12/5 Simon AMPS 253; +3.5 156; +7 109; +11.5 '124; +2.5 105

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31327

Simon is feeling happy this morning, running around and of course, eating a good breakfast. We had an uneventful evening and I was able to get some good sleep. I didn't forget to set the alarm so I was on time with his insulin today. I did reduce the dose to .75 this morning and I will probably be able to test today at +3, +7, +9. Once again, I have to be somewhere at the exact time I need to do the PMPS. Can I test him at +11 and have my husband administer the insulin at PMPS time? He still can't figure out how to do the bg testing so I don't want to put that on him to figure out. I'll only be gone for a couple of hours and can re-check when I get home. Today is going to be a good day (fingers crossed!)
 
Re: 12/5 Simon AMPS 253

Georgia,

I would go ahead and test at +11 if Simon's # is lower than you would like, have your husband give 1/2 the dose he normally gets. Or just post his # at +11 and ask advice than. Will your DH be home to give Simon food if needed? If not just have him leave some out.

You should be fine.

jan and sara
 
Re: 12/5 Simon AMPS 253

jan and sara said:
Georgia,

I would go ahead and test at +11 if Simon's # is lower than you would like, have your husband give 1/2 the dose he normally gets. Or just post his # at +11 and ask advice than. Will your DH be home to give Simon food if needed? If not just have him leave some out.

You should be fine.

jan and sara
Morning you two!
i agree with Jan on that...post the # then...since DH can't test him make sure if he is home to entice him to eat at shot time and for sure again before you get home just to ensure Simon doesn't go too low on you...that will give time for you to get home and test right away....will he be able to entice him to eat while you are out?
 
Re: 12/5 Simon AMPS 253

Yes, he will be able to give him the insulin and then give him food before I get home. Simon is always ready to eat no matter how much he has already eaten. He has always been that way and still is so no trouble giving him food. I guess that is a good thing if his numbers dip low.

I'll post numbers at +11 and ask advice.
 
Re: 12/5 Simon AMPS 253

to make sure the experts see you are asking for shot advise at that time...on the subject line make sure you indicate that...and click on the ? mark...ok?

have a good day you two!
 
Re: 12/5 Simon AMPS 253

Morning Georgia & Simon! A nice mid yellow this morning for Simon!
GOOD job on linking your previous condo Georgia! :razz:
Will you be getting some test in today? I agree that you should post your +11....Congratulations on the dosecrease to .75u!
 
Re: 12/5 Simon AMPS 253; +3.5 156

Morning! and what a nice start to the morning! I agree with the others. post the +11 and go from there. Simon should be fine.
 
Re: 12/5 Simon AMPS 253; +3.5 156; +7 109; +11.5 124

Need quick response: Simon bg is 124 at 11.5 and I am leaving the home in 15 minutes. My DH is giving him his insulin at +12 -- my question is do I give him .75 units? The night before last he came in a little higher than 124 and then went so low after the 1 unit. Will the decreased dose of .75 still be too much? I am going out and won't be back until +3 and my husband can't test.
 
Re: 12/5 Simon AMPS 253; +3.5 156; +7 109; +11.5 124

i would say if DH is home then give regular dose....but make sure he eats when shot is given and then give a little more food btwn +1 and +2....that sort of buys you time to get home at +3....the food will keep him going.....

make sure he EATS at shot time
 
Re: 12/5 Simon AMPS 253; +3.5 156; +7 109; +11.5 124

Thanks for the advice. I was thinking the same thing and will make sure he gets food at +1 and +2. I can't afford for him to be like the other night with work tomorrow.
 
Re: 12/5 Simon AMPS 253; +3.5 156; +7 109; +11.5 124

make sure you do NOT put honey in food....and must be tsp at a time as not to get him too full too quick...ok
tell DH to keep an eye on him like a hawk ;-)
 
Re: 12/5 Simon AMPS 253; +3.5 156; +7 109; +11.5 '124; +2.5

Got home earlier than I thought -- Simon is at 105 at +2.5. DH did a great job of feeding him small bites. I'll do one more test at +4 if all goes well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top