12/31 Loudogg AMPS 310 +8 227 PMPS 319 +8 245 - Surprise Blizzard & Vet Drama

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
December 30, 2018 Condo - D-Mannose started for possible UTI

Good morning all,
I'm a cranky mess this morning, haha. Even though I was going to be in a good mood and get through my last work day before I have the next 2 days off. The forecast for today was a chance of light snow. I woke up today and realized as I was leaving for work that we were in a full blown blizzard. :eek: I think the blowing snow/visibility was worse today than it was for the blizzard last week. Good times. It's supposed to go til about 6pm this evening and then be super cold overnight. I just hope I don't get stuck on the way home.

As for Lou, I called the vet today to make an appointment, and the only option I got was to bring him to the vet to leave him, possibly overnight, until they get a urine specimen. I expressed my displeasure about that, especially considering he's diabetic. "Oh you can just bring his insulin and leave it and we can give it to him." I asked if there's someone there overnight, and she said no. So I'm supposed to potentially leave my diabetic overnight without anyone to watch him? So I asked if a specimen is left overnight, when is it tested? "Oh the first person in will test it." :facepalm: It won't even be good anymore! I asked about the ___centesis process, but apparently they only do that if they can't get a urine sample after 24 hours. :mad: So they don't care about getting a "clean catch" sample that can be cultured. I am in complete and utter shock. THIS is the place I've been bringing my kids? THIS is the place I trust to look after my pets?! I'm so upset right now. How can I bring them back if they don't even know how to do basic testing? Can I trust any manual testing they've done at this point if they don't even know the basics (or timeframes) for testing urines? My only sadness about not going back there is they're literally down the street from our house. It's nice that they're so close.

Needless to say, I don't know what to do at this point. The holiday is throwing everything off anyway, but I guess I'm in the market for a new vet. I should probably talk to Caleb to see if I'm overreacting, but I don't think I am. Hopefully I can get him in somewhere else on Wednesday. I started the D-Mannose last night at PMPS and I'm giving him 1 tsp 4 times per day. Hopefully this will help until I can get him in to someone to make sure nothing else is going on. I'm planning in increasing him tomorrow morning to 3.0u. I thought about doing it tonight, but I guess I'll give it the full 6 cycles to ensure it's not working right.

I hope you all have a wonderful and stress-free day today. Sending vines to Tracey and Mr. Jones (@Tracey&Jones) and to anyone else in need. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’m sorry to hear Lou isn’t feeling well, Bella isn’t either, he’s puking and won’t eat, possible pancreatitis, vet appointment at 4, Sending healing vines your way
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Sounds like you need lots of hugs.... A surprise blizzard and the daunting task of needing to find a new vet when your kitty is unwell is enough to ruin anyone's day. Sending healing vines for Lou and more :bighug::bighug: for you.
 
I wouldn't get the urine sample until you can run it in to vets office. When you get one, put in the fridge until you can run it in. Make sure you let the vet know it was in the fridge. I have to do the same for Olive, since its a holiday I know not to get one earlier than Tuesday during the night . Except she is on AB now so there is no point in getting one at all until its finished. Good Luck.

Happy New Year!!!!!
 
I'm so sorry. That sounds so stressful. Maybe you should ask to talk to the vet directly about the urine sample. Maybe the person you talked to is just clueless. I hope Lou feels better soon and you can get something worked out with the vet. I hope you get home safely. Sending prayers.
 
I would insist on a cysto. Clean catch urine sample is not the best for culture. You know that, even if they don’t. You were probably talking to some part time front desk staff who doesn’t know any better. After all, you are the client, you request the service, they provide it.:bighug:
 
Thanks everyone, it's good to know I'm not overreacting. I'm still a bit hot over it, haha. I was planning on seeing what I could get at home and bring it in. It wouldn't be good enough for culture, but at least it would give them some information. I'm not leaving him there.

How is Lou acting? I think that's the most important thing.
So far, he's doing just fine. If it wasn't for the high BGs and the pee on the floor, I wouldn't have any idea there was something wrong. I don't know how his numbers are today. I'm assuming the same old crap since Caleb hasn't mentioned it. Although it might have been my hopeful imagination, he seemed more himself last night. Hanging out with us instead of going off to the bedroom to nap.
 
he's doing just fine.

Maybe it was just the "start" of something & the D Mannose is checking it? All the poking & stuff at the vet would really get him stressed. I do know that stress (even in me) can make things much worse!
If he's acting Ok I'd just wait & see. Did he only pee on the floor the one time?
Ravan just went into a really high bounce Over 500. Something new,2 weeks ago when I increased his dose he did a huge bounce that lasted 4 cycles now everytime I increase ,even a tiny bit he gets high bounces that last a long time.

Maybe in a day or so Lou will be back to normal. If not then I'd be thinking about the vet?

Hope Lou is better each day & all of you have a Great New Year! :)
 
Thank you! I'm willing to give it a try, and it helps knowing I have to wait until Wednesday minimum because of the New Year's holiday anyway. Hopefully his numbers will come down. He may have only peed on the floor once, but I don't know. He may have done it more than once in the one place, but obviously there's no way to know.

On a different note, I know I said I'd wait to increase him to 3.0u until tomorrow morning, but seeing him at only 227 and then back up over 300 at PMPS made me decide to pull the trigger and increase tonight instead. I'll be home to monitor of course. Hopefully we'll see some blues!!

Happy New Year everyone! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Here is how I finally able to get a urine sample from Gizmo (free catch).

I used a small cardboard half box that cat food comes in and put it in a garbage bag. Then put the "litter" in that. I used Hydrophobic Sand. The urine just runs off to a corner of the box (garbage bag) but the sand feels like litter to them. Then I used a pipette to get urine into test tubes.

This method can't be used for culture but can be used for testing urine for everything else. Urine should be refrigerated if more than 4-6 hours before it can be taken to be tested.
 
Back
Top