something, it causes me to make mistakes, which is a viscous cycle. You’ll get back in the groove very soon.

Thank you so much Seth! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I think you got my problem on the point. I am a great overthinker and I want to do everything 100 % right. That brought me into trouble many times- not only with injecting my cat.... :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top