12/4 Tess AMPS~193 PMPS~223 +1~193 +2~170 +3~171 +11~324

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Tess GA

Member Since 2010
12/3 Condo
12/3 RECAP:
• AMPS~290, fed 1.0oz. 1% raw, .50u
• +1~235 fed .50oz. 2% raw mix
• +2~194 fed .50oz. 2% raw mix
• +3~186 fed .50oz. 1% raw
• +5~253
• +11~291
• PMPS~278, fed 1.0oz. 1% raw, .50u
• +1 fed .50oz. 2%
• +2~148 fed .50oz. 2%
• +3 ~120 fed .50oz. 1% raw
• +4~119
• +6:30~113
• +11~194
• AMPS~193, fed 1.0oz. 2% raw mix .50u
• +1~190 fed .50oz. 2%

Good Morning LL! Blue AMPS this morning so I held off on the increase and last night's surf was pretty good too. Things are pretty quiet and the rain is starting and Tess is more cuddly than playful.

Repeating a couple of questions from last night:
The other day I thought that Tess was coming around to this dose, we're getting discouraged though. If we don't see some better numbers tonight we will go back to her favorite dose of fat .5 u. tomorrow. Hear that Tess! It had been suggested a few days ago, but Tess has always taken longer than most cats to settle into a dose.
I did stay with the .5u today since we finally have a blue preshot again, but am thinking overall perhaps we should still take her dose up.

I have a question about shot site too. Last month I began moving the site around because I was feeling a thickening or callusing where I had been shooting, about 1.5" to 2" area on either side, just behind the shoulder blade. She seldom even flinched when I shot, now as soon as I pull up the tent she stops eating and sometimes even jumps away. Other times it's when I inject the Lantus that she jumps. Any suggestions?

Also shooting in the scruff, I've never shot there but was wondering if it would help for the sensitivity and also w/ how quickly onset seems to start for Tess. Right now she often nadirs at +3 or 4


WCR Just 4 Ps so far today and a good appetite but not starving kitty mode today.I forgot to check er dish last night and I don't know if she finished her last meal, or if not when she did. :oops: And I'e discovered that if I turn the really soft mushy type food into a soup she like them better. It's all about the texture with this girl.
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 +1~190 increase?

you hold us all to a pretty high standard, Lady Ann!

i'm proud of myself for getting off the couch, and you chose to get, what..an hour's worth of sleep and didn't check tessie's dish??

for shame!!! :lol:
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 +1~190 increase?

Very nice cycle last night and this morning for Tess. Looks like she has decided to make it an interesting morning for you. Be good Tess - nice a slow, and no diving. I had better check and make sure none of Mannie's diving equipment is missing....

Sous Chef Tess! You ready? Party and cooking today - for Essi! Should I pick you up? ~~ Chef Mannie -- oh, and uhhhhhhh, we need some lizards, and rosemary - I will come and help you...
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 +1~190 increase?

Ronnie replied yesterday with this and I agree that moving the shot around helps. Experimenting is the only way to really know how Tess will react. If you do feel a thickening where you have been shooting, then definitely move the location Ann. You might be shooting closer to the muscle when you shoot in other places and that may be why she is jumping a little.

Ronnie & Luna said:
Hi Ann
my thoughts: its possible a little fur or skin was pinched too much for comfort on Tess...this happened to me once, and it freaked me out that I had to have DBF shoot cuz I got too chicken, lol.
I've often heard moving the shot placement around, rotation around the general area you usually shoot at

I think they get used to certain things, and by changing the location, maybe you are starling her or something. Maybe the old area was thicker and she didn't feel the shot as much. It is just a matter of trying new places and seeing if it makes a difference with the numbers.....
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 +1~190 increase?

Hi Ann, It sounds like Tess was used to the old shooting places and that when you started to move them around she didn't like the change. I've heard that the insulin is not as well absorbed if you shoot on the scruff, but I can't recall where I read that (but do know that it was in several places). Good luck. Rusty automatically makes a squeeking noise when I shoot, and often he will make it before I'm anywhere near the shot place!! My main problem is being able to get a tent because all that fur gets in the way, even when I try to pull it up!
Have a great Caturday. Rusty is beginning in Chef Mannie's kitchen as an apprentice, so tell Tess to keep an eye on him!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 +1~190 +2~141 increase?

It looks like Tess is trying to get into the race. I fed her some 3% this time.

Think GREEN! Think GREEN! Think GREEN! Think GREEN! Think GREEN!
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 +1~190 +2~141 increase?

Come on Tess - I just made green - come and visit me! Think GREEN! Think GREEN! Think GREEN! Think GREEN! Think GREEN! We are so close today... I was a 154 at +2... i am waiting for you - maybe we can go surfin' before we head off to the kitchen? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 +1~190 +2~141 +3~114 increase?

Well, the good thing is that she is going slowly. The bad is that she does'nt want to cross that green line! :? I'm still wondering if we should fatten up and rev the engines up to get her going again.

Mannie, I'm trying! Yes lets surf, even if I stay blue. -- Tess
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 +1~190 +2~141 +3~114 increase?

SO close Tess - the next one will be the green ticket I know it! Your +3 is ahead of mine - so GO GIRL! Hey these lizards are a challenge - are they always so hard to catch? and yes on the surfin'! I am so there!!! ~~ Mannie

IMHO, and FWIW - maybe the fat is what she needs to jump start things. Wish I was an expert, certainly am not, but... ???
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 +1~190 +2~141 +3~114 increase?

Ann...I always move Gracie's shot around. Like Ella, I've heard that there is less absorption in the scruff but I haven't been able to tell any difference. Sometimes Gracie gives a little tiny eek and sometimes not. So weird that
a little tiny needle could make a thickened area...I know we worry about it with our renal kitties and their squids but thoe are 21g needles...I use 31g with Gracie. Glad to see Tess headed for green...come on girl!!!

Sous Chef Tess...I'm all ready for the pawtay!! Mannie is picking me up in the roadster and I heard Binks is ready to go too!!!
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 +1~190 +2~141 +3~114 +5~169 increase?

Tess - about face - wrong way with the +5....

Hey guys - let's surf - we got a few before cheffin' duties take over. ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 +1~190 +2~141 +3~114 +5~169 increase?

Tess is going back up right after her early nadir. So we will fatten the dose tonight. I guess we've answered that part of the question. We're in the blues, but she just won't stay down there.

Thanks everyone. I know that it is good to move the shot site, I understand the callousing and started using an even greater area to minimize it. I'm just concerned at how much more sensitive she has become since I started doing it. I've had a couple of probable fur shots when she jumps away. She used to just sit there and eat, maybe twitch her skin a little. Now as soon as I touch her she stops and waits, and tries to move away as soon as I touch her with the needle or start to inject.

Also, that's when her numbers started jumping around. With her early nadir she often drops like crazy early, there just isn't time for the nice slow decline. Then the climb begins, often sky rocketing because of the steep drop. No surf. What I want to know is if there is less absorption or just slower absorption in the scruff and if that could help to delay onset and thus move her nadir later.
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 +1~190 +2~141 +3~114 +5~169 increase?

I have no answer on the scruff question. Logic for me would say slower absorption? I just don't truly know however. I hope others do. Good luck - I'm curious what others have to say.

Good luck to on the increase - perhaps that is all she needs.
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 +1~190 +2~141 +3~114 +5~169 increase?

Ann & Tess said:
What I want to know is if there is less absorption or just slower absorption in the scruff and if that could help to delay onset and thus move her nadir later.
hi ann. some have noticed shooting in the scruff results in slower absorption. i've always shot alex in the scruff or in the shoulder area. i did try giving her a few flank shots, but let's just say i value the use of my hands too much to try it again!

when i use the shoulder area, i pull up her skin between my thumb and fingers. if you slightly roll the skin, you can feel (for lack of a better description) the loose top layer of skin. rather than shooting into the "tent", i insert the needle into that loose layer... parallel to her body. that way it's next to impossible to mistakenly hit muscle.

something else which seems to make a difference with alex... i always shoot with the bevel of the needle facing up.

hope that helps...
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 PMPS~223 +1~193

Thanks Jill, we went for the fat dose tonight, so she is back to her favorite, f.5u. Dropping already at +1 and praying for no NDW this time around.
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 PMPS~223 +1~193

Go Tess - nice on the pmps, and the +1. come on tess - you can do it! good luck Ann!

Hey Tess -we had almost the same pmps! but you are doing better than me... :cool: SWEET! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/4 Tess AMPS~193 PMPS~223 +1~193

Ann...I shoot Gracie the same way as Jill described...I don't tent her like I do when I give squids. I mainly do it like Jill said because if I tented Gracie, I'd give fur shots....she is so plush. By rolling it, I can see skin and inject into skin and make sure I have it pulled up enough to avoid muscle.

Tess...I'm right behind you and Mannie!!!! Isn't this party the greatest with all the best food!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top