12/5 Emmett AMPS 94 +4 76 +6 68 +8 88 +9 68

KLD

Member Since 2024
Will edit with previous thread.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-4-emmett-amps-95.296294/#post-3225689

Emmett has been on a bit of a rollercoaster today. He’s been refusing all of his low carb food, even the tried and true favourites, so he’s literally only been eating MC and HC today. He’s still been on the verge of dipping low all day (on the pet meter).

I’m out of the house for the next little bit so I’m hoping he behaves for the next few hours. But I’m anticipating not being able to give him insulin tonight.
 
PMBG 70. Another skipped dose tonight.
 
Yeah I agree on the skip. I’m also pondering a reduction, since all you fed was MC and HC and he was in all greens on pet meter. Last time you caught a 67 on pet meter I think and it was 34 on human meter. Well I guess maybe see how tonight’s cycle goes, and what his preshot is tomorrow. Cheeky boy, he’s just showing off now :D:D
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Yeah I agree on the skip. I’m also pondering a reduction, since all you fed was MC and HC and he was in all greens on pet meter. Last time you caught a 67 on pet meter I think and it was 34 on human meter. Well I guess maybe see how tonight’s cycle goes, and what his preshot is tomorrow. Cheeky boy, he’s just showing off now :D:D
Yeah, that was my thought. I was too panicked coming home from dinner and didn’t think to test him with the human meter until after he was already eating (MC) so I’m not sure what it would have read, but the few times I have tested him at similar numbers it seems to be under 50 on the human meter.

I’m at the point where I’m like, okay how many more reductions can we actually take lol. But his vet did predict he would end up on a tiny dose.
 
It takes 20-30 minutes for food to impact the bg so if it wasn’t longer another test would have been valid.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
I’m at the point where I’m like, okay how many more reductions can we actually take lol. But his vet did predict he would end up on a tiny dose.

Interesting. Sounds like the vet has some psychic skills, like Carnac the Magnificent?! :p Maybe ask your vet for some lotto ticket numbers, just in case lol
 
Interesting. Sounds like the vet has some psychic skills, like Carnac the Magnificent?! :p Maybe ask your vet for some lotto ticket numbers, just in case lol
Haha, I’m not sure what her reasoning was, maybe just because he seemed to respond so well to Lantus. Though she wanted him to start on 1 unit of Lantus and I kept him on his Prozinc dose instead.
 
Yes, I saw that when I did read back a little. I’m glad you didn’t start at 1u after already being on Prozinc. That usually doesn’t work well, it’d be like starting over. So your vet was 1/2 right :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Yeah, even if he now needs a tiny dose, I think he needed that higher starting dose to get him regulated. No reason to start from scratch.
 
I actually think our two boys are colluding on who can get and stay at 0.5u faster and possibly beyond?! ;). Either way and regardless of dose and what he’s got planned next, like I said a few days ago, just look back on Emmett’s progress, it’s pretty amazing.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Thank you :), after the 2nd year into it, I figured we would likely be pretty much on insulin no matter what, and as the years went by, well the idea of the “H*n*eym**n” faded. But nothing wrong with still having a little hope, even after all this time.

Hope Emmett stays in the nice greens tonight.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
When I couldn’t get Emmett properly regulated after a few months (after everyone IRL telling me he was so young with a clear cause for his diabetes, so he would probably go into remission quickly) I just went, well this is the next 10-15 years of my life I guess. I am back to having a little hope now, but as long as he stays regulated I’m okay with that too.
 
:bighug::bighug:I agree. Regulation first, then…hopefully…and just remember, he’s getting into a lot of healing greens, all that extra time his pancreas doesn’t have to work gives it a chance to heal ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Back
Top