12/3 - Gen, AMPS 301, +10 >400, Libre

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

Well, we're going to try replacing the Libre sensor today. Last night was full of gaps, and this morning I couldn't actually get a preshot number, technically - the one I'm posting was provided by the app retroactively 40 minutes after I'd decided to go ahead and shoot because he hadn't had any low numbers recently (that I know of) and seemed fine. Not ideal circumstances.

Fortunately, today is also my one remote work day of the week, so there ought to be time to handle things carefully.

I hope everyone has a pleasant Wednesday! Safe surfing to all your kitties.
 
Last edited:
Yesterday

Well, we're going to try replacing the Libre sensor today. Last night was full of gaps, and this morning I couldn't actually get a preshot number, technically - the one I'm posting was provided by the app retroactively 40 minutes after I'd decided to go ahead and shoot because he hadn't had any low numbers recently (that I know of) and seemed fine. Not ideal circumstances.

Fortunately, today is also my my one remote work day of the week, so there ought to be time to handle things carefully.

I hope everyone has a pleasant Wednesday! Safe surfing to all your kitties.
Good luck with the replacement. And you're right, his numbers haven't been low enough to worry about the shot.
 
Sigh. Also, now that I'm past the shock of the hypo crisis and scares (and understand why they happened, i.e. significant dosing errors), I'm frustrated by these high high numbers. I know patience is important and SLGS says to hold each dose for a week, but it's hard.
 
Sigh. Also, now that I'm past the shock of the hypo crisis and scares (and understand why they happened, i.e. significant dosing errors), I'm frustrated by these high high numbers. I know patience is important and SLGS says to hold each dose for a week, but it's hard.
Try not to be too impatient. Several have pointed out that I was like that just a week or so ago, and now I'm having troubles regulate him with what feels like continual limes. I'm not sure which is worse. But the reds and blacks certainly didn't scare me like the limes do.
And here you go! These were given to me when needed here. So I'll pass it on.😁
 

Attachments

  • 1762995187350(1).png
    1762995187350(1).png
    3.4 MB · Views: 33
Good luck with the Libre replacement. Hopefully all goes well.
Also hoping he comes down for you today. Nice and gentle.
And get used to wearing those patience pants. Most of us has worn out our first pairs haha
Happy Wednesday
🤗🐱🐾🏄🏻✨🥰
 
PHEW. We got through the first part - the shaving. He did not like it very much and neither did I, but hopefully we'll get better at it with time and treats (now that I've found one he realllllly likes). Going to give him a break before I try the actual application. Possibly during dinner, even though that may mean I don't have a preshot number again (since letting him have a break means that he has immediately started licking the existing, wonky sensor. I won't be surprised if he has it completely off before I try to do it.)

This cat does not want to be held still or put anywhere that wasn't his idea first. Not ever, thank you very much. Not even with bribes (I swear, this cat might get negatively reinforced towards the treats instead of the desired effect). I respect that about him, but damn.
 
Okay. The sensor is on. But I don't think it's on WELL. Gen squirmed at exactly the wrong moment and I think there's fur under part of the paper. So I'll probably have to do that again sooner than I want, but ... maybe it will work for a little? I'll find out after the requisite setup hour.

Unfortunately, the old sensor is also still attached, because of the stupid surgical glue the vet tech used. I didn't get a really good whack at it because by the time I was trying, Gen was extremely done with me and it was all I could do to get the shirt back on so he didn't immediately attack the new one.

Does anyone have experience with removing a sensor stuck on with surgical glue? @Staci & Ivy @Brianna & Xander ? 😓
 
Last edited:
This cat does not want to be held still or put anywhere that wasn't his idea first. Not ever, thank you very much. Not even with bribes (I swear, this cat might get negatively reinforced towards the treats instead of the desired effect). I respect that about him, but damn.
You could literally be talking about Xander, even the negative reaction to the treats part. He's done that. The associations are crazy and they take so long to break. 🫩

So glad you got the first part done!! It really should get easier with time. I know you don't have anyone to help, but still. When we started it took us like 2 hours to do and now it's like half an hour to 45 minutes, most of that time waiting for fur to dry. The fact that you're managing at all by yourself already puts you ahead of where I started!
Does anyone have experience with removing a sensor stuck on with surgical glue? @Staci & Ivy @Brianna & Xander ? 😓
I think we only had surgical glue a couple of times (the couple times the vet did the application before we started doing it ourselves)... One of the times they took it off themselves and really messed up his poor skin. The other time honestly he probably loosened it himself by messing with it. But the only thing we have ever used for removal at all is the Brava spray. 😕
 
The second one failed too. I'm out. And I'm not going to attempt to subject him to a blood test tonight, he has had ALL the stress and I'm bleeding. I have to trust he'll be okay. I don't know what I'm going to do - I can't take any time off tomorrow. This is such a mess.

I'm so confused - it clicked, but it didn't attach. It just ... stayed on the applicator.

The only bright side here is that I managed to get the one with the vet glue off. My poor boy.

Aaaaaargh.
 
The second one failed too. I'm out. And I'm not going to attempt to subject him to a blood test tonight, he has had ALL the stress and I'm bleeding. I have to trust he'll be okay. I don't know what I'm going to do - I can't take any time off tomorrow. This is such a mess.

I'm so confused - it clicked, but it didn't attach. It just ... stayed on the applicator.

The only bright side here is that I managed to get the one with the vet glue off. My poor boy.

Aaaaaargh.
Oh no! I wouldn't have been able to get it on Monster without my daughter's help. She was atleast there to distract her, try to help hold her, and give her treats. But she did manage to turn and reach my wrist to wrap her teeth around. So I know about cays not wanting to be controlled in any type of way. I think she felt the needle (poor baby) and was scared by the loud pop noise it made. I am very pleasantly surprised that it didn't come right off when she did manage to get away. Do you have friend or neighbor that help you for the next one? And for sure get them replaced by the company.
 
I’m sorry Allie. You had quite a day 😭
The surgical glue is a big problem to get off. And not good for their skin.

You did great by trying to apply the Libre.
Ivy found that using a toothpick or flat small butter or cheese knife helps to hold down the paper on top of the adhesive and then gently lifting the cap off while holding the edge of the paper against their skin.

Does this make sense? I hope I’m explaining it correctly.

Save those sensors and contact Abbot for replacements. Just tell them when you applied them the cap wouldn’t release properly.

Sending you lots of good wishes. You’ll get the hang of this. It gets easier ❤️‍🩹
 
There's really no way I can count on consistently having help with this.

And in the meantime I've checked and the pharmacy opens at 8, which is very definitely not enough time for me to even go pick up the sensor before work (which starts at 8:30). And I'm only going to be able to get one. I can't afford more at CVS prices (I can't really afford two in a week like this), and the prescription is for one at a time anyway. I have to talk to my vet about that.

I am going to have to go to work tomorrow with no data all day, pick up the sensor after work, and try again to apply it in the evening. I don't understand why the second one didn't stay, I think I did everything right that time (apart from having to practically sit on Gen to do it).

I think I'm probably okay to give him his shot in the morning, given that we didn't so much as see a yellow today? (Input on that would be appreciated.) But I'm going to be terrified all day long.

Ivy found that using a toothpick or flat small butter or cheese knife helps to hold down the paper on top of the adhesive and then gently lifting the cap off while holding the edge of the paper against their skin.

Does this make sense? I hope I’m explaining it correctly.

I think that makes sense? I think maybe I didn't understand before. I thought that when people said the "applicator got stuck" they meant that they couldn't get it off the cat, which I guess is silly? And really they meant that it didn't detach from the sensor, so the sensor came away with the applicator (like it did with mine)? (If that's the case, at least I understand what happened and should be able to avoid it happening again.)
 
The second one failed too. I'm out. And I'm not going to attempt to subject him to a blood test tonight, he has had ALL the stress and I'm bleeding. I have to trust he'll be okay. I don't know what I'm going to do - I can't take any time off tomorrow. This is such a mess.

I'm so confused - it clicked, but it didn't attach. It just ... stayed on the applicator.

The only bright side here is that I managed to get the one with the vet glue off. My poor boy.

Aaaaaargh.
Aww, I'm so sorry. What a rough day. I know how disheartening and exhausting and expensive it is.

I had a whole long series of sensors that got stuck in the stupid applicator. I must've lost 4 in a day. Like Staci said, use something to hold it. A butter knife didn't work for me but I use tweezers every time now. I just lean the applicator away after clicking but before taking it off, peek in to see and either use the tweezers to hold the paper while pulling the applicator away, or to hold the paper down against the skin while doing it. Not sure if that makes sense. The applicators seem to suck lately and I always need to do that.
 
(I'm so tired. I had to use my lunch break today to meet with the ombudsman at my work to confidentially discuss my boss's inappropriate and abusive behavior, which was really hard and there may not be anything anyone can do about it. Today has just been awful.)
 
I wish we could come and help you. I'm so sorry, Allie. I know how hard it is. And of course life and all the crappy stuff we're already dealing with doesn't just stop or go away in the meantime.

I wish there were more we could do to help than just give advice. 🫂 And I hope your apparently awful boss gets what's coming to him. 😠
 
Thank you for the kind words, Staci and Brianna. It means a lot coming from you both, especially right now. I can't even snuggle Gen because he's so upset at me.
I can relate there too. Makes it even harder. 😓

I'm so sorry if I'm just not remembering. Is Gen on anything for anxiety? I'd never be able to do any of this without Xander having gabapentin. He's on almost 100mg twice a day and without it I can't do anything. We even increase it for Libre change time.

As I'm typing this I might be remembering you mentioning having a hard time getting meds into him but I could also be remembering someone else.
 
There's really no way I can count on consistently having help with this.

And in the meantime I've checked and the pharmacy opens at 8, which is very definitely not enough time for me to even go pick up the sensor before work (which starts at 8:30). And I'm only going to be able to get one. I can't afford more at CVS prices (I can't really afford two in a week like this), and the prescription is for one at a time anyway. I have to talk to my vet about that.

I am going to have to go to work tomorrow with no data all day, pick up the sensor after work, and try again to apply it in the evening. I don't understand why the second one didn't stay, I think I did everything right that time (apart from having to practically sit on Gen to do it).

I think I'm probably okay to give him his shot in the morning, given that we didn't so much as see a yellow today? (Input on that would be appreciated.) But I'm going to be terrified all day long.



I think that makes sense? I think maybe I didn't understand before. I thought that when people said the "applicator got stuck" they meant that they couldn't get it off the cat, which I guess is silly? And really they meant that it didn't detach from the sensor, so the sensor came away with the applicator (like it did with mine)? (If that's the case, at least I understand what happened and should be able to avoid it happening again.)
You know that I can relate to being terrified while at work. You can only do what you can do. ❤️
 
I wish there were more we could do to help than just give advice. 🫂 And I hope your apparently awful boss gets what's coming to him. 😠
She. And I hope so too. And advice and support mean so much, seriously. 🫂

I'm so sorry if I'm just not remembering. Is Gen on anything for anxiety? I'd never be able to do any of this without Xander having gabapentin. He's on almost 100mg twice a day and without it I can't do anything. We even increase it for Libre change time.

As I'm typing this I might be remembering you mentioning having a hard time getting meds into him but I could also be remembering someone else.
No, that was me. I've gotten some good advice about things that might work to help with getting the gaba into him, but it'll require some time and legwork. And I don't have any on hand right now even if he would take it. My vet is not accessible to me on a regular work day, especially not when I also have to go to the pharmacy.

We do have an appointment on Monday, thankfully, and I can talk to her before then via email and try to set something up re: anxiety medication for the future. Not for every day, but maybe for Libre day.

You know that I can relate to being terrified while at work. You can only do what you can do. ❤️
Thank you, Regan. ❤️
 
She. And I hope so too. And advice and support mean so much, seriously. 🫂
Oops. Sorry, she!

No, that was me. I've gotten some good advice about things that might work to help with getting the gaba into him, but it'll require some time and legwork. And I don't have any on hand right now even if he would take it. My vet is not accessible to me on a regular work day, especially not when I also have to go to the pharmacy.

We do have an appointment on Monday, thankfully, and I can talk to her before then via email and try to set something up re: anxiety medication for the future. Not for every day, but maybe for Libre day.

I understand! Unfortunately it's hard for us to get to the vet too so I get it.

It might be worth asking if you can get a small amount of liquid Gaba (or whichever format you think you might be able to get into him). Before we had the compounded one from the online pharmacy they just gave us like a week's worth in a little bottle to use in the meantime. If you email about it maybe they can make sure they have a little ready for you on Monday.

This is jumping way ahead but it's on my mind given Mary's post: if you do end up going for a compounded liquid, make sure you request it be sugar free. If the vet gives you some for the meantime it likely won't be sugar free, but if you get more.
 
I wish we could come and help you. I'm so sorry, Allie. I know how hard it is. And of course life and all the crappy stuff we're already dealing with doesn't just stop or go away in the meantime.

I wish there were more we could do to help than just give advice. 🫂 And I hope your apparently awful boss gets what's coming to him. 😠
I know. If only we were all near each other to help 🥰
 
Aww, I'm so sorry. What a rough day. I know how disheartening and exhausting and expensive it is.

I had a whole long series of sensors that got stuck in the stupid applicator. I must've lost 4 in a day. Like Staci said, use something to hold it. A butter knife didn't work for me but I use tweezers every time now. I just lean the applicator away after clicking but before taking it off, peek in to see and either use the tweezers to hold the paper while pulling the applicator away, or to hold the paper down against the skin while doing it. Not sure if that makes sense. The applicators seem to suck lately and I always need to do that.
Or even a nail file (something flat and sturdy)
 
There's really no way I can count on consistently having help with this.

And in the meantime I've checked and the pharmacy opens at 8, which is very definitely not enough time for me to even go pick up the sensor before work (which starts at 8:30). And I'm only going to be able to get one. I can't afford more at CVS prices (I can't really afford two in a week like this), and the prescription is for one at a time anyway. I have to talk to my vet about that.

I am going to have to go to work tomorrow with no data all day, pick up the sensor after work, and try again to apply it in the evening. I don't understand why the second one didn't stay, I think I did everything right that time (apart from having to practically sit on Gen to do it).

I think I'm probably okay to give him his shot in the morning, given that we didn't so much as see a yellow today? (Input on that would be appreciated.) But I'm going to be terrified all day long.



I think that makes sense? I think maybe I didn't understand before. I thought that when people said the "applicator got stuck" they meant that they couldn't get it off the cat, which I guess is silly? And really they meant that it didn't detach from the sensor, so the sensor came away with the applicator (like it did with mine)? (If that's the case, at least I understand what happened and should be able to avoid it happening again.)
Did you try to use the Abbott coupon for $19.99 each?
Freestyle Libre CGM Abbott Coupon $19.99 Each!!! Please Read
 
Did you try to use the Abbott coupon for $19.99 each?
Freestyle Libre CGM Abbott Coupon $19.99 Each!!! Please Read
I did - the guy at CVS really tried, I think, he was at it for more than five minutes but he couldn't make it work. He said he thought maybe Abbott didn't have a partnership with CVS or something. He asked about a coupon before I even got it out - he seems to be invested in helping with this sort of thing. 🤷‍♂️

I'll try another pharmacy next time probably, but CVS already has my current prescription and I won't be able to change that fast enough to get a new sensor tomorrow, so back to CVS to spend another $89 I go. At least I will hopefully be able to get one or two free replacements straight from Abbott. (Do you think it's okay to request them at the same time, or should I stagger that?)
 
I did - the guy at CVS really tried, I think, he was at it for more than five minutes but he couldn't make it work. He said he thought maybe Abbott didn't have a partnership with CVS or something. He asked about a coupon before I even got it out - he seems to be invested in helping with this sort of thing. 🤷‍♂️

I'll try another pharmacy next time probably, but CVS already has my current prescription and I won't be able to change that fast enough to get a new sensor tomorrow, so back to CVS to spend another $89 I go. At least I will hopefully be able to get one or two free replacements straight from Abbott. (Do you think it's okay to request them at the same time, or should I stagger that?)
I would do it at the same time, no reason not to, just say you applied one after the other and neither one would release the cap and the sensor pulled off of your (back of) arm.
Just tell them you think they must be defective. They will ask you for the sensor numbers which are on the package.
Always save the packages in case you need them for this reason.

You know, you could always call Abbott and ask them what the trick is to getting the coupon to work.
You could just say that you don’t have insurance and you would like to use the coupon, but your pharmacy didn’t seem to be able to make it work, is there some trick to getting the coupon to be applied easily?

I’m not sure how I lucked out and my pharmacist was able to figure out how to apply the coupon.
 
I would do it at the same time, no reason not to, just say you applied one after the other and neither one would release the cap and the sensor pulled off of your (back of) arm.
Just tell them you think they must be defective. They will ask you for the sensor numbers which are on the package.
Always save the packages in case you need them for this reason.

You know, you could always call Abbott and ask them what the trick is to getting the coupon to work.
You could just say that you don’t have insurance and you would like to use the coupon, but your pharmacy didn’t seem to be able to make it work, is there some trick to getting the coupon to be applied easily?

I’m not sure how I lucked out and my pharmacist was able to figure out how to apply the coupon.
Oh, good idea about calling Abbot (re: the coupon). I will try that!

I know you probably already know this but definitely don't tell Abbott it's for a cat! 😺
I do know! Also, I requested a replacement for his very first sensor (Which the vet applied, and which fell off) through an online form, and I didn't have to tell them much of anything. I wonder if I can do it that way again. Will have to find out tomorrow. 🥱
 
Oh, good idea about calling Abbot (re: the coupon). I will try that!


I do know! Also, I requested a replacement for his very first sensor (Which the vet applied, and which fell off) through an online form, and I didn't have to tell them much of anything. I wonder if I can do it that way again. Will have to find out tomorrow. 🥱
Also, I told my pharmacist that I knew of other people who had success at their pharmacy with the coupon (and yes it was used for a cat, if they try saying they can’t use it for a cat).

My pharmacist called someone (perhaps Abbott), there is a phone number
1-855-632-8658, and instructions right on the coupon to call 8am-8 pm ET).

Maybe call that number above yourself and ask for instructions you can share with tht pharmacist.

Be very persistent (and nice of course). The coupon CAN work!
 
Sorry I missed all the excitement yesterday--I'm so sorry you had such a tough time with the Libres.

Esse is also very loath to be held in place, and can be negatively conditioned towards treats. The only way we can do the Libres is with one of us on distraction duty and one on application duty (and both of us on "using our bodies as a wall to keep him on the bathroom counter hands-free" duty). We load up a whole slate of his favorite treats--the ones he still likes--and try to slowly hand them over while the other person works. So I am very impressed by anyone here who does it solo.

I haven't had any get stuck in the applicator, but I remember one part I was initially unsure of is how much pressure to use when I apply it. After some practice--I brace one hand against his side/under his belly (the "like a football" part of the instructions, although his feet are still on the counter) and then with the applicator I pretend like I'm doing one of those kinda old-school return address stamps. Getting the placement correct while doing the whole thing quickly is definitely still tricky, so I feel you on that.

quick-stamp-format-1-5297_1_1.jpg


Anyway, just mentioning in case it helps--or reassures you that you were doing it correctly. It's entirely possible the applicator on the second one was just bad.
 
Also, I told my pharmacist that I knew of other people who had success at their pharmacy with the coupon (and yes it was used for a cat, if they try saying they can’t use it for a cat).

My pharmacist called someone (perhaps Abbott), there is a phone number
1-855-632-8658, and instructions right on the coupon to call 8am-8 pm ET).

Maybe call that number above yourself and ask for instructions you can share with tht pharmacist.

Be very persistent (and nice of course). The coupon CAN work!
Thank you for the number! I'm going to try it in a bit. (I did tell the pharmacist that I knew of other people who'd had success, and checked about the cat thing - I literally had the forum thread up on my phone and was hurriedly looking through it for any tips. 😅 Alas, the problem seemed to be a different one, though I don't pretend to know what it might have been. I have plenty of experience with arcane institutional computer systems that won't give you what you need unless you do exactly the right steps, though--I work in higher education in an admin role--so who knows.)

Thank you as well for the persistent support and encouragement! ❤️

I haven't had any get stuck in the applicator, but I remember one part I was initially unsure of is how much pressure to use when I apply it. After some practice--I brace one hand against his side/under his belly (the "like a football" part of the instructions, although his feet are still on the counter) and then with the applicator I pretend like I'm doing one of those kinda old-school return address stamps. Getting the placement correct while doing the whole thing quickly is definitely still tricky, so I feel you on that.

Anyway, just mentioning in case it helps--or reassures you that you were doing it correctly. It's entirely possible the applicator on the second one was just bad.
The old-school address stamps are a good analogy - it feels a lot like that! I actually do think it was the applicator on the second one more than user error, although if I'd realized it was a possibility I might have had some success with the tweezer/nail file/butter knife method Staci and Brianna suggested.

It would be nice if they could be reset for a second try. It might not work/the filament might wind up being damaged, but you wouldn't be any worse off, I don't think. You'd get an error and have to get another one, that's all. :rolleyes:

Thank you again for your thoughts. Since I have to do the actual process by myself, it is incredibly helpful not to feel alone in spirit, if that makes sense.
 
I've been on hold with Abbott for an entire hour now. Their hold music is tinny and keeps fading out, then suddenly blaring loudly again, making me jump. Can hold music just be banned, please? 😅
 
I've been on hold with Abbott for an entire hour now. Their hold music is tinny and keeps fading out, then suddenly blaring loudly again, making me jump. Can hold music just be banned, please? 😅
I've been trying to find out what.these errors mean. Everywhere it says it's usually followed by the "replace sensor" code. So now, I'm just waiting on that code or message and go to the website to try to get a replacement
I hope I can do it from the site and not have to call. I hate making phone calls
 
I've been trying to find out what.these errors mean. Everywhere it says it's usually followed by the "replace sensor" code. So now, I'm just waiting on that code or message and go to the website to try to get a replacement
I hope I can do it from the site and not have to call. I hate making phone calls
You can do it on the site! You just have to tell them it fell off. If you say it was another problem, then they tell you to call.

I'm only doing this right now because I'm hoping they can help me with getting the coupon (the one Staci's talking about above) to work when I go to the pharmacy in a little over an hour.
 
@Monster's Mom -

This is the support site where you can request a new sensor: Sensor Support Request

When I've done this, I clicked "My sensor fell off during wear or use," and that let me make a request. But out of curiosity, I just clicked "I see an error message" and clicked through the prompts, and it gave me this page:

Screenshot 2025-12-04 at 3.34.01 PM.png


So I guess according to Abbot, it can take up to two hours for that message to clear, with a device that is still working.

(I tried clicking the "No" button, and it took me to the form to request a replacement. It just took more steps to get to the form this way.)
 
@Monster's Mom -

This is the support site where you can request a new sensor: Sensor Support Request

When I've done this, I clicked "My sensor fell off during wear or use," and that let me make a request. But out of curiosity, I just clicked "I see an error message" and clicked through the prompts, and it gave me this page:

View attachment 75537

So I guess according to Abbot, it can take up to two hours for that message to clear, with a device that is still working.

(I tried clicking the "No" button, and it took me to the form to request a replacement. It just took more steps to get to the form this way.)
Oh, ok. Well as im messing with it, all the sudden, it's reading again. Thanks for the info. That 2 hour mark is good to know, It's all just frustrating trial and error I guess. Fingers crossed this thing lasts.....
Thanks for the help!
 
Oh, ok. Well as im messing with it, all the sudden, it's reading again. Thanks for the info. That 2 hour mark is good to know, It's all just frustrating trial and error I guess. Fingers crossed this thing lasts.....
Thanks for the help!
Of course! I just went through the same thing myself, there's definitely a learning curve (one I'm sure I'm not done with yet).
 
The good news is that the shipping for the replacements is surprisingly fast. I think both times I've done it I got the new one within a week.
 
I am replying to what you posted about the Abbott. coupon. I want to make sure you see this:

Allie, this actually makes no sense (I mean Abbott saying this)
This disclaimer is on the coupon:
For Massachusetts residents, only those patients responsible for the full cost of the product may be eligible to receive these benefits.

You, the customer are responsible for the entire cost of the product. There is no insurance being used. You are paying out of pocket so should be eligible to use the coupon even in MA.

Tell the pharmacy that you are paying out of pocket and no insurance is being used!
 
I am replying to what you posted about the Abbott. coupon. I want to make sure you see this:

Allie, this actually makes no sense (I mean Abbott saying this)
This disclaimer is on the coupon:
For Massachusetts residents, only those patients responsible for the full cost of the product may be eligible to receive these benefits.

You, the customer are responsible for the entire cost of the product. There is no insurance being used. You are paying out of pocket so should be eligible to use the coupon even in MA.

Tell the pharmacy that you are paying out of pocket and no insurance is being used!
Argh, I don't know. I was on hold for more than an hour. The person I talked to was taking all this information and I was feeling pretty uncomfortable about lying and saying that I had diabetes. And then as soon as I gave my mailing address she said the coupon didn't apply in Massachusetts, and that was the problem. She had all these things to say about how she was sorry, she wished they could support everyone, but she was very clear on the point, and I even asked her to clarify whether that was true of every pharmacy in the state, not just CVS.

I had already told her I didn't have insurance, very clearly.

The thing about that is, MA state law requires everyone to have some form of insurance or get penalized on their taxes. Everyone human of course; Gen's ineligible for insurance because of pre-existing conditions. (Not a mistake I'll make again, if I should finally get a second cat someday.) I don't know how that clause (on the coupon) works; I mean, sure, there must be people who don't get insurance in spite of the law, and either pay a penalty or aren't paying taxes for whatever reason.

Maybe she was able to look something up about me with all the information she requested. She wanted my name, date of birth, address, etc. The whole thing felt rather off.

And I mean ... the coupon didn't work for the pharmacist last time, and he wasn't sure why; he was making guesses about corporate partnerships. He knew I was paying out of pocket, so it's not like he entered information that would have triggered a denial as a Massachusetts resident with insurance.

How old is that coupon? Maybe the requirements have changed?

Today it kind of didn't matter. After I got off the phone with the Abbott rep who told me MA residents were ineligible (period), I had to finish up something urgent at work and then run out the door the the pharmacy. I'm home with Gen who seems fine, thankfully (oh the anxiety today, gearing up for another round of "please let me do something for your own good". I will have to try and figure this out later.

Thank you for your help and for pointing out the clause. It's all very confusing and frustrating!
 
Argh, I don't know. I was on hold for more than an hour. The person I talked to was taking all this information and I was feeling pretty uncomfortable about lying and saying that I had diabetes. And then as soon as I gave my mailing address she said the coupon didn't apply in Massachusetts, and that was the problem. She had all these things to say about how she was sorry, she wished they could support everyone, but she was very clear on the point, and I even asked her to clarify whether that was true of every pharmacy in the state, not just CVS.

I had already told her I didn't have insurance, very clearly.

The thing about that is, MA state law requires everyone to have some form of insurance or get penalized on their taxes. Everyone human of course; Gen's ineligible for insurance because of pre-existing conditions. (Not a mistake I'll make again, if I should finally get a second cat someday.) I don't know how that clause (on the coupon) works; I mean, sure, there must be people who don't get insurance in spite of the law, and either pay a penalty or aren't paying taxes for whatever reason.

Maybe she was able to look something up about me with all the information she requested. She wanted my name, date of birth, address, etc. The whole thing felt rather off.

And I mean ... the coupon didn't work for the pharmacist last time, and he wasn't sure why; he was making guesses about corporate partnerships. He knew I was paying out of pocket, so it's not like he entered information that would have triggered a denial as a Massachusetts resident with insurance.

How old is that coupon? Maybe the requirements have changed?

Today it kind of didn't matter. After I got off the phone with the Abbott rep who told me MA residents were ineligible (period), I had to finish up something urgent at work and then run out the door the the pharmacy. I'm home with Gen who seems fine, thankfully (oh the anxiety today, gearing up for another round of "please let me do something for your own good". I will have to try and figure this out later.

Thank you for your help and for pointing out the clause. It's all very confusing and frustrating!
I’m so sorry. I know you’re trying so hard!
The coupon is from a few months ago.
I just read about a newer one with no expiration date.
I posted it on the coupon page post with our discussion there too.
It seems crazy that MA can get away with not honoring it! What if someone is uninsured!

Go try to relax and hug your boy. You’ve had a long day Allie 🥰
 
I’m so sorry. I know you’re trying so hard!
The coupon is from a few months ago.
I just read about a newer one with no expiration date.
I posted it on the coupon page post with our discussion there too.
It seems crazy that MA can get away with not honoring it! What if someone is uninsured!

Go try to relax and hug your boy. You’ve had a long day Allie 🥰
I mean, I don't think it's the state not honoring it as such. I don't know!

I'd like to relax, but I have to try and get one of the new Libres on, and he's not making things easy. I started by removing the dud sensor that was still stuck to him with Brava spray after he sat in my lap, and he was pretty chill for most of that but then as it came away he freaked out and ran away, and now he starts moving away every time I get up and walk vaguely in his direction. 💔
 
Back
Top