12/5, Pookey, AMPS 228, +5 209, PMPS 257, +4 203

Hi Tim! Does he still eat dry at all? To do TR you need to feed only wet food. I would think free feeding is fine, as long as you remove the food 2 hours before shot time, at least in the beginning, until you get a good idea about how food influences his numbers.
Can you know how much he eats? I don't remember if you have several cats of just Pokey, sorry!
 
Hi Tim! Does he still eat dry at all? To do TR you need to feed only wet food. I would think free feeding is fine, as long as you remove the food 2 hours before shot time, at least in the beginning, until you get a good idea about how food influences his numbers.
Can you know how much he eats? I don't remember if you have several cats of just Pokey, sorry!
Hi Cecile, he’s still on dry right now but we would switch him to exclusively wet. I’ve never tracked his eating amounts, but that might be a good place to start! If I know how much calories of the Dr. Elsey’s he’s having I can do a conversion to wet.
 
Yes, that's a good start! You can read this post, too, and the ones linked: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/feed-kitty-as-much-as-they-want.205170/
I used the last 2 a lot with Bella, she needed to lose weight and this was a good start for me.
feline-calorie-calculator
https://catinfo.org/feline-obesity-an-epidemic-of-fat-cats/#How_Much_Do_I_Feed
Based off that last link, the formula says he should be having roughly 320 calories per day to maintain. FF pates chicken is 91 calories per can. So 3.5 cans per day. And that’s to maintain, which probably would make sense to start, and decrease from there.
 
Based off that last link, the formula says he should be having roughly 320 calories per day to maintain. FF pates chicken is 91 calories per can. So 3.5 cans per day. And that’s to maintain, which probably would make sense to start, and decrease from there.
Do you have a sense of how many calories he is getting now? With the wet-dry combo? Let his weight be your guide - if he needs to lose weight, you want to feed less so that he gradually loses weight and if he needs to put on weight, you need to feed more. My kitties were around 10-11 lbs and I fed far less than the number of calories that the formula threw up. I think they would have been obese if I fed them that many calories. ECID I guess!
 
Do you have a sense of how many calories he is getting now? With the wet-dry combo? Let his weight be your guide - if he needs to lose weight, you want to feed less so that he gradually loses weight and if he needs to put on weight, you need to feed more. My kitties were around 10-11 lbs and I fed far less than the number of calories that the formula threw up. I think they would have been obese if I fed them that many calories. ECID I guess!
Thanks for that data point! That’s my project for the next couple days, gather data on what he’s eating now with the combo. Then go from there with the wet.
 
My Shooter is almost 20lbs and he eats about 4 cans of FF pate a day. It's probably too much but he isn't gaining, so that's good. ;)
Yea that’s great! That seems to be in line with what I’m seeing. Thanks for sharing. They just have big bones :woot:
 
While I hate potentially giving them business bc I found their customer service severely lacking, I got a One Fast Cat exercise wheel for my hypothyroid cat. Like human treadmills it’s sort of an expensive towel rack, and he only uses it when I hold a treat in front of his nose, but hope springs eternal he will lose weight before he’s my diabetic hypothyroid cat. Muz ignoring my suggestion he go run on it for awhile
upload_2024-12-6_7-9-0.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-6_7-9-0.jpeg
    upload_2024-12-6_7-9-0.jpeg
    51 KB · Views: 66
Back
Top