12/30/14 Keiko AMPS 245

Status
Not open for further replies.

KeikosHuman

Member Since 2014
Last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-29-14-keiko-amps-98-advice-plse.130566/#post-1342663

Yesterday was a great day for Keiko. After 96 and 100s he moved into the 200s at +8 and after the PM shot was 325 at +5. Thank you for your support with everything! I should be able to post tomorrow

I do wonder if his bg pattern is changing. He used to be highest at AMPS. I wonder why he was normal yesterday for so long. The day before I gave him some dried salmon skin for a treat.

I will lower the dose while I'm gone. Would 10 units be too low?
Also, how can you tell if a kitty is going into remission and when its time to lower the dose?
Thank you!
 
Hi Maria - looks like Keiko might be having a bit of a delayed bounce. A bounce described on the second post here http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-dose-wonkiness-ndw-and-failed-reductions.46012/
A bounce is when the numbers go up in reaction to a number than the pancreas detects is lower than what it is used to. It doesn't mean it's necessarily a dangerous low number, just lower than what Keiko's body is used to. Neko has delayed bounces - she goes higher a few cycles after the perceived low event, instead of responding the first cycle after.

You can lower the dose to 10U if it would make you feel more comfortable while you are gone. Because he did start in the 70's on the 20th, I think it would be best to reduce him. I'd still take it back to 11U when you get back, cause he was starting to see green on that dose.

Kitties need less insulin (a lower dose) if at some point during the cycle they go below 50. That's why it's so important to try to get the occasional blood test near Keiko's nadir so you can tell how low the dose is taking him. Remission happens when kitties do enough reductions to take them down to zero units.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top