Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)
Member Since 2009
:mrgreen: You have NO idea how happy I am to be home!!!
Raja had a tough time of it I think, but Shadow was very sweet and friendly to DPS. She helped me out so much by adding two days to her services!
What a day we had today though. I needed desperately to go out for supplies, DH and I are not feeling too great and DD had a fever when we touched down last night....102.5 today. :sad: Chicken soup is on the menu for tonight....
Here are Shadow's numbers for today:
AMPS=134 2.50u Lev
+3=51
+3.5=81
+4=60
+5=86
+6=68
+8=32
+8.15=53
+8.5=61
PMPS=265 ~2.25u Lev
I gave him a dosecrease to 2.25u tonight after that 31. I had been out shopping for test strips and food when I came home to that.
Shadow gave DPS a couple of lowish numbers and he got no insulin the first night we were gone and the following morning. I got his SS updated with the numbers she had for him. 12/28 he was 74 at PMPS so once again he got no shot. she was giving him 1.50u when she did shoot and I gave him his old dose this morning....that didn't last long. He will take some time to get back on track.
Ann and Michelle were right.....there is NO way I am going to want to ever leave here again! DH wanted to go up for Christmas Eve so we could all be with his DS who is very ill. Normally, I would not want to go up north in the winter, but we decided that this was important to do it this year.
We had our return booked for Monday night12/27.
They predicted flurries for that night. Ha. Flurries they said???
Then, on Christmas day, they finally said that we were going to have snow....not really saying exactly when they expected it to start. We got on the phone with Jet Blue and changed our flight to Sunday at 5pm...thinking that we would make it out before the snow really hit hard. By Sunday morning, they had canceled that new flight or ours! It was just a stroke of luck that when I called Jet Blue at 12:30, the wait was 45 minutes for me.....I got an agent who was in Salt lake City on his day off....using his home computer to help out. What a load of calls jet Blue was getting and I lucked out with the shorter wait of 45 minutes. I think people had been holding for hours earlier! When he asked if I wanted the 6 am or 7:50 am flight on Wednesday, I told him to book the 5 pm flight instead. Our third booking for this return!
We had just left the diner where we met with Roni and Bradley and had the BEST time!! How wonderful to meet in person!!! :mrgreen: We said our farewells as the snow started falling harder. The snow piled up as we settled in with my sister and her family. BOO on the NY weathermen who were so vague about this storm!!
We watched as all the other flights on both Monday and Tuesday were canceled. Had I NOT booked the new flight for Sunday and waited for my original flight on Monday night, I might be looking at a flight home after the new year!
There was such a mob at the ticket counter ....lines curling all around the front of the terminal when we showed up at the airport. Jet Blue's phone lines were mobbed from Sunday on and they would end the call due to the volume of calls waiting. There were 21 standbys for our flight....and we traveled with flight attendants who were repositioning in Tampa to bring some stranded flights out of there....they flights before us that day were all canceled so it is great that I didn't book the earlier flights. It was such luck that brought us home last night.
We were so fortunate that we had family in New York to stay with too.....it all worked out so nicely for us and I am truly thankful. I know there are thousands of people stranded there....the roads were not plowed. What a mess! I heard that ambulances were 24 hours behind and many tragedies occurred. DPS was able to come for us and the kitties were fed and warm at home. So, while I missed them terribly, they were taken care of. And so ends the tale of the Blizzard of 2010 in New York for us.....we did manage to get into the city on our first night...Thursday....it was beautiful! DH said he liked driving in the snow again...like old times.... LOL. I don't miss it though! SO happy to be back....
There's NO place like HOME!!! :lol:
I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas....missed you all so much..... :YMHUG:
Raja had a tough time of it I think, but Shadow was very sweet and friendly to DPS. She helped me out so much by adding two days to her services!
What a day we had today though. I needed desperately to go out for supplies, DH and I are not feeling too great and DD had a fever when we touched down last night....102.5 today. :sad: Chicken soup is on the menu for tonight....
Here are Shadow's numbers for today:
AMPS=134 2.50u Lev
+3=51
+3.5=81
+4=60
+5=86
+6=68
+8=32
+8.15=53
+8.5=61
PMPS=265 ~2.25u Lev
I gave him a dosecrease to 2.25u tonight after that 31. I had been out shopping for test strips and food when I came home to that.
Shadow gave DPS a couple of lowish numbers and he got no insulin the first night we were gone and the following morning. I got his SS updated with the numbers she had for him. 12/28 he was 74 at PMPS so once again he got no shot. she was giving him 1.50u when she did shoot and I gave him his old dose this morning....that didn't last long. He will take some time to get back on track.
Ann and Michelle were right.....there is NO way I am going to want to ever leave here again! DH wanted to go up for Christmas Eve so we could all be with his DS who is very ill. Normally, I would not want to go up north in the winter, but we decided that this was important to do it this year.
We had our return booked for Monday night12/27.
They predicted flurries for that night. Ha. Flurries they said???
Then, on Christmas day, they finally said that we were going to have snow....not really saying exactly when they expected it to start. We got on the phone with Jet Blue and changed our flight to Sunday at 5pm...thinking that we would make it out before the snow really hit hard. By Sunday morning, they had canceled that new flight or ours! It was just a stroke of luck that when I called Jet Blue at 12:30, the wait was 45 minutes for me.....I got an agent who was in Salt lake City on his day off....using his home computer to help out. What a load of calls jet Blue was getting and I lucked out with the shorter wait of 45 minutes. I think people had been holding for hours earlier! When he asked if I wanted the 6 am or 7:50 am flight on Wednesday, I told him to book the 5 pm flight instead. Our third booking for this return!
We had just left the diner where we met with Roni and Bradley and had the BEST time!! How wonderful to meet in person!!! :mrgreen: We said our farewells as the snow started falling harder. The snow piled up as we settled in with my sister and her family. BOO on the NY weathermen who were so vague about this storm!!
We watched as all the other flights on both Monday and Tuesday were canceled. Had I NOT booked the new flight for Sunday and waited for my original flight on Monday night, I might be looking at a flight home after the new year!
There was such a mob at the ticket counter ....lines curling all around the front of the terminal when we showed up at the airport. Jet Blue's phone lines were mobbed from Sunday on and they would end the call due to the volume of calls waiting. There were 21 standbys for our flight....and we traveled with flight attendants who were repositioning in Tampa to bring some stranded flights out of there....they flights before us that day were all canceled so it is great that I didn't book the earlier flights. It was such luck that brought us home last night.
We were so fortunate that we had family in New York to stay with too.....it all worked out so nicely for us and I am truly thankful. I know there are thousands of people stranded there....the roads were not plowed. What a mess! I heard that ambulances were 24 hours behind and many tragedies occurred. DPS was able to come for us and the kitties were fed and warm at home. So, while I missed them terribly, they were taken care of. And so ends the tale of the Blizzard of 2010 in New York for us.....we did manage to get into the city on our first night...Thursday....it was beautiful! DH said he liked driving in the snow again...like old times.... LOL. I don't miss it though! SO happy to be back....
There's NO place like HOME!!! :lol:
I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas....missed you all so much..... :YMHUG: