12/30 Blaze AMPS/389, +3/86, +4/70, +4.5/67, +5.5/76, +6/67, +7 and 8/103

Blaze and Paola

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...3-115-4-106-5-79-6-79-11-234-pmps-245.257127/

Hi everyone,
Today Blaze had 2 readings of 67 during the same cycle. First 67 at +4.5, he went up to 76 at +5.5 but he went down again to 67 at +6.
I tested a +11 and he is at 137.
I am going to be home monitoring tonight.
I will get a PMPS soon when it's time.
Is it safe to give Blaze his full 2U tonight?
Vet told me to not decrease his dose unless he goes under 60 because he is now a long term diabetic.
 
Last edited:
PMPS is 106, he went down. He also hasnt eaten in about 3 hours, i removed all food 2 hours ago and he had eaten 1 hour prior and then just slept
 
Sorry I was called away. Good you skipped with his vomiting. I hope it was the hairballs. It’s not worth the risk of shooting though in case that wasn’t it as you can’t really dose cerenia again.
 
Did you get ondansetron? I ask because if you have it and he still doesn’t eat you could try it. It is processed differently and can be given in addition to cerenia even in a regular basis. He doesn’t need both but it’s good to have on hand. If you haven’t filled it wait and see if this problem was a hairball after all.
 
Vet didn't gve me the script for it yet. He told me to try Cerenia for a little while and give him an update.
I don't think it was the hairball...he has stomach pain I think.
Usually after he throws up a hair ball, within 10 minutes he goes and eats if he is hungry.
This time after the hair ball came up. I waited, put a food bowl in front of him and he walked away. I gave him a cerenia and after about 5 minutes, he threw up again.
 
If he’s in pain pancreatitis is more likely. You may need pain medication if he doesn’t improve. I used buprenorphine in a liquid form I squirted in his gums or cheek.
 
I am going to call the vet tomorrow and let him know what happened today. I will ask for ondansetron again and for that liquid pain med. If he keeps being reluctant like he is sometimes I will ask my cousin's friend (a vet that works at the horse race track) to just give me the scripts I need to get these meds. I just thought of this now...maybe that will solve my problem of having to beg my current vet.
 
Back
Top