12/30 Papaya PMPS=80 +2.7=37 +4=67 +5=44 +6=43

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Papaya (GA)

Member Since 2012
Dec. 20

Hello LL! Papaya and I are back home. She did really well during the week or so while we were at my parents' place, with lots of green and lower-than-her-usual bounces. After three days of hitting 40s I looked at her SS and realized I could have actually reduced earlier since she had some lower numbers near the beginning of this dose! She spent lots of time sitting on the couch between my parents and didn't hide under furniture too much. She even patted me awake one morning to advise me that her BG was rather low.

Yesterday I was planning to make the 4-1/2 hour cartrip starting mid-morning. However, by breakfast time for humans, Papaya's BG was down to around 50 and the temperature outside was at a similar number BELOW zero. I kid you not, the temp was -37 C plus windchill making it feel like -50 C (that's -58 F!!). Ack. Combined with Papaya's low numbers I decided to wait until around noon before leaving to make the trip safer. Unfortunately that meant that her PM shot had to be about an hour late, and combined with the stress of the car trip and the bounce, she was HI on the meter by the time we got home. She was drinking a lot of water last night - but actually after all that driving with the heat blasting in the car, so was I! :lol: She inspected every room when we got home, including some she hasn't bothered with for a long time. Tonight she's back to nice green again so all is good.
 
Re: 12/30 Papaya PMPS=80

Welcome home you two!! :-D Great PMPS Papaya. I see you didnt' let that trip stress you too much :smile:
Yup that is some cold weather! We only got to -44C with windchill here (thanks Rachel :-x :lol: ), but that is cooooooold enough. Thank goodness nothing happened on the trip home. You wouldn't want to be broken down in that kind of weather :o
Sounds like your girl was wonderful at your parents place. So nice when they aren't all stressed out. Let's the beans really be able to relax :-D
Have a great night Amy! Glad you're back, missed your condos :-D
 
Re: 12/30 Papaya PMPS=80 +2.6=37 (!)

Thanks, Kim! I was keeping an eye on Twice's OTJ trial day count to make sure I didn't miss the party :-D

Wow, after the reduction and not too many dives lately, I wasn't expecting such a drop. Papaya got HC for that 37 and I'll test again in 1/2 hour. So much for relaxing :lol:
 
Re: 12/30 Papaya PMPS=80 +2.6=37 (!)

Whoa, Papaya is really happy to be home? :shock: I'm glad Papaya is doing so well, but come up a bit, little one, to a higher green. I've been wondering how you two were, glad you're home safe :-D Yuck on the temps. Although Kim, I didn't send it that way, I swear! We are still in the middle of a snowfall warning, again,...but only -19C with a -27 windchill ;-)
 
Re: 12/30 Papaya PMPS=80 +2.6=37 (!)

Papaya is doing great. I hope she comes up for you tonight. I guess the trip didn't bother her any. I'm glad you made it home safely. Wow on that temperature.
 
Re: 12/30 Papaya PMPS=80 +2.6=37 (!)

Wholey moley Papaya! :shock: :shock: :shock: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Time to resurface!!!

Looks like she is more than glad to be home and VERY tired of this dose. :cool: I'm glad you had a good trip with the family and that Papaya was so social.

I'll just shut up about the temps here - you Prairie girls just wouldn't sympathize much. Good call on the not traveling in that cold. When we went to Colorado for Neko's SRT, it was 35C and I was testing a diving cat in the car with DH keeping the engine and A/C running. Not something I would have wanted to do alone.
 
Re: 12/30 Papaya PMPS=80 +2.7=37 +3.25=73

Hi Rachel, Carla and Wendy! It's nice to hear from you all . . . I've missed everyone :-D

Now I'm not sure if that 37 was maybe a small blood sample that gave an incorrect reading, since even HC doesn't usually bump her up this much. She wasn't acting like she felt her BG dropping so the 37 really surprised me - usually she'll sit up and show she wants some food just when she hits 50 but she was sleeping soundly, and wasn't as ravenous as I would have expected with a number like that. I just didn't want to waste time retesting so I dashed for the food!

One way or the other, I'll test frequently until I'm sure what's going on! If the 37 was right and this is just the HC's effect, she may be headed back down quickly.
 
Oh my! I went to bed too early and missed Papaya's antics! Guess she really is tired of this dose, and those higher carbs did their job :o
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top