Amy & Papaya (GA)
Member Since 2012
Dec. 20
Hello LL! Papaya and I are back home. She did really well during the week or so while we were at my parents' place, with lots of green and lower-than-her-usual bounces. After three days of hitting 40s I looked at her SS and realized I could have actually reduced earlier since she had some lower numbers near the beginning of this dose! She spent lots of time sitting on the couch between my parents and didn't hide under furniture too much. She even patted me awake one morning to advise me that her BG was rather low.
Yesterday I was planning to make the 4-1/2 hour cartrip starting mid-morning. However, by breakfast time for humans, Papaya's BG was down to around 50 and the temperature outside was at a similar number BELOW zero. I kid you not, the temp was -37 C plus windchill making it feel like -50 C (that's -58 F!!). Ack. Combined with Papaya's low numbers I decided to wait until around noon before leaving to make the trip safer. Unfortunately that meant that her PM shot had to be about an hour late, and combined with the stress of the car trip and the bounce, she was HI on the meter by the time we got home. She was drinking a lot of water last night - but actually after all that driving with the heat blasting in the car, so was I! :lol: She inspected every room when we got home, including some she hasn't bothered with for a long time. Tonight she's back to nice green again so all is good.
Hello LL! Papaya and I are back home. She did really well during the week or so while we were at my parents' place, with lots of green and lower-than-her-usual bounces. After three days of hitting 40s I looked at her SS and realized I could have actually reduced earlier since she had some lower numbers near the beginning of this dose! She spent lots of time sitting on the couch between my parents and didn't hide under furniture too much. She even patted me awake one morning to advise me that her BG was rather low.
Yesterday I was planning to make the 4-1/2 hour cartrip starting mid-morning. However, by breakfast time for humans, Papaya's BG was down to around 50 and the temperature outside was at a similar number BELOW zero. I kid you not, the temp was -37 C plus windchill making it feel like -50 C (that's -58 F!!). Ack. Combined with Papaya's low numbers I decided to wait until around noon before leaving to make the trip safer. Unfortunately that meant that her PM shot had to be about an hour late, and combined with the stress of the car trip and the bounce, she was HI on the meter by the time we got home. She was drinking a lot of water last night - but actually after all that driving with the heat blasting in the car, so was I! :lol: She inspected every room when we got home, including some she hasn't bothered with for a long time. Tonight she's back to nice green again so all is good.