12/30 Pat's Shadow AMPS=134 PMPS=265 I'm HOME!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
:mrgreen: You have NO idea how happy I am to be home!!!
Raja had a tough time of it I think, but Shadow was very sweet and friendly to DPS. She helped me out so much by adding two days to her services!
What a day we had today though. I needed desperately to go out for supplies, DH and I are not feeling too great and DD had a fever when we touched down last night....102.5 today. :sad: Chicken soup is on the menu for tonight....
Here are Shadow's numbers for today:
AMPS=134 2.50u Lev
+3=51
+3.5=81
+4=60
+5=86
+6=68
+8=32
+8.15=53
+8.5=61
PMPS=265 ~2.25u Lev

I gave him a dosecrease to 2.25u tonight after that 31. I had been out shopping for test strips and food when I came home to that. :o
Shadow gave DPS a couple of lowish numbers and he got no insulin the first night we were gone and the following morning. I got his SS updated with the numbers she had for him. 12/28 he was 74 at PMPS so once again he got no shot. she was giving him 1.50u when she did shoot and I gave him his old dose this morning....that didn't last long. He will take some time to get back on track.

Ann and Michelle were right.....there is NO way I am going to want to ever leave here again! DH wanted to go up for Christmas Eve so we could all be with his DS who is very ill. Normally, I would not want to go up north in the winter, but we decided that this was important to do it this year.
We had our return booked for Monday night12/27.
They predicted flurries for that night. Ha. Flurries they said???

Then, on Christmas day, they finally said that we were going to have snow....not really saying exactly when they expected it to start. We got on the phone with Jet Blue and changed our flight to Sunday at 5pm...thinking that we would make it out before the snow really hit hard. By Sunday morning, they had canceled that new flight or ours! It was just a stroke of luck that when I called Jet Blue at 12:30, the wait was 45 minutes for me.....I got an agent who was in Salt lake City on his day off....using his home computer to help out. What a load of calls jet Blue was getting and I lucked out with the shorter wait of 45 minutes. I think people had been holding for hours earlier! When he asked if I wanted the 6 am or 7:50 am flight on Wednesday, I told him to book the 5 pm flight instead. Our third booking for this return!
We had just left the diner where we met with Roni and Bradley and had the BEST time!! How wonderful to meet in person!!! :mrgreen: We said our farewells as the snow started falling harder. The snow piled up as we settled in with my sister and her family. BOO on the NY weathermen who were so vague about this storm!!

We watched as all the other flights on both Monday and Tuesday were canceled. Had I NOT booked the new flight for Sunday and waited for my original flight on Monday night, I might be looking at a flight home after the new year! :o
There was such a mob at the ticket counter ....lines curling all around the front of the terminal when we showed up at the airport. Jet Blue's phone lines were mobbed from Sunday on and they would end the call due to the volume of calls waiting. There were 21 standbys for our flight....and we traveled with flight attendants who were repositioning in Tampa to bring some stranded flights out of there....they flights before us that day were all canceled so it is great that I didn't book the earlier flights. It was such luck that brought us home last night.

We were so fortunate that we had family in New York to stay with too.....it all worked out so nicely for us and I am truly thankful. I know there are thousands of people stranded there....the roads were not plowed. What a mess! I heard that ambulances were 24 hours behind and many tragedies occurred. DPS was able to come for us and the kitties were fed and warm at home. So, while I missed them terribly, they were taken care of. And so ends the tale of the Blizzard of 2010 in New York for us.....we did manage to get into the city on our first night...Thursday....it was beautiful! DH said he liked driving in the snow again...like old times.... LOL. I don't miss it though! SO happy to be back....
There's NO place like HOME!!! :lol:

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas....missed you all so much..... :YMHUG:
 
Welcome Home, Pat! I am so glad you made it home safely. I have been reading the horror stories about people stranded there at JFK with no food, and all I could think about was you, and wondering if you were doing OK. I hope you don't get that full blown cold that is brewing. I am so glad your DPS was able to take care of the kitties. Thanks so much for updating us. (((Hugs))).
 
WELCOME HOME, PAT!!! We are so happy that you managed to get a flight this year! Too bad you caught colds, but now that you are home you can have some good chicken soup (the KTSS will be over later) and get some rest and relax with your kitties. Shadow has good numbers despite the disruptions. Haven't checked Raja's condo yet.

So put your feet up and have a great evening.
Many hugs,

Ella & Rusty
Hey Shad-0, hey Raja: big New Year's Eve party in my barn tomorrow night. Mannie will pick you up in the bus. See you then!
Rusty
 
There's no place like home, There's no place like home, Dorothy you aint in Kansas anymore!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I couldnt be happier that you are home, but had a great time with you!! Cats must be so so so happy that you are there!
NY weather men with snow, and Florida weathermen with Hurricanes--Both say Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah!!--I am convinced they really dont know with all the radar & tracking-
Shadow & Raja are having their own celebration tonite--Their Beans Are Home :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: party_cat party_cat party_cat
Glad you got there & glad you were here--Hugs from Us--Kitties you can have good numbers again now!!
 
What a trip! But it seems you had luck o your side on a number of occasions. At least the kitties were fine and you got to spend more time w/ your family. I'ts good to have you back. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Shadow is doing so well. Absolutely great numbers today!
 
YAY!!! Welcome home!

You were very lucky and I'm so glad all of the cards fell into place for you to not be overly delayed. Clearly, your kitties missed you and we did too.
 
WELCOME HOME, PAT!!!
YOU WERE MISSED, MY FRIEND!!!


hope both you and DH are feeling better soon...

how cool to meet Roni & Bradley...and helloooo shadow-man!
 
:YMHUG: Welcome Home!! Missed you A LOT.......... Shadow is giving quite the gift to have momma back!!! :mrgreen:
 
Yay!!!Welcome Home Pat...

Oh my what an experience you've had ....


(((((((((((((((((Pat & Family & Kitties & the DPS too!)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
 
Hi Pat!

Sounds like your going to be wearing the ruby slippers from now on. Glad you made it safely home. What a mess! It must be a tad warmer too. It's a good thing that you have DPS and that you can depend on them. Otherwise you really would have been pulling your hair out.

Glad to have you back. Missed you here. Hope you can get Shadow back on track soon.

Oh I'm sure Raja is glad that your back too. :mrgreen:

Hope you and DH feel better soon.

Have a good day.

jan and sara
 
Glad you're home, safe and sound. How neat that you got to spend time with Roni, too! I've met a few board members and it really is special to be able to do that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top