12/6 CRYSTAL AMPS 378 +1 383 +2 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
ADVICE PLEASE. Although my signature says "not following TR regulation" I have been increasing Crystal's dose every 4-6 cycles and she is now at 6u BID although I don't post that often. However, over the last few days her BG levels appear to be going up instead of down and her AMPS is now in the high 300's. One reason for this yesterday might be that I think she probably got to the dog biscuits overnight, opened by her civvie comrade but since then I have made sure there is nothing left out overnight that she can eat after her bedtime feed of raw diet. I am slightly concerned about the rise (I understand about the food spike at +1), especially as tomorow is going to be a difficult day to do her PM shot on time. Unfortunately I'm going to be a couple of hours late and, having mentioned this before, it was recommended that I do 2 x 18 hr cycles for Sunday (06.00 and Midnight) and Monday (just 18.00) and then get back on track as usual on Tuesday 06.00, which is what I intend doing, but what if her numbers are still too high? I've been having problems with her SS but it is now correct and up to date. Any thougths/advice please.

Suki & Crystal
 
Suki, do you work away from home during the day? I see lots of tests during the day, so I am just asking because, if you are home during the day it might be better to just shoot when you get home on Sunday night, and then slowly move the shot time back in 15 minutes increments each cycle (or 30 minutes every 24 hours), until you're back on the schedule you prefer.
 
Hi Dyana, No I don't work, I'm in the lucky position of being an early retiree so I'm usually at home during the day. it's just tomorrow's local theatre annual production that is going to delay my return home in the evening, probably by about 3 hours but maybe more. This will be the first shot I will have missed and I'm getting a bit worried about it considering her high numbers, she's hardly coming down at all today. We had a couple of "yellow" levels the other week so I thought things were going better. I just don't feel very confident that I'm getting to grips with it all and Crystal is suffering as a result.
Suki & Crystal
 
We're you planning to do the next dose increase on Sunday night at midnight?
I would just think that if you did the two planned 18 hour cycles, that you would then need to wait for the partially drained depot to fill up again, before starting to wait out the next 4 to 6 cycles.
I would think it would be better for Crystal to have one late shot by 3 hours, and then slowly (in 15 minute increments) get her back on (your preferred) schedule, and stick to the dose increases as you have been doing right away, rather than waiting for the depot to fill up again first. Does that make sense?
Let's see if others have opinions on this.
 
It looks like crystal is an acro kitty, so I am not sure if the advice would be different for that vs a non-acro kitty as far as the 18 hr schedule or shooting late and working your way down.

I really don't have experience with acro kitties, but I wanted to say that you are doing an amazing job and I am sure it is a lot more difficult to get a handle on this wonderful sugar dance with an acro kitty vs a nonacro. Crystal may just be a little harder to figure out than some other kitties. But you have an amazing group of people behind you to help you :)
 
Hi Dyana, no, I wasn't planning on increasing the dose tomorrow, I don't want to muck about with her normal schedule too much as I wont be sure how to interpret her results. I'm hoping to get back asap tomorrow (I'm going to be a real party-pooper!). Have to go out now for the evening but will check back late tonight to see if there is any further posts.

Thanks Molly for your kind words of encouragement, it really is a bit of a rollercoaster ride at the moment but I'm glad to have a lifeline with all you guys.

Suki & Crystal
 
Hi. My acro kitty sends purrs.

I'm not a dosing wizard. Still fumbling with Polly, although she had SRT in September. I agree with Dyana, though, about just shooting late (the 3 hours late) and then doing the next shot 11 hours 45 minutes later. Then you can keep backing her up by 15 minute increments with each shot 'til you're back on schedule

I've messed up with fur shots a few times. Takes Polly seven or more cycles to get her rhythm back. Never tried the 18/18.

High dose kitties can be a challenge. I know. But you have found the best place for help and encouragement. If you want someone with more experienced eyes to catch your question, maybe put a blip in the subject line..."schedule ?" or something to catch more attention.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Here's your last condo in TR.

I don't think there's only one way to move ahead. I think you have a couple of options. You can give the shot when you get home, so 3 or so hours late and then work back to your regular shooting time. I mentioned in your last condo that if she is still consistently over 300, you could probably give the next shot at +10 or maybe +11. Or if you prefer, you could do the two 18 hr cycles.

My guess is that you're not going to see better numbers until you get back into the 8u neighborhood that you were shooting when she was on Caninsulin. If you continue increasing every 4 cycles, that's another week. I would not increase a dose at +10, however - shooting early acts somewhat like a dose increase because you are increasing the overlap of the previous lantus shot with the current lantus shot.

If you want help figuring out an exact schedule to shoot tomorrow night, just ask and we can brainstorm something together.

Whatever you decide to do, I hope you can go out and enjoy yourself and not worry about Crystal. :-D
 
I agree with Julie on the dose. Neko got up to 5 units of Caninsulin (nadirs in the 8.x range) and it wasn't until she got to 5.25U of Lantus before she actually spent a couple of hours in the greens (below 5.5) or normal numbers.

A while ago Julie mentioned I'm compiling some more references on acromegaly. The list is still growing. :roll: Anyway, here is a sneak peak at one of the best ones I've seen so far. The article is called: Hypersomatotripism, Acromegaly, and Hyperadrenocorticism and Feline Diabes Mellitus by Stijn Niessen, David Church and Yaiza Forcada. It's a 2013 article in the journal Veterinary Clinics of North America, Small Animal Practice, volume 43, issue 2. The authors work at the RVC and the Acromegaly Cat Clinic there.

As for skipping a dose, I've done that a few times with fur shots. :oops: Neko gets back on track in 6 cycles.
 
Thanks Marilyn, Julie & Wendy for all your advice, we didn't get home until late last night so only checked my posts this morning, then another manic day ahead. I think I'm going to play it by ear and see exactly what time we get back, hopefully the after show party is going to take place next weekend, so I could well be back within an hour of Crystal's due time, in which case I'll just go ahead and be a little late. I'll post on our return with developments but bearing in mind the time difference we might miss each other.
hugs to you and your kitties
Suki & Crystal
 
Managed to get back to do Crystal on time but now have another problem. I've just posted on the Health forum but haven't had any replies yet, thought I'd try you guys if anyone is around? Crystal is now very restless and agitated with what I think is constipation, she keeps going to her litter tray and straining, crying and growling when I go near her. Has been like it for about an hour since she came in. Has been vomiting, about 4 times, just looks like her feed, no blood but a bit of liquid. Just looked up on the internet for remedies and have given her a few drops of olive oil, petroleum jelly was mentioned but don't have any. It's quarter to one in the morning, I will take her to the vet as soon as they open unless she gets worse. Any ideas? I noticed earlier today that her stools were very small, dark and hard, the complete opposite to how she was a few weeks ago when she had chronic diarrhoea. I fed her at 6pm with her raw chicken diet and an additional small bowl of low carb wet food and again at about 10.30 when we got in. She seemed fine then and went outside, only to return in a distressed state. She wants to go outside but I'm afraid to let her out. I hope it is only constipation and not anything more serious.

Suki & Crystal
 
I don't have first hand experience with this, but i think i've heard others with a raw diet mention this as sometimes being a problem. Some people give plain pumpkin or squash because it has fiber in it. If you have any of those, canned or cooked, but no spices (like not pumpkin pie filling) you can give a teaspoon or so.

I'll see if i can get any more ideas for you. I do recall someone saying they put something in rectally to help their kitty go, but i don't know what it was.

Would you please put "help with constipation" in the subject line of your first post so it's visible on the main page? That will get the right people for you.
 
Thanks Julie, I have been reading on the internet and fiber seems to come up a lot, especially squash and also green beans. I have some so I'll cook it for her. Noted about where to post in future.
I'll stay up for about another half an hour and then try to get some sleep and get to the vet first thing just to get checked out.
Tahnsk for yoru help.
Suki & Crystal
 
Neko is on a raw diet and doesn't have that problem. Civie Theo does occasionally (without the crying) when he's working on a hairball.

Is Crystal passing anything? You said small hard poops and I'm just wondering when she last produced one.

Other things to help. Make sure she's getting plenty of water (will help the dryness). A bit of plain unsalted butter will also help as a laxative, though the olive oil will too. Coconut oil (preferably organic cold pressed virgin oil) also works.

More than you ever wanted to know, there is a good site that just focuses on feline constipation.

Good luck!
 
Sienne mentioned that you may want to find an ER because of the risk of impaction. Perhaps there is someone you could call?

Just an fyi, the hormones produced by the acromegaly tumor cause growth, including to the soft tissue. Some cats develop mega-colon. Punkin had child-sized stools from it. Constipation can be connected to that, too.

Let us know - we'll be thinking about you. I hope all is well for Crystal tonight. :YMHUG:
 
I would agree that a visit to the ER may be in order, although I'm guessing that at this point it is very much the middle of the night for you. I also wonder if maybe she's having urinary issues, as opposed to constipation issues. Sending prayers that Crystal is OK.
 
Crystal update - neither of us had a good night's sleep, she was sick a couple of more times, but when I got up at 5 am I could see that she had passed a very large stool (quite soft but with 2 hard bits in it and a little bloody mucas - sorry about the details!) and her rear end was quite messy. After I had cleaned her up, which she allowed with a few soft growls, she had her test and then her normal shot but only had about a mouthful of her raw mix but plenty of water. She has since done another little stool but doesn't want to eat, very lethegic. Waiting to phone the vet in about an hour to see whether I should take her, hope it might just be a one off incidence. I read also that green beans are good for fiber in the diet, as well as squash, I will add some to her diet from now on. I gave her a little olive oil last night and some unsalted butter, maybe they helped her? Just of to digest the Feline Constipation link that a couple of you sent me, many thanks for all your advice and hugs.
Suki & Crystal
 
Have you gotten a ketone test in lately? It's something you should try to get regularly while Crystal is still in higher numbers. The not eating and lethargy are a concern. Good luck getting in touch with the vet.

BTW: Neko swiped a piece of green bean from my dinner tonight. She must have heard it was good for fiber. :roll:
 
Yes I got a ketone test in on the 6th, which was negative. Crystal's just had a little meal with green beans (although she's left most of them) and a walk round but I'm going to keep her indoors all day so that I can monitor her. Unfortunately my vet isn't in the surgery until Wednesday so for the moment I'm just watching her to see how she goes. She's been on 6u for 5 cycles now, levels coming down a bit from the highs of a couple of days ago so will go to 6.5 at tonights shot if she is okay.
Suki and Crystal
 
What some people here add for fiber is baby food squash or canned pumpkin (not canned pumpkin pie filling).

I am concerned that Crystal may need to see the vet in order to insure that there isn't a bigger problem than just a one time problem with constipation. Your vet should be able to tell with an exam and/or an x-ray. Problems like an impaction or megacolon can be issues that require help from the vet.
 
Crystal seems a bit brighter at the moment Sienne, just had another small meal and a little walk round the garden. I'm just preparing some squash, plain cooked and then pureed, which I shall add to her diet from now on. I'm going to wait and see how she goes today but even if she gets back to normal, I'm going to speak to my vet on Wednesday and, if necessary, take her. Obviously if she has another bad turn I will take her anyway, it's just that we both have a good rapport with our new lady vet and I don't know any of the others in the surgery - but if it's an emergency we will go regardless, she is too precious.

I'm wading my way through the Feline Constipation excellent site, but a lot to take in and absorb.

I'll post later on any developments, good or bad.

Suki & Crystal
 
Sending feel a lot better now, vines to Crystal.

If she continues to not eat much or be lethargic, I think I would take her in to be checked out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top